We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Ranked #37 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here on 2 separate nights as we toured Costa Rica. Stayed Feb 8 and 18, 2014. The hotel is well layed out in a residental area. Beautiful murals and gardens on the property. The accommodations are more than we expected. They are actually 2 bedroom fully equiped apartments. Wifi, washer & dryer, stove, fridge etc. Very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Omar went out of his way to be helpful. We had supper at the restaurant both nights that we stayed there. The food was well prepared and delicious. Service was excellent. The prices were less than what I would pay for a comperable meal back home. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. Lots of good fresh fruit. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge Z, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to comment.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us,

Complase we know that enjoy all the benefits provided by our hotel, since everything is designed to give our customers an unforgettable experience

Hope to see you soon for this which is home

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    93
    64
    25
    17
See reviews for
80
84
21
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We were visiting friends in San Jose and wanted something close to their home. After checking various websites, Casa Conde seemed to be the best choice, and in fact it was a very good choice. The accommodations were 2 br. suites,rather than just rooms, giving us more room than needed, but it was nice. The exterior of the property was most unusual and attractive and well maintained. The rooms clean, beds comfortable, and the bathrooms good. We had dinner in the restaurant, and was quite good, however a bit on the expensive side. The breakfast buffet was also good. the staff was efficient and helpful. Check in and out was quick and easy. All in all, a good choice and value. Wouls stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge Z, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to comment.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we will consider your comments related to restaurant menu

Complase we know that enjoy all the benefits provided by our hotel.

Hope to see you soon for this which is home

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The suites are big which is basically the only thing I enjoyed about the hotel. The free breakfast is ok.. But nothing else is worth it. The food tastes bad, is cooked wrong, and costs way too much. The windows in the room are super thin, and every single morning around 6 am they were blowing leaves et c and we couldn't sleep. It's gated and you have to get past security to get in but front desk doesn't ask for IDs to let you in a room so basically anyone can get into a room just by asking for a key, or asking housekeeping to let you in. We really wish we would have stayed somewhere else.. The only silver lining is we were out all day and didn't have to spend too much time here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge Z, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huesped,muchas gracias por haberse tomado el tiempo para enviarnos sus comentarios.
Lamentamos las molestias que se le produjeron en su estadia en el hotel,esperamos mejorar en los puntos que nos menciona para que la proxima vez que se hospede con nosotros sea una experiencia cien por ciento costarricense.

Esperamos tenerlo de nuevo con nosotros.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Within walking distance of Parque De La Paz and only a few dollars taxi ride to restaurants and shopping. Clean and comfortable but the bathroom is small and the kitchen is basic but not necessary unless you are planning to stay awhile. Room was peaceful enough and adequate. Restaurant food is good but high priced and the service was good. Breakfast buffet is agequate but nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vzeeihht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge Z, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking your time to comment,the hotel is situated close to restaurants and shops for the convenience of our customers better.

Similarly the hotel has complimentary shuttle at set times, and we are 5 minutes from downtown San Jose.

About our menu will consider your comment.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed the hotel. The staff is all very friendly. The only problems I had that the jacuzzi was not very warm, a very rude and manipulative taxi driver that works at the hotel who screwed us over multiple times, and the food in the restaurant was not too good. However, the rooms makeup for it, and even though a lot of other reviews are putting down the location, my boyfriend and I liked being further away from the busyness of San Jose. Go to Casa Conde! You won't be disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Briana_faulstich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge Z, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for you comment, we realy appreciate.

We regret the inconvenience to the jacuzzi, we will correct the problem so that we happen again in the future, our taxi driver steps were taken to improve customer service.

We hope to see you soon at this home which is

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Hi Everyone,
Unfortunately, I have to give Casa Conde a 1 Star, based on the following reasons:
When we arrived, they would not exchange my Quetzals, as I l live in Guatemala.
The lobby of this hotel is NOT a lobby, it is a little desk and the travel desk next door (**Sarah the travel girl was VERY nice)
There is NO ATM at this hotel, and is in a residential area, I will say, the area was not as bad as described, just some nice homes clustered together.
Front desk after several calls on the first night found me a bank, it was $24 round trip, in HEAVY traffic, and upon arriving at the Bank, they did NOT exchange the Quetzals either.
**Knowing what I know now, she could have just sent me to the mall that was close like she did the next day, that was SO much closer.

The hotel food was among the most TERRIBLE I have received, breakfast was horrible, just so cheap.
The Dinner the first night, we ordered an $16 dollar plate of pasta, and it was for the dogs. So so so horrible.

The pool just did not look inviting, the Jacuzzi??? OMG it was barely warm sometimes cold, I would ask for help, got it twice, once not, and it still barely got warm.

The rooms are REALLY BASIC, not put together at all nicely, just bland white walls, a disorganized kitchen, and it was NOISY TWO of the four nights.

The girl messed up my situation so bad, that we only had 3 FULL days for tours, but missed out on booking the 1st day of them to Tortuguero.

Manuel Antonio and Tobaban Springs were GORGEOUS, and the one free day, I blame the staff at the hotel, for even messing up that.

Overall, I would NOT recommend this hotel, if you are weighing the benefits, of the FREE breakfast and the TWO bedrooms.

Overall, you NEED to weigh in that this place has VERY bad service, horrible overpriced food, the breakfast sucks and the location is USELESS.

Please read this and reconsider, this is the TRUTH and you should NOT book her.

Room Tip: I have no clue we were in the furthest unit in the back, and it was STILL noisy 2 of the 4 nights so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sgm978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oeiras, Portugal
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

It was a surprise since I didn't know nothing of the place and resulted to be a nice place to stay... couldn't find better even if I tried. Nice restaurant with great food. The pool area is a great place to stay cool. Recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FilipeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
4.5 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
4.7 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#31 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Conde Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde Hotel & Suites

Property: Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Address: Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, located just 5 minutes from San Jose and 30 minutes from the Juan Santamaria International Airport, offers comfortable facilities to Local and International Guests. Enjoy 110 fully furnished two-bedroom luxury suites, equipped with a kitchen, dining room, living room, TV, air conditioning, secure parking and all the amenities to make you feel right at home. We provide laundry service, prescheduled Hotel-Airport transfers, meeting room facilities, along with wireless Internet access, computer desk and gift shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Conde Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel And Suites San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing