We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The reviews are accurate in nature”
Review of Hotel Del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Del Rey
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The reviews are accurate in nature”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Not much to add about what this "Pink Palace" as it is called is all about. Can't imagine though how anyone could seriously give it a very good or excellent rating in terms of a hotel, forgetting about what draws guys there on the first floor. Glad to see no couples have rated this place. i have stayed there a number of times, but as infrequently as i can. The rooms are old, they are all loud due to the open nature of the common stairwell so all the casino machines, music and bar noise goes on loudly all night, all the way to the fifth floor. No carpeting in the halls makes every chica with high heels clanking and echoing as noticeable as can be. Street noise the other problem from dawn to passed dark--busses, trucks, taxis, motorcycyles all the way to the fifth floor. And it ain't cheap.

But the location is very centro, the food is surprsingly very good, the drinks are OK, the casino is fun, and the rest I will leave to the other reviewers. One thing is certain--this place is well known throughout North America.

Stay elsewhere, like next door at the newer American chain Sleep Inn, and if you are solo and not with your girl or family, have a ball playing on the first floor of the DelRey, whether it be gambling, or drinking, or eating or whatever!

Room Tip: None--stay elsewhere, party here if you are solo or travelling with your buddies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    46
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
3
9
57
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

A very fun place, the best time to stay here is Thursday- Sunday. I stayed here for 4 nights this is something every person and especially guys should see at least once., The Rooms and hotel were a little bit outdated with a tube TV but very clean, large and well maintained. and contained a minibar (you have to request the key ) and the maid service did a great job cleaning . Downstairs there are several bars and a small casino area (which i did not like) and across the street is the Key Largo dance club and the Del Mar restaurant (which also provides overpriced room service to the hotel) The girls range from 2's to a few 10's and can be found downstairs 24/7, however, quantity and quality are best Thursday- Saturday from 5-11 PM . My suggestion to anyone staying here is to go out and explore the city during the day and when the sun comes down head back to the Del Rey for some fun. I would not return here on my next trip only because IMO this is a novelty place and you can find a much better hotel in san jose for the same price. but everyone should stay here once.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in the room or at the bar all day. go out and explore . Treat the girls with respect and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jmm1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

If you are staying in San Jose and want to meet friendly women this is the place to stay. The rooms are decent, the restaurant has a good breakfast buffet also decent lunch and dinner options. Some have claimed their tabs were padded. I have never opened a bar tab there but have not noticed any padding of my hotel bill. The hotel provides good security for guests. When a local male enters the hotel the security guys use metal detecting wand on him searching for weapons. When a local girl enters they check her id and search her purse. The girls wear clothing that make searching unnecessary. The area has many hustlers outside that can be annoying. Taxis are always available and there are many dining options nearby.

Room Tip: The upper rooms will have less street noise but all the rooms I have had there have been a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

bring all the condoms you can plus more. the weman are hot the hotel starts at 55 dollers its affortable friendly staff about 8pm is when it start jumping casino to cheak it out you will be back for sure!

Room Tip: standered room is the cheapest 55 plus tax about 67 in all 10 per geuss fee also
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank jsty7033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
629 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are ok and clean.
The bars and the casino are open 24 hours and there is always a lot happening. The location is very central near the main shopping avenue of San José.
Staff is friendly but the bar/casino is full of hookers.
Price value is good, but book through the internet and you will get a much better rate than if you book directly at the reception.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Jamesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Three bars, 118 slot machines, four card tables and a roulette wheel. The room service cheeseburgers are great and the 24 hours a day 'diversions' are non-stop. The Blue Marlin bar is a never ending source of visual entertainment.

Room Tip: there are upper level junior suites that are a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank paladinAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Wow! When I saw the reasonable rate, I asked my friends about the hotel. They tried to dissuade me, telling me to stay at a classier place, but boy were they wrong. The people there really take notice of you. I've been trying to exercise lately and have lost a few pounds and boy did the ladies notice. You just don't get that kind of friendly attention in the states. I admit, I still have to lose 20 or 30 more pounds, and was sucking it in a bit, but it's almost like they sensed my attempt to shape up. The compliments seemed endless. If I wasn't an old married guy, I might have gotten the wrong impression, but these girls were just plain nice. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: The lower rooms can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#15 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Casino Costa Rica Morazan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Rey

Property: Hotel Del Rey
Address: 1st Ave & 9th St, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 82 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Del Rey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rey Hotel
Hotel Del Rey Costa Rica
Del Rey San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing