We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Park Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santo Tomas(San Jose)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
255
130
53
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
130
53
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricacontinental breakfastceiling fancenter of san josehome away from homeair conditioningdowntown areafelt safelast nightairportbarrioearplugscabcountry
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I've stayed at many nice hotels in San Jose over the last few years. Several may exceed the Dunn Inn for one category (i.e room). But I find the Dunn Inn offers the best experience overall for most budgets.

The rooms are clean and fresh, have flat screen TV's (with US channels if that is important). Their Deluxe King Rooms offers the best room in San Jose in my opinion. Of course it costs more, but it is first class in every way.

The restaurant is very good offering fresh fish, beef, sandwiches and more. The breakfast is great..don't go without ordering the banana pancakes.

The service at Dunn Inn really stands out from the doormen to the housekeepers. All are very friendly and hospitable.

Room Tip: The Dunn Inn has 2 sections, new and original. I would suggest staying in the new wing. The rooms are nicer in my opinion.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed_in_Grecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Want a great place for a party? I am a retired school teacher living in San Jose. A group of students and adults came to visit Costa Rica. While they where in San Jose I arranged for them to have a group dinner at the Dunn Inn. The manager, John set up a wonderful experience for the group. At the end of the dinner the group said we want to come back here tomorrow night. One of the teachers mentioned we wanted to have dance lessons for the students, but no luck. John, said I have two staff members that are very good. The next night the restaurant was transformed into a club like experience for the students. The dance lessons were fantastic and every student was dancing. The staff made everyone feel like they were special. The evening was a great success and a highlight of the students trip to Costa Rica. Thank you John and staff for making their night very special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank markboyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We brought 27 high school students to Costa Rica from northern Michigan. Thanks to John at Dunn Inn, their last 2 nights in San Jose will never be forgotten. Their staff opened their establishment, and their hearts to us. John and his staff made all of us feel at home, and we all had a fabulous time!
If you're looking for a place to stay in San Jose - Hotel Dunn Inn is it!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieD98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We recently returned from Costa Rica with a group of 27 HS students and 5 adults. It was difficult to find places to accommodate our group size; John did this with ease and the outmost friendliness. Although we did not stay at the Dunn Inn we did eat at the restaurant twice. They created a special menu for us with many choices at extremely reasonable prices, had amazing service, a caring and friendly staff, and John was fantastic! To top it all off, the dance lessons we had scheduled with someone else had been a no-show and John came to the rescue! He moved the dinning room around and called in two fantastic dancers that did not disappoint--in fact, they were fabulous dancers and teachers. It was by far our favorite night in San José. I would recommend that everyone try to visit here as you will not be disappointed in the atmosphere, service, cleanliness, prices, or food. Great job, Dunn Inn staff! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Fritch11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Normally when we go to Costa Rica we fly to San Jose airport and then drive the four hours to our destination on the Caribbean coast -- Puerto Viejo. But this trip we decided to stay in San Jose to get to know the city a bit. I randomly chose the Dunn Inn, mostly because I liked the photos of their exterior. But I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel is -- although it is an old building. Everything has been done to try to modernize the rooms, which are simple but include a refrigerator, microwave and a safe to store small belongings. The staff was incredible -- very courteous, informative, helpful, and cheerful. I got the impression that people like working here which is the best sign of a well-run establishment. And the food in the restaurant was quite good. There's also an enormous bar attached which will serve food quite late if you happen to arrive as late as we did. I would highly recommend this hotel. And by the way, the shower water pressure was the best!

Room Tip: There appears to be a smoking and a non-smoking part of the hotel. I would always know now to request the non-smoking side. A friend stayed on the smoking side, which was lovely, but overwhelmed by the smell of smoke.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews