We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The suites are big which is basically the only thing I enjoyed about the hotel. The free breakfast is ok.. But nothing else is worth it. The food tastes bad, is cooked wrong, and costs way too much. The windows in the room are super thin, and every single morning around 6 am they were blowing leaves et c and we couldn't sleep. It's gated and you have to get past security to get in but front desk doesn't ask for IDs to let you in a room so basically anyone can get into a room just by asking for a key, or asking housekeeping to let you in. We really wish we would have stayed somewhere else.. The only silver lining is we were out all day and didn't have to spend too much time here.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge Z, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014
Google Translation

Estimado huesped,muchas gracias por haberse tomado el tiempo para enviarnos sus comentarios.
Lamentamos las molestias que se le produjeron en su estadia en el hotel,esperamos mejorar en los puntos que nos menciona para que la proxima vez que se hospede con nosotros sea una experiencia cien por ciento costarricense.

Esperamos tenerlo de nuevo con nosotros.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Within walking distance of Parque De La Paz and only a few dollars taxi ride to restaurants and shopping. Clean and comfortable but the bathroom is small and the kitchen is basic but not necessary unless you are planning to stay awhile. Room was peaceful enough and adequate. Restaurant food is good but high priced and the service was good. Breakfast buffet is agequate but nothing special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vzeeihht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge Z, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking your time to comment,the hotel is situated close to restaurants and shops for the convenience of our customers better.

Similarly the hotel has complimentary shuttle at set times, and we are 5 minutes from downtown San Jose.

About our menu will consider your comment.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed the hotel. The staff is all very friendly. The only problems I had that the jacuzzi was not very warm, a very rude and manipulative taxi driver that works at the hotel who screwed us over multiple times, and the food in the restaurant was not too good. However, the rooms makeup for it, and even though a lot of other reviews are putting down the location, my boyfriend and I liked being further away from the busyness of San Jose. Go to Casa Conde! You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Briana_faulstich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge Z, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for you comment, we realy appreciate.

We regret the inconvenience to the jacuzzi, we will correct the problem so that we happen again in the future, our taxi driver steps were taken to improve customer service.

We hope to see you soon at this home which is

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Hi Everyone,
Unfortunately, I have to give Casa Conde a 1 Star, based on the following reasons:
When we arrived, they would not exchange my Quetzals, as I l live in Guatemala.
The lobby of this hotel is NOT a lobby, it is a little desk and the travel desk next door (**Sarah the travel girl was VERY nice)
There is NO ATM at this hotel, and is in a residential area, I will say, the area was not as bad as described, just some nice homes clustered together.
Front desk after several calls on the first night found me a bank, it was $24 round trip, in HEAVY traffic, and upon arriving at the Bank, they did NOT exchange the Quetzals either.
**Knowing what I know now, she could have just sent me to the mall that was close like she did the next day, that was SO much closer.

The hotel food was among the most TERRIBLE I have received, breakfast was horrible, just so cheap.
The Dinner the first night, we ordered an $16 dollar plate of pasta, and it was for the dogs. So so so horrible.

The pool just did not look inviting, the Jacuzzi??? OMG it was barely warm sometimes cold, I would ask for help, got it twice, once not, and it still barely got warm.

The rooms are REALLY BASIC, not put together at all nicely, just bland white walls, a disorganized kitchen, and it was NOISY TWO of the four nights.

The girl messed up my situation so bad, that we only had 3 FULL days for tours, but missed out on booking the 1st day of them to Tortuguero.

Manuel Antonio and Tobaban Springs were GORGEOUS, and the one free day, I blame the staff at the hotel, for even messing up that.

Overall, I would NOT recommend this hotel, if you are weighing the benefits, of the FREE breakfast and the TWO bedrooms.

Overall, you NEED to weigh in that this place has VERY bad service, horrible overpriced food, the breakfast sucks and the location is USELESS.

Please read this and reconsider, this is the TRUTH and you should NOT book her.

Room Tip: I have no clue we were in the furthest unit in the back, and it was STILL noisy 2 of the 4 nights so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sgm978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back.
We hope you visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Randall Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It was a surprise since I didn't know nothing of the place and resulted to be a nice place to stay... couldn't find better even if I tried. Nice restaurant with great food. The pool area is a great place to stay cool. Recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FilipeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back.
We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to your visit.

Best regards,
Randall Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stopped at Casa Conde for one night prior to embarking on a two week trip. We were told about the remoteness of the property as it relates to the city center. So we were not surprised that there was no place to walk. Upon arriving on the grounds we were pleasantly surprised but after checking in and going to the room, this is where the disappointment came about. Also it was raining that day and the noise from the rain was so loud that the bellman and I could not communicate. I tried to call the lobby to see about another room and the response is it will get better once the rain stops! The other major issue is with the hot water, or lack of constant hot water in the unit. The other issue was the performance of the air-conditioner. It worked but it blew right on the bed and made sleeping pretty difficult.

Room Tip: During the rainy season, try to get a room without a light-well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFGoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back.
We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to your visit.

Best regards,
Randall Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed at the San Jose Casa Conde for a week in March...2013 ..for 7 nights. I will start with the positive remarks. The hotel grounds and staff are fantastic....everyone is smiling at you ...the breakfast every morning is awesome..by any standards...the pool is very nice..as is the hot tub. The location is in an older area of SJ....which is fine with me..central to everything....I'm a CR vet....and walking around at night is not my desired activity.....and night time wandering is not recommended...,although I think this is overblown....but there's really no where to walk to anyway. My BIG complaint...was the lack of kitchen tools and pots and pans. This room was described as 'fully supplied kitchen '... WOW...one pot...3 forks...4 water glasses...3 dinner plates .....you could not possibly cook a meal ....My girlfiend called the front desk to see if we could get 2 wine glasses........NO....was the answer.....Overall...I would describe my stay as a 5/10... Repeat...NO....... No...No...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back.
We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to your visit.

Best regards,
Randall Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
3.3 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,422 reviews
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Conde Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde Hotel & Suites

Address: Transversal 11 | Southwest side from Parque de la Paz, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £59 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is a Four Acre Colonial Village style hotel of 110 guest rooms located within a residential neighborhood where you will be able to share a cup of Costa Rican coffee with our Good Neighbor Package. Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is located 30 minutes from the Juan Santamaria International Airport and just 5 minutes from downtown San Jose where you will be able to enjoy spectacular plays in the National Theatre with our Cultural Package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Conde Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Apartotel And Suites San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing