We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality place to stay in Costa Rica”
Review of Hotel Dunn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dunn Inn
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Dunn Inn is an American owned hotel that maintains the type of standards that you would find in high quality hotels in the U.S.

It maintains the feel of a charming, quaint, Latin hotel, while also maintaining the highest standards of cleanliness, quality food in its restaurants, excellent customer service, and attentive care for its guests.

The Dunn Inn is the ideal place to stay if you need to spend several days in the San Jose, Sabana, Escazu area.

It has a sister, ocean front hotel, The Hotel 9, south of Jaco Beach, in Costa Rica, about an hour away by car, or, using their shuttle.

I have actually stayed in both hotels for many, many nights.

I enjoy and appreciate knowing that I am not going to have to be concerned about the possible fluctuation of the quality of service or standards, as is the case in many hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is everything you expect in a Costa Rica hotel. The atmosphere,the service & the people are great. The food is good & the menu is varied & is a good value. I have stayed there many times & plan to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dweek002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Meh. There was nothing wrong with our stay at the Dunn Inn - the staff was polite and helpful, the amenities in the room worked as expected, the location is fine. But it was the worst value of anywhere we stayed. The priciest place we stayed in, but a tiny room on an inside corridor (so no outside windows, which made me feel isolated and claustrophobic), low-quality sheets, odd bed that was uncomfortable to sit up it (say to watch tv), no atmosphere in the hotel bar. If you're comfortable with the price point, you should be fine. For us it was a splurge in order to be in Barrio Amon and it wasn't worth it.

Room Tip: The lowest price rooms are tiny - like a closest with a bed in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have stayed at the Dunn Inn 4 times on my last two trips to Costa Rica last year (2013). Each time I have stayed there the service has been excellent. I have been both picked up and dropped off at San Jose International Airport by transportation provided by the hotel, and the transportation fee has been reasonable. The rooms are small, but very nicely appointed for the time you spend in them. It is the kind of hotel you don't mind telling your Tico friends that you are staying at, or having them come over for lunch or a beer. The hotel is nicely situated in downtown San Jose, though if you go down the wrong street, you could wind up in a pretty sketchy part of town.

After only two or three stays, the staff know you by name. Everyone that works there is truly friendly, pleasant and makes you feel at home. The complementary breakfast is enough to get you going in the morning, and the array of large screen TVs playing sports in the bar is a nice way to relax at night. I don't know about parking, because I have not rented a car the last six times I went to Costa Rica. Also, the hotel doesn't (as far as I know) have a fitness center or pool, but neither do most hotels in downtown San Jose.

My only "complaint" with the Dunn Inn is that like everything in Costa Rica, the prices keep rising. Room rates are still reasonable, but.....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This trip I spent 3 days at the dentist. The Dunn inn made special meals for me.I could only have soft food. The food was very good. It was a nice touch. They went out of their way to make me comfortable. If you are going to the dentist on your trip this is a good place the dentist office pick you up and drop you off here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Loser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed in Hotel Dunn Inn for two nights and thought it was excellent. Good service, nice restaurant and bar--really friendly staff. The location was great--walking distance to downtown, but a little removed so not noisy. The rooms are really tiny, but we weren't in our room except to sleep (pretty much that is all you can do in your room). There are comfortable common areas to relax in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 961janice613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Reasonably priced, quite, perfect location. You can walk to the Central Market and many other spots. Rooms are clean and service is excellent. Food is pretty good too. Try the Azteca soup. You'll love it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CQ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#56 of 78 in San Jose
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kaps Place
Hotel Kaps Place
#27 of 78 in San Jose
312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 78 in San Jose
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunn Inn

Address: Calle 5, Avenida 11, San Jose 11681-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £41 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to help you while in San Jose, Costa Rica, if you don't speak Spanish or in case you want to feel more at home. This charming 1929 mansion is known for providing exceptionally friendly service and is a favorite among many locals. From the moment you arrive you will experience firsthand the warmth of Costa Rican hospitality and enjoy the benefits of a full service hotel with excellent value. The New Standard for San Jose Costa Rica Hotels...The 28 guests rooms are attractively decorated with warm, rich woods, original brick, hand-painted native artwork, colorful quilts, and have indigenous BriBri Indian names. All are equipped with quality linens, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, mini bar, direct telephone service, ceiling fan, private bath, clock radio, hairdryer, fresh flowers, local information and a free map of Costa Rica. The hotel has wireless internet in all rooms, two Internet stations, parking, 24-hour security, car rental and tourist information, laundry service, business services, safe deposit boxes, room service, and an onsite barbershop. The hotel offers complementary services of tea and coffee 24 hours a day and a late 1pm check out. You will also enjoy breakfast, lunch and / or dinner in the beautiful tropical restaurant and Tropix bar that is truly an oasis in the city; brimming with bromeliads, ferns, orchids and other tropical plants. The daily happy hour from 4pm - 6pm is sure to provide fun and interesting conversation. New to our long list of services is free in-house medical emergency assistance and reasonable medical insurance. Every effort is made to ensure an enjoyable visit and every one of our long term bilingual staff will gladly assist you in any way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dunn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunn San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing