We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, friendly and central hotel in San Jose” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dunn Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Dunn Inn
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, friendly and central hotel in San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Dunn Inn in is a very nice hotel, in a restored old mansion, very close to the city center in San Jose, an area which is slowly changing. The staff is professional and helpful, always accomodating, the food is also great, and the bar and restaurant are really worth tryin. You really have good value for money here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelman321, Owner at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Celedes, thank you for the nice comments and you were a pleasure to have as a guest in our hotel. V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    100
    45
    16
    5
See reviews for
20
84
142
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I was underwhelmed by the hotel room when we first arrived after a long day of travel. It was quite small, right next to the stairs and noisy with windows opening above the door and a boxed in, awkward bathroom (although the shower was nice). The attached bar was convenient and the staff were helpful, but otherwise just a place to rest your head.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaSpirit265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelman321, Owner at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear sir, I am sorry you were disappointed with the size of the room. We have a wide variety of room and sizes. In fact most are larger and marginally more expensive. At the Dunn Inn we pride ourselves on having clean rooms ,great service, good food, and the best beds in San Jose. I encourage you to give us another try and I am sure you will get more than a good nights sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Each room is a little different so check what's available. Another conversion building, it wasn't built as a hotel. Very loyal following, very good food, very good service. Big problem is street noise. it's from dawn to bed time, cars,busses, trucks, typico in centro SJ. A tad over priced.

Room Tip: The biggest one you can get because the small ones are really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelman321, Owner at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Tomas, I am glad you enjoyed you stay at the D.I. The street noise can be tuff on light sleepers in San Jose. Ticos sometimes prefer to use their horn as opposed to their brakes. Inside rooms are also available if this is the case. It is unfortunately a citywide problem, kind of like NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Rooms vary a lot in size and characteristics. Avoid rooms on ground floor as they tend to be very noisy, either from street or from being close to staff areas whee people start running around early in the morning, sometimes with their kids playing in the corridor. Second floor rooms smaller (those I saw) but much quieter. Staff very spread in service level from ultra good to almost rude, but even the grumpy ones gave adequate service. Restaurant got very friendly and nice staff and a good menu and most of the time very good international style food (2 of 4 meals were soso, one time a not freshly cut salad felt squishy, the other a medium rare steak was almost alive). Overall food quality 4 out of 5 though despite the faux. Location excellent close to center and some good bar areas, but in a quiet part of town. No pool. Probably a better hotel for solo travellers, couples or male groups than for families.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank urbanemson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelman321, Owner at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We appreciate your comments very much. Mostly we hear that our staff is very friendly and I was sorry to read you ran across someone having a bad day. I was not at all happy to hear you had an undercooked steak. Next time please let us know and we will be more than happy to make it right or replace it . We Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I have been staying in this hotel for years.It is close to the center of San Jose but far enough away to be out of the mass of humanity .It offers a quiet comfortable ambiance and is close to the zoo,El Pueblo and casa amarilla.A 4 block walk to avenida central and the museo de oro and other historic sites(central mercado)The staff has had little turn over thru the years and the hotel has been thru a remodel and expansion into an adjacent sports bar area.The food is very good here and is tilted towards North Americans.A couple of the rooms on the 2nd floor are newer and more typical of a US hotel room the other rooms are quaint and typical Tico style.A word of CAUTION ,do not book a room next to the street unless you plan on bringing ear plugs.Some of these rooms are number 1,number 16 and number 2.I would rate this hotel 5 stars for value and location except for the fact that ,like many popular venues for gringos,they keep nudging the rates higher....

Room Tip: Make sure you avoid the rooms next to the street..1,2,and 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelman321, Owner at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Jon, thank you for your patronage. We always look forward to your stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Of course, there can only be one DI, the Desert Inn in Vegas, may she rest in peace, but the Dunn Inn has been my go to spot in San Jose for more than four years now. It really has it all, location, value, amenities, friendly staff, the food is top notch, this is simply the best place to stay in San Jose. As I was checking out, they asked me what foods from the mini bar had I consumed, and I told them a Snicker's Bar, and a gentleman got his wallet out and paid the two dollars. I was like, dude, you don't have to do that, and the Dude turns out to be Jack, one of the owners, candy bar on him. Unless it is Halloween, it's really hard to get a free candy bar these days. Great guy, great hotel, stay here, and if you are headed down to Jaco, stay in the their sister property there called the Nine.

Room Tip: If you can, get one of the refurbished rooms, it's worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeusTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelman321, Owner at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
I remember you well. I will pick up your candy bar next time also. You are always welcome here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeway, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Dunn Inn is a great restored old mansion. You can tell that the owners have paid attention to the details. The staff are all very nice and most speak both Spanish and English. I have to say my favorite part was the bar/restaurant. It is enclosed from the environment of bustling San Jose, but refreshingly opened to the cool nights the city provides. They also provide a gated parking area that reassured me that my car would be fine. Also, I was able to walk to the nearby Museo de Jade and Casino. I have been going to Costa Rice since 2004 and will return to Hotel Dunn Inn as my choice hotel when staying in San Jose.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelman321, Owner at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Adam , thanks for making the trip. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#30 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunn Inn

Property: Hotel Dunn Inn
Address: Calle 5, Avenida 11, San Jose 11681-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to help you while in San Jose, Costa Rica, if you don't speak Spanish or in case you want to feel more at home. This charming 1929 mansion is known for providing exceptionally friendly service and is a favorite among many locals. From the moment you arrive you will experience firsthand the warmth of Costa Rican hospitality and enjoy the benefits of a full service hotel with excellent value. The New Standard for San Jose Costa Rica Hotels...The 28 guests rooms are attractively decorated with warm, rich woods, original brick, hand-painted native artwork, colorful quilts, and have indigenous BriBri Indian names. All are equipped with quality linens, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, mini bar, direct telephone service, ceiling fan, private bath, clock radio, hairdryer, fresh flowers, local information and a free map of Costa Rica. The hotel has wireless internet in all rooms, two Internet stations, parking, 24-hour security, car rental and tourist information, laundry service, business services, safe deposit boxes, room service, and an onsite barbershop. The hotel offers complementary services of tea and coffee 24 hours a day and a late 1pm check out. You will also enjoy breakfast, lunch and / or dinner in the beautiful tropical restaurant and Tropix bar that is truly an oasis in the city; brimming with bromeliads, ferns, orchids and other tropical plants. The daily happy hour from 4pm - 6pm is sure to provide fun and interesting conversation. New to our long list of services is free in-house medical emergency assistance and reasonable medical insurance. Every effort is made to ensure an enjoyable visit and every one of our long term bilingual staff will gladly assist you in any way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dunn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunn San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing