We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special - fine for one night”
Review of Hotel Dunn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dunn Inn
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 17 February 2010

I stayed at the Dunn Inn for one night in February. It was OK for one night – cheap enough. It wasn’t very clean – I saw a lot of hair on the floor and in my bed. The bathroom was clean and looked decent.

The hotel seemed to be almost empty. The area is not that great. I wanted to go for a walk at 11pm and 3 people from the hotel told me not to go because of drug dealers in the area. (I am a medium build 36 year old white male).

If you cannot avoid San Jose this is an OK hotel to go to. Keep in mind that their website gives a false representation – the hotel is a lot shaggier than it seems on the web.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzzto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelman321, Management at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2010

I am sorry for any inconvenience that may have incurred. We take a Huge Pride in our cleanliness. I assure you that this is not acceptable. Our unique Boutique Hotel is conveniently located downtown San Jose near the museums, zoo, shopping and night life. As in any downtown city in all of the US or World. We never suggest walking the streets by your self at 11 pm at night anywhere. The days are awesome and very safe to walk the streets, parks and neighborhood without any problems. Again, we apologize and assure you that this is not the norm and only the exception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dunn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Dunn Inn the first nigth of our travels. The room was small but all we needed. It was clean and had nice linens. We sat at the bar for happy hour and enjoyed the music. Ate dinner at bar which was good. Our room was on the front of the hotel and a little noisy but several beers later and ear plugs and we were fine.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank advisegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We read about Dunn Inn in a travel guide and made our reservation online for the night before our early morning flight home, The front desk was helpful and spoke good English, the rooms were quite clean and modern, a bit on the small side but adequate and well designed with all the features we wanted; ceiling fan and ac , a nice wall mounted LCD TV, small safe, small desk and chair, night stand and reading light, we read the refrigerator was well stocked but we received no key to it. I found the WIFI to be unprotected with 1938 kbps download speed and 688 up, comparable to our wifi at home and we were never dropped. The restaurant and bar had a better diet plan than Jenny Craig, we got there at the start of the 3-7pm happy hour, got our beers and waited over an hour for our meal, we were totally ignored. Others arrived later and were served, finally we were told it would be 5 more minutes, but 10 minutes later we left money on the table for the beer and walked down the street to eat, when we returned to the desk to book our cab to the airport we were confronted by the restaurant manager who tried to tell us there were seven orders ahead of us in spite of the fact the place had one guy with his food on the table when we walked in at 3pm and 20 ahead would not have been a good excuse, you might say this left a bad taste in our mouths, especially after they snuck the charge on our bill which was mysteriously $12 more than the quote, this ruined an other wise ok experience

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drillerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKBurton, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2010

I apologize for the slow service you received on Friday. We did have a large number of orders hit the kitchen all at once. Our staff was working as hard as possible to serve everyone. As ot the unexpected extra charge on your hotel bill, I am assuming that it is the hotel tax that we are required to charge by the city of San Jose. We work extremely hard to please all of our customers and have a strong history of doing so. I would like the opportunity to make it up to you. Please fell free to contact me at the hotel to discuss these issues.

Boyd Burton
Director Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We stayed at the Dunn Inn for a few days. We had a clean room, nothing fancy but this well located hotel, with a gret breakfast and supeb coffee more than made up for this. It's an easy walk to downtown where there is great shopping, museums and all kinds of local food to discover. We had a very pleasureable time in San Jose and the staff at the Dunn Inn were helpful in getting us maps and giving directions. We would recommen this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in San Jose a few days in a quiet part of town close to everything.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ormstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I took a few days to visit San Jose for the first time, I will review the excursions as well, but needless to say, all were excellent. As to The Dunn Inn, an early 20th century converted home (2 actually) with several single rooms, private bath, a small bar and breakfast area, as well as being very convenient to the central area of San Jose. From the time I called from the airport (calls are cheap, but get a pre-paid calling card at the airport) I was treated very well, and a room was had for about $60.00US, including taxes. I paid in cash but cards are accepted. I used an orange taxi (govt controlled, but red ones, private are fine as well) for $19.00US got a 20 minute ride to the hotel. Check in was quick, I was given a room on the main floor w/out air con (that's OK as the city is temperate) but I asked for an upstairs room with a window that opened, and they graciously accepted. I was given room #25 on the second floor, no elevator, so mobility could be a problem, but it was clean, with air con, a big private bath and a very comfortable bed. Sleep was no problem, hotel is quiet and other residents (lots of german, american, spanish) were very considerate. Continental breakfast was sliced fresh fruit, toast, and endless fabulous Costa Rican coffee, you could order eggs or oatmeal or whatever, but I wanted to eat out, explore, and learn about the country. I booked 2 tours through Gray Line tours, city walking tour, half day was $39US, and well worth it, lots to see, lunch was included, then I went to the Poas volcano, the Doka coffee plant, and Sarchi artist/furniture town/plant, well worth the $100US, but you could go zip lining, white water rafting, or see shows and the coast (about 3-4 hours away by bus). Met 2 great guides ( I can provide contact info) and had a private walk tour to the central market, well worth the trip, usual trinket stuff, but learned a lot about the people, the food, and a bit of the culture, for $20US it was a super bargain. Didn't have much more time as I was only there for 4 days, but had a great steak at Lukas in El Pueblo, enjoyed a few Imperial beers with the guides and other guests, all in all the Dunn Inn is top marks with me, I will recommend it to anyone. Taxis are very cheap, use them, keep off the streets after dark, not because of major crime, just petty stuff, although I didn't have any trouble. But check out was quick, everyone smiled and asked me to return, and I hope to do just that . I will be glad to answer any questions, just drop me a note.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ExBeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

During the Memorial Day weekend, my regular spots Del Rey and Morazon were booked. Looked up Dunn Inn and the rest is history. Excellent staff and good restaurant and bar. Very good security who ensures the safety of its guests. Calls from front desk upon departure of guests. Stayed at Dun Inn in July 2009 and will stay there from this day forward. Thank you Dunn Inn for two very pleasant stays.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Everfieldce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

i didnt have any of the problems others have mentioned. my plan was to split my stay in SJO between several hotels. my first stop was Dunn Inn and i couldnt find a reason to leave.

i caught a taxi from the airport. it was about $20USD. i showed up without a reservation and was able to get a room ($60) no problem. breakfast was included. each room had a safe. i dont know if it was large enough to fit a laptop. the rooms are not huge but i cant complain. the hotel was converted from an old mansion. (so says the sign in the lobby). the rooms (at least the two i had) are normal bedroom size. If you're looking for large luxury rooms dont stay here. during cleaning time i walked passed a few open rooms downstairs that were pretty big. still wouldnt call them luxury tho.

i'm not an adventurous eater, but to me the hotel restaurant food was good. seems like shrimp or chicken and rice are staples on the menu in many places.

the taxi driver (from the airport) repeated dont walk around at night. i took this as meaning the whole of the downtown area. taxis are inexpensive. have the front desk call a taxi for you. the company will give them the number of the car they're sending. the doorman/security matches that number against the car that shows up. then they ask where you're going. its like if anything happens they want to know who to go after. i felt really safe. the taxi fare to ave central(shops, restaurants, etc) was 830CRC. give the driver a 1K bill and tell em keep the change. just make sure they use the meter. i posted a picture of the outside of the hotel. the red car parked down the street is in front of the clarion hotel. they have a restaurant (i didnt try it) and casino (small and never crowded). across the street from the clarion is a dance club. pretty decent music but i didnt go in.

all the hotel staff were very helpful to me. there's a big tour book at the front desk. i told the lady a few specifics and she made all the arrangments for me. rental car and 3 tours. they have gated parking on the side of the building. the doorman never had a problem with me leaving the rental by the front door. matter fact he told me to leave it there so he could watch it. the bar girls remembered and greeted me by name. i didnt ask before hand and they charged me 5 or $6 to iron a pant of pants. there are two internet computers in a little room down the hall from the lobby.

from price, to service, to security, to room cleanliness and quality i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LR72202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#7 of 77 in San Jose
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#18 of 77 in San Jose
385 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunn Inn

Address: Calle 5, Avenida 11, San Jose 11681-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £36 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to help you while in San Jose, Costa Rica, if you don't speak Spanish or in case you want to feel more at home. This charming 1929 mansion is known for providing exceptionally friendly service and is a favorite among many locals. From the moment you arrive you will experience firsthand the warmth of Costa Rican hospitality and enjoy the benefits of a full service hotel with excellent value. The New Standard for San Jose Costa Rica Hotels...The 28 guests rooms are attractively decorated with warm, rich woods, original brick, hand-painted native artwork, colorful quilts, and have indigenous BriBri Indian names. All are equipped with quality linens, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, mini bar, direct telephone service, ceiling fan, private bath, clock radio, hairdryer, fresh flowers, local information and a free map of Costa Rica. The hotel has wireless internet in all rooms, two Internet stations, parking, 24-hour security, car rental and tourist information, laundry service, business services, safe deposit boxes, room service, and an onsite barbershop. The hotel offers complementary services of tea and coffee 24 hours a day and a late 1pm check out. You will also enjoy breakfast, lunch and / or dinner in the beautiful tropical restaurant and Tropix bar that is truly an oasis in the city; brimming with bromeliads, ferns, orchids and other tropical plants. The daily happy hour from 4pm - 6pm is sure to provide fun and interesting conversation. New to our long list of services is free in-house medical emergency assistance and reasonable medical insurance. Every effort is made to ensure an enjoyable visit and every one of our long term bilingual staff will gladly assist you in any way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dunn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunn San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing