We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Great Massages”
Review of Hotel Dunn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dunn Inn
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Great Massages”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Its a beautifully converted historic house with great character and wonderfully friendly people
and I would definitely recommend it as a safe and inexpensive hotel to stay for those on business in down town San Jose.

'Ricks bar' which was very nice and bright with lovely high ceilings, not dark or full of smoke, the food was inexpensive and very decent. I was addicted to the Ceviche Tico, and finally a nice wine selection in San Jose.

ALL the staff were extremely helpful and went above and beyond to make sure I had everything I needed. I also, had two massages $40 each, by 'Yorleny', who did an awesome job.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLesleyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    104
    46
    17
    5
See reviews for
22
87
144
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Ala
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed here in Jan 2012. From the moment I arrived I felt right at home. The front desk staff were friendly, informative and responsive (and beautiful) The room was clean, had all amenities with good shower pressure and plenty of hot water. I booked ATV ride and whitewater rafting through the front desk and EVERYONE went to great pains to help with directions(the real drawback to San Jose is there are no street signs/addresses/road markers of any kind in the city). if you are driving yourself get a GPS it is a nightmare. The other staff in the rest. and bar were exceptional, any question was addressed to your satisfaction and the new addition in the back was perfect. They even had a separate cigar area that you could still see the six screen giant HDTV array showing every sport you could want. Great happy hour 2/1 beers reasonable snacks and fine servers! Guy Grand (GMgr) and his wife were accessible ( and she is also the in-house massage lady). Good People. I think this carried over to the guests because I hung out and partied with some and when they left, I found a note and 2 bottles of top shelf booze at the front desk. Overall Great experience.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the back, It was busy in the morning on the street. I am an early riser, but, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joetraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Used to be a nice place, friendly and mellow. Sure, people brought their 'dates' here, but I never felt uncomfortable bringing my kids here. It's changed now -- gringo owners, a business model that caters to the "gentleman traveler", and each room has condoms prominently displayed on the bedside table that are for sale. Not a nice place for families anymore. I've stayed here over a 10 year period, but never again. I won't overypay for a mediocre room and then have to listen to "ay-ay-ay" through the thin walls while my kids want to know "if the lady next door is OK". All the reviews from guys that stayed for "a week" or "six days" -- take them with a giant grain of salt -- they're sex tourists. Boooo! Booo!


Boooo. Boooo.

Room Tip: Rooms at a different hotel are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brian_aguabuena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Such a great suprise! For only $60/night for a basic room we received a very nice, clean, updated room with 24 hour/day security guard at the main entrance. The Tropix Bar was absolutely beautiful and very reasonably priced. The sports bar immediately next door was also a very nice atmosphere to relax and have a beer at any time of day. Only 20 min from airport and the hotel offers airport shuttle for only $25. Hotel is within walking distance to many resturaunts, bars, and attractions. Would definitely suggest this hotel for anyone staying in the downtown San Jose area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hatfiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

First time staying at this hotel. Great hotel. I am currently here staying at the hotel. Staff here is very helpful. They go above and beyond whats required especially GUY, great customer service. Now for the rooms, a group of us are staying here. Perfect location for friends and singles. My room is nice size, ac, flat panel, recently renovated, can't really ask for more for the price. Reasonable rates. Nice bar atmosphere, like I said, great for party's and singles. I heard from previous reviews about the noise level, hardly any noise. Quite night. Can't rate the breakfast, never seem to wake up in time to make it.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bedroom. Newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vomcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I stayed at the Dunn Inn for 6 days August 18-24 2011. I doubt I will do this place justice but will try. THE ROOMS, stayed in two, the first was real nice and more economical, I knew I wasn't going to be there much so i picked it. Room 11 Perfect! Super clean, nice flat screen, WiFi very good. Hot shower, why pay more when your going to be out and about!. Second room Pure Luxury, super quiet, huge bed, huge bathroom, modern hardwood throughout,, a 5 star room and a 3 star price! THE SERVICE I can't say enough about, Guy and his team are amazing! they cater to your every need and go way above and beyond! For example the Chef picked up on how I like my food spicy so every meal I ordered appeared with a side of home made hot sauce. Each one better than the next! Our Waitress Sophi was always smiling always catering to use, a real pleasure to be around made us feel like we were at home. THE FOOD at Rick's Cafe was outstanding, they even have Draft beer which is Rare in CR. I cant say enough for the team they really are top notch. THE SECURITY although their was never a reason for it I sure felt safe with security in and around the hotel 24X7. WHO SHOULD STAY HERE... If your looking for a frat house Not you... If your looking for a $20.00 Backpacker Hostel their are several up town, If your looking to be in the center of the business district and your company is willing to pay $300.00 a night... then go for the center of the city chains...If your looking to enjoy all that San Jose has to offer in Luxury in a great place with great Staff for an affordable price the Dunn Inn is for you. Bravo DUNN INN Well Done!

Room Tip: I had two rooms the first was room 11, Perfect lower cost high quality! Second room 25 was 5 Star Lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWellX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I went to the Dunn Inn on the strength of hearing about it from other ex-pats and local homeowners in Guanacaste. My room which cost $79 a night (there was a misleading come on saying that rooms were available at $45 and I cringe to think how they must be) had NO outside window and NO airconditioning. It shared a wall with a main staircase so I got to share in the joy of all coming and going traffic as well as phone conversations through the indoor window from people using the computers provided by the hotel. Yes, it was very, very clean, the bathroom was nicely outfitted. But my bed was a matress on a wooden platform. The room was a nice size, too but painted a dull brick red which made it feel as claustrophobic as it really was. The staff were very nice, friendly, English speaking. I only had two breakfasts in the hotel's restaurant: one was part of the price and consisted of whole wheat toast, fruit, cheese and coffee. The other was an outrageously priced ($12) for two scrambled eggs, a single slice of ham and a scattering of dried, greasy potatoes and a side of English muffin. Ahhhh....I don't get the attraction to the place. Oh, the Sports Bar which is connected to it has decent food and decent prices.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icecreamgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#15 of 77 in San Jose
383 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
883 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunn Inn

Property: Hotel Dunn Inn
Address: Calle 5, Avenida 11, San Jose 11681-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to help you while in San Jose, Costa Rica, if you don't speak Spanish or in case you want to feel more at home. This charming 1929 mansion is known for providing exceptionally friendly service and is a favorite among many locals. From the moment you arrive you will experience firsthand the warmth of Costa Rican hospitality and enjoy the benefits of a full service hotel with excellent value. The New Standard for San Jose Costa Rica Hotels...The 28 guests rooms are attractively decorated with warm, rich woods, original brick, hand-painted native artwork, colorful quilts, and have indigenous BriBri Indian names. All are equipped with quality linens, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, mini bar, direct telephone service, ceiling fan, private bath, clock radio, hairdryer, fresh flowers, local information and a free map of Costa Rica. The hotel has wireless internet in all rooms, two Internet stations, parking, 24-hour security, car rental and tourist information, laundry service, business services, safe deposit boxes, room service, and an onsite barbershop. The hotel offers complementary services of tea and coffee 24 hours a day and a late 1pm check out. You will also enjoy breakfast, lunch and / or dinner in the beautiful tropical restaurant and Tropix bar that is truly an oasis in the city; brimming with bromeliads, ferns, orchids and other tropical plants. The daily happy hour from 4pm - 6pm is sure to provide fun and interesting conversation. New to our long list of services is free in-house medical emergency assistance and reasonable medical insurance. Every effort is made to ensure an enjoyable visit and every one of our long term bilingual staff will gladly assist you in any way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dunn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunn San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing