We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean updated room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dunn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dunn Inn
Ranked #18 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Mogadore, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean updated room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Found the staff to be helpful. Spoke english very well. Nice bar. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. As a person who spends more than 100 nights a year in hotels (my expectations are reasonable) I can say without reserve I'd stay at the Hotel Dunn Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esketores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    100
    45
    16
    5
See reviews for
20
84
142
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

The Dunn Inn was probably nice back in the day however now it's a pit stop for the shady types. I was very disappointed. The service was fair. Rooms noisy. Don't expect to walk around the neighborhood at night. Definitely not safe.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Almka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Guy Grand and his wonderful staff are top notch. The food and beverages are of the highest quality. The hotel is in a very convenient location with everything you need at your fingertips. Enjoyed free stateside phone calls via magicjack. The rooms are very clean and the area is very quiet through the night. I will always stay in this facility whrn in Costa Rica.
J.D.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irondale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Hotel remodel is excellent. Bars are beautiful and rooms as very nice. Was a relaxing and laid back atmosphere. Bartenders at Ricks bar not attentive at all but bar tenders in lower bar were excellent. Food was Very Good. Will definitely reccomend to friends!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

My family relies on trip advisor to help find a good hotel and this hotel should not have four stars i'd say. The only good thing good about hotel dunn inn is that when you have a problem they try to help you. We stayed in the "suite" which does not have the two living areas it is a little nook with some chairs and a tv, a bed area and a washroom which did not have the jacuzzi tub promised which was a big let down in my opinion. Also the "sofa bed" was not a sofa bed it was a tiny uncomfy cot. We came to dunn inn right after a flight that took three extra hours then it should have and we went to bed early because were tired but the noise in night was unbelievable and they should put sound insulation so people could sleep. Save your self the money which is not worth it because we later stayed in hotel presidente and it was $140 USD(with tax) with a better buffet (3X bigger with eggs), better service, quiter rooms and more of the luxury experience in stead of $160 USD (with taxes and extra person fees).

Save your time and don't come

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lK_A_Ml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed at the Dunn Inn for our first two nights in San Jose and then again, a week later for one night prior to our return to the US. Both experiences were polar opposites.
When we first arrived, the hotel was perfect. The area is great, the staff is helpful, and the room was pleasant (corner room, nice light, clean). The food in the bar was fine (not great but adequate). The room rate was a fair price (food in the bar was not cheap but it was ok). All in all, not a bad experience.
However, when we returned a week later for one night, it was totally different. The room was quite small and had been sprayed with so much air freshener, it was nearly unbearable (even with an open window); the room was small and, and it was nearly impossible to sleep with all of the noise from the prostitutes in the hall. While we knew that Costa Rica allowed prostituion, we either didn't notice that the Dunn Inn seems to be one of the local bases for it or it had been a slow spell when we were there first time 'round. It was certainly noticeable this time!
(it might also explain why this hotel is not listed in most of the major guidebooks)

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank zeldamay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

just home to the frozen white wasteland of new jersey after a 1 month stay at the Dunn Inn ~ i have been going to costa rica for over 20 years as well as making the hop over to europe a few times (& a few other places ;-) ~ even as this was my 1st time at the Dunn Inn in my opinion it is as nice a place next to home that you will ever find to stay.... all of the staff will go above & beyond for any request or need that you have ~ con mucho gusto ~ from the quality of the door men (i have never lived anywhere with a doorman & what a great experience ~ these guys will pick you up off the floor when you pass out ~ make sure you are ok & then think nothing more of it than you are on your vacation & it's just part of having fun ~ bring home a hottie & he will give you a high 5 with the twinkle in his eyes) ~ the desk staff can assist with any business type need ~ great restaurant & staff ~ even the housekeeping staff is stellar!! with all the rooms being new & renovated ~ very fast wireless throughout ~ 2 public computer terminals for ye mere mortals sans laptops, w/a working printer! they will rent you a majic jack for your stay for next to nothing (call the US on the telephone VOIP ~ receive calls too {on a US#}) ooddlles of cable tv channels with several english language stations ~ good reception/nice picture ~ maybe 30 music channels on the tv as well ~ clean ~ nice ~ moderately priced ~ the new bar / casino is the nicest place in town (merely lacks a pool table {the 1 at the SL is excellent{{& free!!}}}) ~ all like just 3 blocks from morizon park in historic barrio armon ~ i give the Dunn Inn 5 stars out of 5 stars & anytime i find myself in san jose i will consider myself lucky if they have a bed there for me (< 30 rooms) ~ a mucho grande gracias a todos en Dunn Inn de david!!

they do have some very nice / large penthouse style rooms (i think there may even be jacuzzis involved) ~ i stayed in gwuapa & enjoyed the large windows w/fresh air ~ beautiful bathroom & shower & a pair of parrots in the birdhouse mounted outside my window as my noisy neighbors!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edikted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunn Inn

Property: Hotel Dunn Inn
Address: Calle 5, Avenida 11, San Jose 11681-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to help you while in San Jose, Costa Rica, if you don't speak Spanish or in case you want to feel more at home. This charming 1929 mansion is known for providing exceptionally friendly service and is a favorite among many locals. From the moment you arrive you will experience firsthand the warmth of Costa Rican hospitality and enjoy the benefits of a full service hotel with excellent value. The New Standard for San Jose Costa Rica Hotels...The 28 guests rooms are attractively decorated with warm, rich woods, original brick, hand-painted native artwork, colorful quilts, and have indigenous BriBri Indian names. All are equipped with quality linens, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, mini bar, direct telephone service, ceiling fan, private bath, clock radio, hairdryer, fresh flowers, local information and a free map of Costa Rica. The hotel has wireless internet in all rooms, two Internet stations, parking, 24-hour security, car rental and tourist information, laundry service, business services, safe deposit boxes, room service, and an onsite barbershop. The hotel offers complementary services of tea and coffee 24 hours a day and a late 1pm check out. You will also enjoy breakfast, lunch and / or dinner in the beautiful tropical restaurant and Tropix bar that is truly an oasis in the city; brimming with bromeliads, ferns, orchids and other tropical plants. The daily happy hour from 4pm - 6pm is sure to provide fun and interesting conversation. New to our long list of services is free in-house medical emergency assistance and reasonable medical insurance. Every effort is made to ensure an enjoyable visit and every one of our long term bilingual staff will gladly assist you in any way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Dunn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunn San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing