We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time stay”
Review of Hotel Del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Del Rey
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“first time stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have been to costa rica many times and had never stayed in a hotel in the downtown area, I felt that i made a good choice, room was small and directly behind the DelRey but the breakfast in the morning and the staff were very helpful to me I will stay here again hopefully in about 6- 8 months.

Room Tip: do not stay in rooms near the delrey choose the other end of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tdjfish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    46
    28
    16
    9
See reviews for
2
9
58
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Its been several years since i've been here. It hasn't changed much. Still entertaining. Rooms could use some improvements. As could the food. But overall stay was ok. The staff was helpful and polite.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It's an OK place to stay but they triple billed my credit card 1 charge when I checked out and 2 more times a day later. I have not got the money back. I don't sujest staying there but if you must don't use a credit card for the room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
12 Thank Todd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

While the Casino and Bar offers a nice layout to socialize the rooms can be noisy with music from casino all day and night.. And if you like sleeping on beds as old and as hard as rocks this is the place for you. If your going for the "action" the hotel/casino offers I would suggest staying in the hotel next door (Sleep inn). BED ARE SOME OF THE MOST UNCOMFORTABLE BEDS I HAVE EVER SLEPT IN, which is a shame because the hotel has a lot of character and a wonderful attentive staff.

Room Tip: Don't wander far outside hotel at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pbman33480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort worth
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I Chose this hotel specifically because I could get a room with a balcony (5th or 6th floor). Checking in was no problem since I already had a reservation.
The room I requested though (a room on the 5th or was it the 6th floor) with balcony) was not ready so they gave me another room (same floor with balcony).
Balcony has some cheap plastic furniture (really).
The hotel clerk ran me through the typical buttons to push, Airco to put on etc.
The room was dark and the Airco was a small window unit which took awhile for the room to cool down.
What can I say.
The hotel is dated and tired.
Hopefully management will take this to heart and try to improve the quality of the rooms considering the price.
The hotel can be a real winner because it is centrally located but ...
Would I recommend the hotel? Reading other peoples desires to stay at this hotel for a certain purpose I would say you are all-right but overall it was just a so-so hotel

Room Tip: If you want a view you have to take a high up room/balcony room which I wanted. Don't think that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FortWorthJeffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Not much to add about what this "Pink Palace" as it is called is all about. Can't imagine though how anyone could seriously give it a very good or excellent rating in terms of a hotel, forgetting about what draws guys there on the first floor. Glad to see no couples have rated this place. i have stayed there a number of times, but as infrequently as i can. The rooms are old, they are all loud due to the open nature of the common stairwell so all the casino machines, music and bar noise goes on loudly all night, all the way to the fifth floor. No carpeting in the halls makes every chica with high heels clanking and echoing as noticeable as can be. Street noise the other problem from dawn to passed dark--busses, trucks, taxis, motorcycyles all the way to the fifth floor. And it ain't cheap.

But the location is very centro, the food is surprsingly very good, the drinks are OK, the casino is fun, and the rest I will leave to the other reviewers. One thing is certain--this place is well known throughout North America.

Stay elsewhere, like next door at the newer American chain Sleep Inn, and if you are solo and not with your girl or family, have a ball playing on the first floor of the DelRey, whether it be gambling, or drinking, or eating or whatever!

Room Tip: None--stay elsewhere, party here if you are solo or travelling with your buddies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

A very fun place, the best time to stay here is Thursday- Sunday. I stayed here for 4 nights this is something every person and especially guys should see at least once., The Rooms and hotel were a little bit outdated with a tube TV but very clean, large and well maintained. and contained a minibar (you have to request the key ) and the maid service did a great job cleaning . Downstairs there are several bars and a small casino area (which i did not like) and across the street is the Key Largo dance club and the Del Mar restaurant (which also provides overpriced room service to the hotel) The girls range from 2's to a few 10's and can be found downstairs 24/7, however, quantity and quality are best Thursday- Saturday from 5-11 PM . My suggestion to anyone staying here is to go out and explore the city during the day and when the sun comes down head back to the Del Rey for some fun. I would not return here on my next trip only because IMO this is a novelty place and you can find a much better hotel in san jose for the same price. but everyone should stay here once.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in the room or at the bar all day. go out and explore . Treat the girls with respect and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jmm1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#21 of 78 in San Jose
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Morazan Hotel & Casino
#56 of 78 in San Jose
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Rey

Property: Hotel Del Rey
Address: 1st Ave & 9th St, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 84 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Del Rey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rey Hotel
Hotel Del Rey Costa Rica
Del Rey San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing