We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartotel Suites Cristina
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very clean and staffed by a ver helpful bilingual staff that is ready to help you. The hotel has a wonderful Italian restaurant that is a great value and the food is excellent. It is located lose to the Sabana Park and 5 minute taxi to Prisma Dental and 10 minutes to the center of San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    93
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
76
63
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Upsides: Good breakfast, nice bilingual staff, spacious room, good location to Pavas' business. Near good restaurantes, near park with track and trails, some snacks and sodas available, check-the-box shampoo, conditioner, and soap provided. Decent kitchenette if need, note there is not bottle opener provided, and only 6oz glasses. Free interbus shuttle (vs. a $35 taxi) if book 36 hours in advance.

Downsides: They put me in the wrong room when I arrived, so when going out the next day they said they had to move me and then offered to move my things. Every day the room is cleaned and the windows and blinds are opened even though I have left them closed. Pavas is not very safe thus I worry more. Wifi was intermittent and skype/g-chat connection often broke. Pool is a teacup and don't expect to use to swim. Showers never really did get hot. Maid service does a good job of moving your clothes around if you leave them in a heap on the bed :)

For the price you pay (almost half of full service places) you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the pool and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prettyroja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We had booked one suite for one night via E-Mail more than a week before our arrival. The booking was confirmed via E-Mail. When we arrived we carried our luggage up the stairs to the reception to check in, we learned that no room was available for us due to overbooking.
Reception were helpful in organizing a more expensive alternative of minor quality and expected us to pay the room in the Christina. Furthermorw, to sign a blank credit card slip at the second hotel. They tried to make us believe that this is world standard.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
We do not make overbooking. Sometimes a customer needs to extend his stay with us for medical reasons so we promptly book an alternative hotel for our incoming customer. In this specific case, we paid the alternative hotel to guarantee the same tariff, so we charged the incoming customer at our front desk. That’s all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels I stayed in while vacationing in Costa Rica. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is excellent and it is in a prime location.
The rooms, bathrooms and kitchen were always kept clean and fresh. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was also delicious.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinette86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I have stayed in multiple hotels in San Jose and all I can say is that I wish I had found this gem much sooner! I have been traveling to Costa Rica for over 14 years and for the price, this hotel is second to none. We had a personal issue with the very 1st room we stayed in (I couldn't climb all the stairs) and the always-friendly staff quickly changed our room to one that was very accessible.

I have never experienced all the noise issues that other travelers have noted, but my husband is an extremely light sleeper. One of our stays here was in the front of the hotel, behind the reception desk, with bedroom off the street. Hubby slept like a baby...

Speaking of which, we have had my Costa Rican stepson and granddaughter come to visit us in our room, and the staff has been very accommodating to our "visitors". She is very quiet and wasn't one of the shriekers that other travelers had issues with! The staff allowed them in the room (which another hotel didn't permit) and were very helpful getting them transportation from the hotel back to their San Jose home.

For those travelers who complained about no carpet - the hotel is as clean as it is because there is no carpet. In Costa Rica, mildew is a huge problem so no carpet is quite a blessing. All of the finer homes I have been to in Costa Rica do not have carpeting.

Regarding privacy, we always stay on the 1st floor and although the windows open to the courtyard, the bedrooms and bathrooms are behind the kitchen and living area. I am an extremely private person, but this was never an issue for me.

Apartotel Cristina is my home away from home in San Jose and I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jingo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

* About 5.5km from SJO airport, 15minutes driving. Avoid city center traffic, easy to get on the hwy 1. There is rental car local branch (Economy and Avis?) 3 blocks away from hotel, like 5 minutes walking. They don't charge expensive tax like airport.

* They provide free shuttle to the airport. But you have to book it 36 hours in advance. It is pretty strict.

* Buffet breakfast is free - They do omelette in front of you (ham, pea, pepper, onion, cheese). Taste really good while they made it well done. They also serve fresh fruit, scrambled egg, toast, ham, jam, yogurt, juice, cereal.

* The apartment rooms are clean and basic. Every room with TV, AC, kitchen, fridge. It is handy if you want to cook.

* The internet is free and wifi signal is strong. Super like! I was a little worried that a lot of hotels says they provide wifi but when I got there and found out there is signal in the lobby only but not in the room. I stayed at room 111 and 332, both worked very well.

* Location is safe. They have private garage for parking.

Room Tip: I like room 332(one-bedroom) better than 111(two-bedroom).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank goccmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

All mini-suites in this delightful little hotel, with excellent service, clean comfortable rooms, outstanding breakfast buffet, great location near the biggest park of San Jose, Park Sabana Norte. Best prices around.

Room Tip: Stay away from near the pool, which can get noisy at night and early mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JustGoinPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
1.8 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
0.5 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
#27 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel Suites Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel Suites Cristina

Property: Apartotel Suites Cristina
Address: Norte del Ice 300 | Sabana Norte, San Jose 10108, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartotel Suites Cristina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable and fully equipped Suites-Apartments with 1,2 or 3 bedrooms from 420 to 1000 square feet. We have free airport(SJO) to hotel transportation, and we charge US$5 from hotel to the Airport, both services must be booked with us. Free high speed wi-fi and free buffet breakfast. We specialize in medical tourism, families and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Apartotel Suites Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel Cristina San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing