We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is know where like this.. PERIOD”
Review of Hotel Del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Del Rey
Reviewed 6 March 2008

I've been to Costa Rica more than 10 times to visit my ex-wife family, so I know my way around pretty well.. The first time I stayed at the Del Rey was right after I got a divorce.. The place is packed with the most beautiful women in the world. It's jusy crazy on Fri and Sat nights. I've been to Vegas and it doesn't compare to what you get in Costa Rica.. It's definitely not a family hotel. If you have a girlfriend that is Bi.. MAN!! Your in heaven, this is the place to take her on vacation for a week. Tons to do during the day and night. MAN!! She will love you forever and you will love yourself for taken her there.. Everyone is friendly but don't be a fool.. There are crooks where ever you go.. If you like spanish women of all colors this should be your number one stop in Costa Rica. Black, Brown, Tanned and White.. They are all damn pretty.. The bartenders are HOT too!! Drink plenty of water, because after three days you will be dehydrated... Gentlemen this is the place you dream of... The last time I was there I took three of my co-workers.. These guys didn't want to go home.. They had a ball. The plane was full of married and single guys. Mostly married guys going on a fishing trip with the guys. It will be an event that you will NEVER EVER forget until the day you die.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank citigrp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2007

I stayed there a total of 4 nights in between other points of interest in Costa Rica in September and October 2007. The hotel staff is first rate: honest, polite, professional and most speak English with a vocabulary of over 5,000 words. The hotel manager was great when we needed assistance. The hotel is clean. If you ask the staff for service, they will assist you with anything except finding a woman - there you are on your own. If you are looking for female companionship, it is the place to go. Many, many woman go there to find men to hang out with. The abundance of women willing for a romantic encounter can only be described in person. Not a hotel for families and especially not a hotel for a honeymoon. The restaurant across the street (part of the hotel) had excellent food with 24 hour delivery and a morning buffet that cooks omeletes. Bring cash and an ATM card.

Stayed: September 2007
14  Thank sonatchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2007

Just returned from the Del Rey. First off, they are right...don't bring families or kids here. It is basically an adult Disneyland. Think girls from every Latin American country. On any given night there are from 50 - 150 girls in the bars and lobby. Many are quite good looking and some are down right exceptional. Bring bucks though....times like these are expensive. Don't walk anywhere around the hotel at night, although days are perfectly safe. Luis the tour director is excellent and a good source of information. Everyone here is friendly, including the worker bees. It is just fun to sit around the bar and chat it up with other gringos and let the scene play out. As for the rooms, the hotel was clean and comfortable. Try to get a room in the corners on the sixth floor. Although I had one on the fourth floor and had no problems with being interrupted. For days, raft the Pacuare river, great time. Try to get Danni as a guide.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank scblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2007

the hotel del rey is a 1930s hotel that contains a bar, the blue marlin that is all about being a pick up spot for such.

the windows in the rooms do not open and they smell old and stale. the overall ambiance in the rooms is a cross between a motel six run down flea bag

all the posting on here say great time etc, they are refering to the rampant vice that this hotels caters to. The place is clean but lacks in most areas the showers are lousy. The price is no bargain. and if you are not a single male looking for ACTION this is not the place for you, The rates are high enough that you can easily find a cleaner nicer hotel nearby that will allow you to bring "friends" to your room. If you must use the amenities of the bar so be it but as a hotel this place could be alot better. the del tey survives because it offers a casino, a bar full of ladies of the night and caters to men looking for ACTION. The place is a cool old hotel but that attribute has not really been developed. For my money,there are better places to stay and the del rey continues to charge abot $90 a night plus tax. for a prettty crumy room. my advice :its a fun place to visit but stay somewhere else unless vice is the goal of your stay stay away

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank strightup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Del Rey during our Christmas vacation to Costa Rica. We spent 2 days there. Had a ball. Met some really interesting people. Locals, other tourists and some americans who are living in Costa Rica part or full time I guess. Everyone we met was really friendly and helpful. We did some gambling and some partying and some sight seeing. Loved the Blue Marlin bar and loved the Key Largo bar where we met some lovely women. The clientele is mostly men and working girls but we didn't have any problems and I think got a better deal than the men did. Had a great couple of nights in our room with the new friends we met partying. This hotel is party central for sure.

Stayed: December 2006
9  Thank Traveler0448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2007

I stayed at Hotel Del Rey, San Jose, CR during the Christmas holidays. Let me tell you: what a place! lots of fun. The staff is really nice, always there to help. I do not drink, do not smoke, do not gamble, yet all of these things are at the hotel Del Rey plus beautiful and friendly ladies to keep you company. The only thing I had to complain about was the smoke getting to my room no matter what room I chose. I changed rooms twice. Smoke coming from the bar rose up into the building and sneaked into the rooms. I was not able to sleep. I had to move out at the last days at a nearby hotel. However, I kept on coming to the hotel for the great entertainment you can't find anywhere else. This is not for honeymooners or families. It's for singles, or free spirited couples. The hotel is also very well located at the center of town near all the interesting places to visit. Even if you chose to stay at another hotel in San Jose, you sure will go to Del Rey for the fun.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank kkanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2007

Let us get something straight here: Hotel Del Rey is NOT a family-friendly hotel by any means, it is not even recommended for single female travelers or couples to stay here, why? Well, it seems that this hotel exists solely to cater ONLY to single male travelers, the lobby is always (24/7) populated by a large all female crowd. These women are very beautiful and most of them are prostitutes, this is not a big deal in Costa Rica since Prostitution holds a legal status in the country. When I stayed there during the tourist season, the female to male ratio would be as high as 15 to 1 on the Weekends. There is a small Casino in the Lobby and multiple slot machines to pass the time, there is an OK restaurant and 3 bars. The overall quality is good and the rooms are Ok, but make no mistake, if you visiting Costa Rica with your family stay away from this Hotel, this also goes to single female travelers, Please, trust me on this. On the other hand, if you are single male...

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank VirginiaJosh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,527 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#55 of 78 in San Jose
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Morazan Hotel & Casino
#58 of 78 in San Jose
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#20 of 78 in San Jose
390 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Rey

Address: 1st Ave & 9th St, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 80 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: £79 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Del Rey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rey Hotel
Hotel Del Rey Costa Rica
Del Rey San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing