We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rating= SUPER!”
Review of Hotel Dunn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dunn Inn
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles, ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rating= SUPER!”
Reviewed 8 January 2009

Rating= Super...

I recently stayed 6 nights at the Hotel Dunn Inn and without a doubt it was one of the best vacation lodging experiences I have ever had. The accommodations were excellent the prices were very affordable but most of all the Staff at this Hotel is Top notch.

I can actually say that I know every staff member at the Hotel Dunn Inn by their first name! That’s about 17 people that made it a point to get to know me and visa versa. From the Front Desk, to the Chef, to the Maintenance man (and everyone in between) thank you for your service, your attention to detail and your friendship.

*Can’t wait to come back again!

This is a Super Rating from Mitch Tatro, Los Angeles, Ca.

  • Liked — Accomadations and Staff
  • Disliked — Not Applicable
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchameye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    103
    45
    16
    5
See reviews for
20
86
143
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2008

We stayed at the Dunn Inn on the last night of our 2 week vacation. We initially booked a room here becuase we could not find any rooms near the airport and the Dunn Inn offered shuttle service to the Airport.

The Dunn is a historic hotel located in downtown San Jose. The hotel has a unique bar and restaurant with great happy hour specials and really good food. The drinks were cheap, the staff was friendly and the rooms were clean.

Although we stayed here on our way out the staff can accomodate your travel and tour packages so this could also be a great place to start your Costa Rican adventure. .

I plan to go back to Costa Rica again next year and will most likely stay at the Dunn Inn again.

  • Liked — Large Clean Rooms and Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Everthing was fine
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzymmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

A pleasant hotel, good bar and restaurant. Rooms are clean with good sized bathrooms, and the staff are helpful. Reception staff very patient with my abysmal spanish, and the bar staff pour very very alcoholic drinks during happy hour! Is a little out of the way of the centre, but since there´s not really much in San Jose anyway, this is a pleasant place to stay for your flight stopover.

  • Liked — The potent drinks served in the bar!
  • Disliked — Very expensive internet, but very handy
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BelladonnaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2008

We stayed here just one night after 9 nights in the rest of Costa Rica. The price was reasonable, the restaurant had decent food, and the front desk staff was friendly. The restaurant waitress wasn't too excitable and she seemed bored and/ or annoyed in general, but oh well. The room was average, a little musty smelling and with older carpet and wood paneling on the walls. the bed was pretty comfortable, but the bedspread was kinda older looking and very ugly!!!! but that doesnt bother me really. If you are looking for an upscale hotel, this isn't it, but we thought it was fine for one night. The hotel arranged our transfer to the hotel in the morning, which was nice. We were able to walk to the Avenida Central and the the central market easily (maybe 11-12 blocks total), but the traffic and drivers are CRI-ZAZY!!!!! be careful or you might get run down! There was a tv, minibar, and safe in the room.

  • Liked — reasonable price, quick 30 min to airport
  • Disliked — older, dated
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehoelzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Simple room. Some pointers rather than my stay reviews. There are rooms that have A/C and some don't (Fans). There wasn't Shampoo in the rooms nore is any in any room. I was there in January so the fan worked fine. The nearest ATM is 6 blocks. Be sure to take a cab from here seemed safe enough but the taxi driver said otherwise. You won't fine any american style roads in this city but fun. City was good to take a tour to the volcano and rain forest. After that figure out how you can get to the beach 2 hours away. Prices seemed like i was in the states at times. The hotel in all would be ok for the twenty something crowd. A b&b at most. Be sure to ask for a/c and none smoking when booking. A/C extra ! If you know where i'm headed with that one.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank compaq38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

On previous trips to Costa Rice we have spend our first night near the airport in Alajuela but since we were not renting a car on this trip and needed to stay in San Jose so we could be picked up by Interbus in the morning. We selected the Dunn Inn based on good reviews along with it's price and location. Check in was fast and friendly. Our room was on the second floor and while small, it was comfortable. The bed and pillows were some of the best I've encountered in Costa Rica. Our room had a small balcony that looked over the street. Previous reviews complained about noise from the street but we thought it was pretty quiet and the only street noise was from the traffic that starts at about 6am. We felt very secure at the hotel as there was always a uniformed security guard at the front door and the room had a safe box that was just large enough to squeeze my laptop inside (15 inch screen). The bar/restaurant was a nice place to hang out and the food was decent. The hotel advertises free wireless Internet but I wasn't able to access it without the security code which the people at the front desk didn't know. There is a room with two computers for guests to use the Internet.

I thought it was a good place to stay and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2007

We stayed at the Dunn Inn for 2 nights for our last vacation to Costa Rica (the first and the last night due to the international flight schedule). It's a good option if you don't want to spend a lot of money in a not so interesting city. The rooms are clean and you are close to a couple of nice restaurants of the area.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sunmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunn Inn

Property: Hotel Dunn Inn
Address: Calle 5, Avenida 11, San Jose 11681-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to help you while in San Jose, Costa Rica, if you don't speak Spanish or in case you want to feel more at home. This charming 1929 mansion is known for providing exceptionally friendly service and is a favorite among many locals. From the moment you arrive you will experience firsthand the warmth of Costa Rican hospitality and enjoy the benefits of a full service hotel with excellent value. The New Standard for San Jose Costa Rica Hotels...The 28 guests rooms are attractively decorated with warm, rich woods, original brick, hand-painted native artwork, colorful quilts, and have indigenous BriBri Indian names. All are equipped with quality linens, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, mini bar, direct telephone service, ceiling fan, private bath, clock radio, hairdryer, fresh flowers, local information and a free map of Costa Rica. The hotel has wireless internet in all rooms, two Internet stations, parking, 24-hour security, car rental and tourist information, laundry service, business services, safe deposit boxes, room service, and an onsite barbershop. The hotel offers complementary services of tea and coffee 24 hours a day and a late 1pm check out. You will also enjoy breakfast, lunch and / or dinner in the beautiful tropical restaurant and Tropix bar that is truly an oasis in the city; brimming with bromeliads, ferns, orchids and other tropical plants. The daily happy hour from 4pm - 6pm is sure to provide fun and interesting conversation. New to our long list of services is free in-house medical emergency assistance and reasonable medical insurance. Every effort is made to ensure an enjoyable visit and every one of our long term bilingual staff will gladly assist you in any way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dunn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunn San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing