We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option for single guys”
Review of Hotel Del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Del Rey
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good option for single guys”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

If you are staying in San Jose and want to meet friendly women this is the place to stay. The rooms are decent, the restaurant has a good breakfast buffet also decent lunch and dinner options. Some have claimed their tabs were padded. I have never opened a bar tab there but have not noticed any padding of my hotel bill. The hotel provides good security for guests. When a local male enters the hotel the security guys use metal detecting wand on him searching for weapons. When a local girl enters they check her id and search her purse. The girls wear clothing that make searching unnecessary. The area has many hustlers outside that can be annoying. Taxis are always available and there are many dining options nearby.

Room Tip: The upper rooms will have less street noise but all the rooms I have had there have been a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    46
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
3
9
57
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

bring all the condoms you can plus more. the weman are hot the hotel starts at 55 dollers its affortable friendly staff about 8pm is when it start jumping casino to cheak it out you will be back for sure!

Room Tip: standered room is the cheapest 55 plus tax about 67 in all 10 per geuss fee also
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank jsty7033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
629 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are ok and clean.
The bars and the casino are open 24 hours and there is always a lot happening. The location is very central near the main shopping avenue of San José.
Staff is friendly but the bar/casino is full of hookers.
Price value is good, but book through the internet and you will get a much better rate than if you book directly at the reception.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Jamesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Three bars, 118 slot machines, four card tables and a roulette wheel. The room service cheeseburgers are great and the 24 hours a day 'diversions' are non-stop. The Blue Marlin bar is a never ending source of visual entertainment.

Room Tip: there are upper level junior suites that are a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank paladinAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Wow! When I saw the reasonable rate, I asked my friends about the hotel. They tried to dissuade me, telling me to stay at a classier place, but boy were they wrong. The people there really take notice of you. I've been trying to exercise lately and have lost a few pounds and boy did the ladies notice. You just don't get that kind of friendly attention in the states. I admit, I still have to lose 20 or 30 more pounds, and was sucking it in a bit, but it's almost like they sensed my attempt to shape up. The compliments seemed endless. If I wasn't an old married guy, I might have gotten the wrong impression, but these girls were just plain nice. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: The lower rooms can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I arrived at Juan Santamaría International Airport in Costa Rica. The cab ride to the hotel del rey is about 30 minutes ($30) depending on traffic. I arrived in the evening. When the cab dropped me off at the hotel del rey there were many people outside hanging out trying to sell you cigars, watches, etc.. Some shady characters, but not any worse then hanging out in Times Square in New York late at night. When you first walk into the del rey you feel a little overwhelmed (depending if you arrive day time or night time.) because you are immediately scoped by about 60 women all dressed amazingly sexy. The check in process is quick. You get your room key, a mini bar key and an identification card. The bell man brought me to my room and showed me all I needed to know. The room was a nice size, clean and there was no smell. It was not a 4 star Las Vegas room, but very adequate. Flat screen TV with English HBO channels and a working cold AC unit. There is a safe in the room. Make sure you lock up your passport and other important items immediately. My recommendation however is to try and book a room on the 4th floor or higher. The girls inside the del rey are amazing. The top quality usually start coming in around 8pm. If you want to take a girl up to your room there is an extra charge of $10. They are very approachable and some speak good english and some not so good. Download the Google translate app with the offline language pack for Spanish and you won't have any problems communicating. The Del Mar restaurant is right across the street. The food is good, but expensive. It is owned by the Del Rey Hotel. Right next to the restaurant is The Key Largo Dance Club. Full of women. There is a DJ in one room and a live band in the other. The band sings all spanish music and they are great. I guarantee if you are going down solo or with a group of buddies you will have a great time if drinking, eating and meeting hot girls is your goal. Keep in mind you should not walk around at night after 10:00pm. Take a taxi when you want to leave the del rey and go to a different hangout spot. The official cabs are red with a yellow light on top. There is also small casino in the del rey, but there are many others in the surrounding area. The airport experience was very good. Arrive at the airport at least three hours before your flight. Check in and security lines can be very long. You need to pay an exit tax of $29 when you leave Costa Rica. If you are on the fence about going. Just do it. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
48 Thank Jeffrey e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here many times, the hotel is ok, I totally enjoy the bands at the key Largo and I love Latin women.
I don't recommend the restaurant,but I'm picky.
I've stayed here many times without a problem, but checking out on may 30 the new morning guy was charging me 21$ to much.when I returned to the hotel on june1, Juan working the front desk called the manager and they immediately corrected the charge.
When I was checking out june2 the morning guy tried to pull off the same thing again, this time being ready for his poor math I corrected it. I advise y'all look over your charges and have your calculator handy to devide the total amount of colonies by the latest exchange rate at the hotel.
I like the hotel I only hope that the manager gives the fellow a lesson in using a calculator.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank slepyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#15 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Casino Costa Rica Morazan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Rey

Property: Hotel Del Rey
Address: 1st Ave & 9th St, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 82 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Del Rey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rey Hotel
Hotel Del Rey Costa Rica
Del Rey San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing