We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartotel Suites Cristina
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very ordinary”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very ordinary place, small bathroom, ordinary restaurant spotty wireless service, priced reasonably for the comforts or the lack of them....I would not stay at this place again if I were to make the trip again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    93
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
76
63
48
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sullivan, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wonderful hotel. Rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. I stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was had a nicely furnished living room with a separate bedroom. The furniture , including the bed was comfortable. The surrounding area seems safe, but I did not get around much to the local attractions since this was only a waypoint in my stay. If you are looking for something right in the middle of a lot of things to do this probably would not be the place, but if you are looking for accommodations that are of high quality and at a very reasonable price this would be the place to be. They also offered free airport transportation and that was a definite plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have stayed at Cristina four times. I like it very much. The suites are nice and the
beds are very comfortable. It is very clean. The staff at the desk is very helpful.
The location is super. I really like the large park were the stadium is. You can walk
to the super markets. I liked the food very much at the Italian Restaurant attached to
the hotel and also the lunches at the Palma Real Hotel next to Suite Cristina.
I hope that I can come down again soon.
Thank you Elisabeth for your constant help and advice.
Angela Ghaman
Rockville, MD

Room Tip: I like higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank total027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I recently spent a week in San Jose to have dental work. We thought we were booked at another hotel but actually had only one night reserved there because of a miscommunication. However, it all worked to our advantage as another patient who was staying at the Christina spoke to Sergio, the manager, on our behalf. We were provided a spacious, immaculately clean, 2 bedroom suite for essentially the same price we had paid for just a regular hotel room and bath. The beds were clean and comfortable. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We felt comfortable and relaxed the entire time we were there. We expect to return for more dental work in late summer and hope to stay at the Christina at that time also. This hotel is not the Four Seasons or 5 star by US standards, but we did not have one single complaint while we were there. We were on the first floor and did not have a problem with noise. Situations may be different during the high season with a full house, as we have never been to San Juan before.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I recently returned to San Jose a second time for additional dental work at Prisma Dental, nine months after my initial visit. This time my wife joined me, and we wanted to stay at Suites Cristina since I had such a positive experience during my first trip. As with my previous stay, the rooms were comfortable and clean. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful, and accommodating, and most speak English. We very much enjoyed the breakfast buffet while sitting outside in the shaded areas. For someone who is traveling for medical or dental reasons, I believe that Suites Cristina is the best option in the area, since the kitchenette is well-equipped, and local supermarkets are nearby. I'll need to be returning to Costa Rica a third time for additional dental work, and my wife and I look forward to staying at Suites Cristina again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I recently spent two weeks at the Cristina when I was in the area for dental treatment. This was my second stay in less than a year, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. My two bedroom apartment was spacious, immaculately clean and comfortable. I can not add much to what has already been said, repeatedly, except to confirm that the staff throughout the hotel is exceptional, the location is convenient to restaurants and it's an ideal accommodation for dental and medical tourists. There were a number of dental tourists staying there during my visit and it was particularly enjoyable to meet others during breakfast and share experiences. I'll be returning in six months and, once more, hope to stay at the Cristina. My one suggestion to the staff is to have menus of area restaurants, particularly those that deliver, at the front desk. Neither of the other two hotels in the Sabana area where I've stayed had menus at the front desk, but it sure would be helpful!

Room Tip: I don't know there is much choice in rooms. It usually stays pretty booked so it's a matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank btlfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

as another traveller posted, we booked an apartment here and were shuttled next door due to a similar excuse. It seems pretty common that if you book here you'd better have a plan B available. Cristina Suites is 3 star at best but where you actually end up sleeping is next door and it's nasty!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalot65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
We are very sorry that during our renovation (already finished) we had to transfer you just for your first night to the next door hotel. We hope to see you soon in our new restyled facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
1.8 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
0.5 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
#27 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel Suites Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel Suites Cristina

Property: Apartotel Suites Cristina
Address: Norte del Ice 300 | Sabana Norte, San Jose 10108, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartotel Suites Cristina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable and fully equipped Suites-Apartments with 1,2 or 3 bedrooms from 420 to 1000 square feet. We have free airport(SJO) to hotel transportation, and we charge US$5 from hotel to the Airport, both services must be booked with us. Free high speed wi-fi and free buffet breakfast. We specialize in medical tourism, families and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Apartotel Suites Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel Cristina San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing