We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but dated”

Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel
Ranked #67 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed here with a student group. The location is not ideal for traveling with students as there was nothing close we could walk to safely. The rooms were clean, spare, and a little dated. Although we didn't have time to use it, the pool looked clean and was isolated from the street, which was beneficial since this is a downtown location. I wouldn't have a problem staying here with a group, but wouldnt choose it if I was traveling alone or with my spouse.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larikev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

The staff was very friendly. The nicest hotel i stayed in while in Costa Rica. I would definitively recommend it it to anyone going to Costa Rica and you have to go by plane stay here when you arrive. Although this isnt about the hotel but if you want to go to CR be ready to eat alot of rice and beans. Stayed here twice in my 10 days in CR

Room Tip: some rooms have windows to view a wall of the hotel or pipes ... the ones with the balcony out to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foster C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This place is ok to stay at if you want to use the sport facilities that are really nice (tennis, squash,gym, swimming pool, basketball....) and free of charge for guests. However, the rooms are very run down. The old, stained carpet smells bad because of age and the constant humidity, the neon light in the room buzzes, the furniture is old... On the plus side, there is good air conditioning, a good mattress and the rooms and sheets are kept clean.

However, my biggest complaint is that there are many smoking rooms that just reek of old smoke. I asked to change rooms but only other smoking rooms were available. When I told the reception guy that I found that very odd for a sport hotel, he said "Oh, people are not supposed to smoke in the rooms, they might do it occasionally, though." There was a big cigarette sign at the door and an ashtray just next to the bed, so that response was very weird!!! Other than that, the staff was generally very nice and helpful.

So all in all it's a pretty mixed bag. For business trips, sightseeing trips etc. I would definitely recommend another hotel because of the poor standard of the rooms. However, 70 bucks a night for two including breakfast and internet is a pretty good price, so if you use the free sport facilities it might just outweigh the low quality of the room.

Room Tip: Ask explicitly for a non smoking room (if that matters to you) when booking.There is no option to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank around_the_GL0BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The Tennis Club offers amenities unmatched in Costa Rica, and at a price that's comparable to small hostals in the area. Full gymnasium, handball, racquetball, tennis, three pools, full workout room, bowling, children's play area. Perhaps its best feature, the restaurant offers the best value in San Jose, with quality offerings in every regard. This is indeed a club, patronized by the well to do Tico, and the hotel is yet another offering. As a guest, you have all the privileges of membership during your stay. The rooms are vintage Holiday Inn from the 70's, but are clean and the beds top notch quality. Hotel lobby staff is superb. Very helpful and gracious. This is best value in San Jose, and is conveniently located across from LaSabana Park. If the rooms were updated and equipped with mini fridge, I'd give this hotel an excellent rating.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs or plan to get up early, The train that runs the length of the La Sabana Park, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rqbii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The CRTC is in the southwest of the city and about 2.5 km west of the downtown area. A ride from the club to downtown costs about $3 in a taxi. Airport pickup can be arranged at the hotel reservation. A ride from the Airport to the club is about $28 for two people and proportionately less if there are more in a group. The front-desk reservation agents speak excellent English and are very friendly and helpful. It is much easier to check room rates and make reservation using reservaciones@crtennis.com than Tripadvisor, Yahoo or other hotel searches. The two big pluses seem to be reasonable cost and a swimming pool. I stayed in a room with a balcony and fridge for 6 nights and the cost was $80 per night. The room was clean and comfortable. The only problem I had was the traffic noise. The tennis club is close to a busy traffic intersection and near railway tracks. The first commute train normally passes by the club around 5:00 am. The train whistles as it is approaching to the intersection, which is like getting a wakeup call at 5 am from the front desk. The good thing is that there are no trains running on weekends and holidays.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inside of the tennis club are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaGuai2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Rooms are fine but activities are great, It is busy with locals (and their children) but you actually do have free access to all the activities (tennis, bowling, swimming, exercise room,
squash, table tennis, basketball, handball). We booked early on Bookit and received a price 15% lower than the price when we arrived, and that price has since gone up another 15%.
The free breakfast and all day coffee and tea makes it more like a B&B than a "stuffy" hotel.
If you are staying any length of time, pay the extra and get a room with a balcony and patio doors. Pub out front has good food at great prices, even though the on site restaurant beside the tennis courts is very good and very reasonable alsol

Room Tip: Most rooms are "dark" and small so if you are staying any more than a night pay the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We like to stay here while visiting San José because of its central location and very friendly staff. Plus they have great athletic facilities onsite for use by hotel guests at no extra charge. Nothing fancy, but great place for families, student groups and business people.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesafioAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Autentico Hotel
Autentico Hotel
#39 of 78 in San Jose
299 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Tournon
Hotel Villa Tournon
#49 of 78 in San Jose
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#41 of 78 in San Jose
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
2.0 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 78 in San Jose
275 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#26 of 78 in San Jose
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel

Address: PO Box 4964 | Across from Metropolitan Park La Sabana, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £45 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Tennis Club And Hotel
Costa Rica Tennis Club Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing