We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for the experience”
Review of Hotel Del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Del Rey
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We chose the Del Rey, and yes, bought the t-shirt. The three of us separated and were in the bars during the evening, moving from one bar to the other. My sister played the casino. The bars are filled with women wanting to make some money, even hitting on us women, which was ok with us. We felt very safe and comfortable in the hotel, as there are plenty of security men all over.....at doors, and in each bar. Staff was very professional. The bartenders were nice and friendly. Our room was roomy, 2 queen beds, quiet, air conditioned, nice bathroom with shower, tv., with a wonderful view of the goings on in the street. Each door to a room is carved wood. We ate at Del Rey restaurant across the street, called Del Mar. Excellent food. I would definitely stay here again, as it is very safe in the hotel.

Room Tip: room 212 if you want to check out street action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dinagarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

Located downtown Jose this hotel is withing walking distance of most services....I inspected the rooms and found them to be clean and ate at the restaurant but did not stay there. I strongly suggest that families and couples do not go there as the lobby is a mecca for working girls. There is a casino downstair as well if one is so inclined

Room Tip: As always,,,,inspect before picking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CentralAmericaRover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Do not die before you go to the Del Rey hotel when the cab driver ask you where you want to go you say the Del Rey Hotel buy your liquor at the duty free at the air port go to the the del rey have one beer maybe two by this time you will have met the most beautiful women you have ever seen if the only thing on your mind is how much you hate your room go to the del playa Marriott near the air port and pay them 250.00 a night

Room Tip: you sleep during the day and have fun all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

If you visit San Jose Costa Rica, everyone will know about the Hotel Del Rey. It has 24 hour operaions for drinking, gambling and prostitutes that are all about. The prostitutes are very beautiful and pack every area that the hotel has.

From the bathroom, casino, both bars, outside, elevator, there are hundreds of prostitutes for men. They are packing in very tight.

The other issue is that there are many thugs there who will try to rob you, sell you drugs or other schemes. I happened to be walking in the park and some girls told me about this so I had to see for myself. They were right.

This is NOT a family hotel at all. This is a hotel for sex, and the hottest and most famous in all of San Jose Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank princzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

A good place to stay in San Jose on leisure but not a good place for ladies, kids or couples. Front desk staff is friendly although not always the speediest. Rooms are clean but a little small and a little tired. The location is smack in the centre of downtown and taxies are readily available to get around as well as buses for the more adventurous. The food at the hotel is good and reasonably priced but there are also numerous restaurants in the vicinity. All in all, this hotel has a lot going for it at a not too expensive price, but ladies and families be aware there are always a lot of Scarlet Woman hanging about the lobby and 99%+ of the guests are male.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher level and away from the front due to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NavyGuy337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Not a great place for kids or couples. The staff was great and the room service was good, fast, and very reasonably priced. The regular rooms are a little small, but other than that fine. The first two nights I had a balcony room and it was great. Familes beware. There are a lot of women of the night there. It is definately a single mans hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alster2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

The Hotel Del rey has a nice locación in downtown San José , offers good rooms. The casino and the bar Blue Marlin are so much fun; if you have not stayed at San José Costa rica, the Horel Del Rey is fhe Plase!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,506 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#56 of 78 in San Jose
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#20 of 78 in San Jose
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Morazan Hotel & Casino
#57 of 78 in San Jose
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#27 of 78 in San Jose
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Rey

Address: 1st Ave & 9th St, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 79 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: £80 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Del Rey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rey Hotel
Hotel Del Rey Costa Rica
Del Rey San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing