We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great brothel, horrible hotel”
Review of Hotel Del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Del Rey
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
133
Reviewed 12 November 2005

Do not be confused. This hotel is actually the most notorious brothel in Central America. This is not a hotel in the traditional sense. if you are looking for a brothel, it is hard to do better than this. Some of the most attractive and available sex workers in the region are to be found 24 hours a day at reasonable rates. If that is what you want, I am not judging you.

But, if you are looking for a decent hotel, this is not the place. The hotel is not very nice. The facilities and rooms are lackluster, about the quality of a cheesy casino hotel off the strip in Las Vegas. The rooms are loud, the linens are threadbare, and services (other than the previously mentioned brothel) are non-existent. The hotel restaurant is not recommended. Plus, the place is crawling with low lifes, hookers, and the atmosphere is like (again) a seedy off-the-strip Vegas casino hotel.

Unless you are looking for a great brothel and okay casino with a lousy room upstairs to crash (or whatever else you may choose to do), this is a definate avoid.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 134 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta Georgia
125
Reviewed 20 September 2005

A great hotel! Hotel has a friendly staff and clean rooms. Beware, no place for kids or family. However, Men, Lesbians its a wonderful hot spot to watch and enjoy some of the most beautiful Costa Rica women while drinking a cold beer at one of three bars located inside the hotel. The hotel also boosts an average casino for your enjoyment. Hotel Del Rey located in a fairly nice district downtown within walking distance of many attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Canada
160
Reviewed 13 August 2005

Myself and 2 other gentleman booked the Del Rey with the expectations that we would have a clean room that was a reasonable price and a good location to brach out from. To all of our surprise the Del Rey ended up being the best trip any of us had ever been on.

To start, the name "Del Rey" really means heaven on earth for men. This is not a family oriented hotel or for woman or children. This hotel will however satisfy any and every fantasy a man could ever imagine with all types of flavourfull woman.

While driving from the airport to the hotel we almost told our cab driver to turn around and take us back out of the city. The poverty on the way to the hotel is visible and somewhat disturbing if you've never been to a 3rd world country. Actualy in the end Costa Rica as a whole is more advanced than a lot of Mexico. Anyway, once through the city and upon the hotel it ended up being like a mirrage. There is security at all doors of the hotel and at the elevator to assure the mobs of woman don't all try and follow you up to your room.

The lobby and bar are something out of a 50's style Cuban feel with lots of nice wood decor and super friendly staff. The hotel was always clean and everyone very helpfull.

The rooms were clean and had either 2 queens or 1 king. The rates were reasonable and all the rooms had safes. We never had a problem with anything being stolen, we all felt very safe the entire time we stayed at the Del Rey.

Now the woman, I never knew that God had created woman so beautifull. Woman from Paris are ok, girls from Southern Georgia aren't bad, those California girls will have to work much harder though! The woman in the Del Rey and in the Club owned by the hotel across the street are the most amazing creatures. You have to experience their beauty to understand.

In conclusion this was a trip that will never be far from our thoughts and we are going back this year. Costa Rica also has so many great things to explore and the people are the most friendly that we have ever met. Please ask for Earl at the Del Rey who is a cab driver and the best tour guide you could ever have.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
60  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2005

Let us be clear. This hotel is full of ladies of the evening in the bar and lobby area. It is a legal meeting place for sportsmen looking for women.
I did not like the speed of the dealing at the blackjacd tables but that is not the hotel as a hotel.
The physical rooms are acceptable for a single straight male. Otherwise, do not come here.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank MrsYe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2005

Last visited in DEC 2004. This centrally located hotel is definitely party central. NOT a family hotel. I would say it caters more to single travelers looking to experience the night life of Costa Rica. The bar is packed every night, as is the Key Largo, right across the street. The accommodations are OK. VERY noisy if you have a room facing the street. Again, more of a place catering to single guys.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
55  Thank zoid-sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2005

The Hotel Del Rey provides the adventurous traveller something they can talk about long after their stay and experiences right here in the heart of San Jose. After a short cheap flight from the North East to San Jose, and $12 Bucks to the Cabbie, I arrive at the Del Rey and split the room cost, about $30 bucks each. It's here I will stay, play and quite literally have it all for the next few days, it's just a short trip with friends. The rooms are nice and my tip is to get an outside room. This place is open 24 hours a day, and has the BEST BAR in San Jose, and free drinks while gambling with low minimum bets, so you can play all day and night if you want to. There is a mix of local and international flavor here. You can make friends here too with some really interesting travellers. The restaurant is awesome and great prices, and service here is top notch in every respect. I don't know any Spanish but don't worry if you don't either, everyone in Costa Rica is easy to work with. You can figure it out. I took some tours out of the Del Rey like a Canopy Tour, Volcano Tour, Deep Sea fishing, all great and worth the money. A good tip is to hire a nice cab to take you to the beach on the West side of the Isalnd, and South to Manuel Antonio National Park. For a couple of guys looking to have the time of our life, the Hotel Del Rey was the highlight of the trip and gave us some excellent memories.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
125  Thank chriswny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joni c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#20 of 78 in San Jose
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
0.0 mi away
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Morazan Hotel & Casino
#56 of 78 in San Jose
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Rey

Address: 1st Ave & 9th St, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: £80 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Del Rey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rey Hotel
Hotel Del Rey Costa Rica
Del Rey San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing