We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome faboluos can not wait to return best vacation ever it started at the hotel Dunn”
Review of Hotel Dunn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dunn Inn
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
2 reviews
“Awesome faboluos can not wait to return best vacation ever it started at the hotel Dunn”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful Costa Rica , my fiancé and i arrived in Costa Rica were shuttle to hotel Dunn and taxi to hotel nine in jaco beach great service outstanding food and lodging making stress free vacation a reality i can not wait to return

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocklobsteravila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    104
    46
    17
    5
See reviews for
23
88
144
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel for two nights and the service was excellent. The hotel is located in a quiet location of Barrio Hamon walking distance to the zoo, museums...At the front desk they were really helpful at scheduling a tour, providing a map with points of interest in San Jose. The hotel and the room were maintained spotless. It is part of the costa rican heritage being built long time ago and has the original columns and imported floors. The staff is very friendly and by the end of the trip I had made friends. I ordered typical costa rican food which was excellent but american/international food is also available.

Room Tip: There are 28 room and each with a name and the history of the name, read the description for the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just spent several days at the Dunn Inn, in the historic district of San Jose and truly enjoyed every minute of it.

The hotel itself has a very interesting history back to the turn of the century. All modifications were done carefully and to the specs of historical society. Nice brickwork and lighting make it a beautiful hotel inside and out.

The most important feature of the hotel is the staff. Very friendly and helpful with any request. They are the best asset of the hotel, which supports the mgmt claims of excellent service.

Great job guys.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Dunn Inn is a great place to stay when you are new to San Jose and Costa Rica. It is a popular, but not too popular, local attraction with great food and service. The service staff is beautiful and helpful and most speak very good english. Recently rermodeled in the past few years it is a classy place in San Jose to sleep, eat or listen to music.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertoB2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Dunn Inn is a great little hotel where everyone speaks English and are more than happy to help you with anything you may need. Its close to the downtown area and in walking distance to the major sites in San Jose. They also have a van that will pick you up at the airport and for departures. The hotel has a great bar and restaurants and sometimes has music on the weekends. It is also close to many medical offices for those traveling to San Jose for medical procedures, all in all it's a great little hotel. I have been going to Costa Rica for at least 15 years and spend most of my time at the Dunn Inn.

Room Tip: Up stares rooms are much guieter than those down stares and room 25 is just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank allan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Easy to get to, a 4000 colon taxi from the bus station (8 dollars US) it's quiet, about 5 blocks from the square, it's own bar, restaurant, and a casino one block away. It's safe enough to walk around at night..but remember it gets pretty wild mere blocks away.
They also have a sister hotel in Jaco..Hotel 9

Room Tip: All the room are about the same..good AC and a safe in your room for your valuables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed here for my third time last April and will return in October. The continental free breakfast is great and one can order eggs etc. for very cheap. The "resident" cab driver will take you anywhere and if you don't mind hills, the promanade is a 5 minute walk. I have been to Costa Rica several times and The Dunn Inn - though not fancy - is a nice, convenient place to stay; and the place is very clean with a bi-lingual staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777Tahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#15 of 78 in San Jose
384 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
889 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 78 in San Jose
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunn Inn

Property: Hotel Dunn Inn
Address: Calle 5, Avenida 11, San Jose 11681-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to help you while in San Jose, Costa Rica, if you don't speak Spanish or in case you want to feel more at home. This charming 1929 mansion is known for providing exceptionally friendly service and is a favorite among many locals. From the moment you arrive you will experience firsthand the warmth of Costa Rican hospitality and enjoy the benefits of a full service hotel with excellent value. The New Standard for San Jose Costa Rica Hotels...The 28 guests rooms are attractively decorated with warm, rich woods, original brick, hand-painted native artwork, colorful quilts, and have indigenous BriBri Indian names. All are equipped with quality linens, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, mini bar, direct telephone service, ceiling fan, private bath, clock radio, hairdryer, fresh flowers, local information and a free map of Costa Rica. The hotel has wireless internet in all rooms, two Internet stations, parking, 24-hour security, car rental and tourist information, laundry service, business services, safe deposit boxes, room service, and an onsite barbershop. The hotel offers complementary services of tea and coffee 24 hours a day and a late 1pm check out. You will also enjoy breakfast, lunch and / or dinner in the beautiful tropical restaurant and Tropix bar that is truly an oasis in the city; brimming with bromeliads, ferns, orchids and other tropical plants. The daily happy hour from 4pm - 6pm is sure to provide fun and interesting conversation. New to our long list of services is free in-house medical emergency assistance and reasonable medical insurance. Every effort is made to ensure an enjoyable visit and every one of our long term bilingual staff will gladly assist you in any way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dunn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunn San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing