We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Worth it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dunn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dunn Inn
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well Worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

For the price this hotel was perfect. Charming and historical, not another cookie cutter hotel. Clean room, nice staff, pretty restuarant and central location. Took the city bus from the airport (easy and a dollar) then a 2 dollar taxi to the hotel (close to bus station). I had a Great $35 massage that night in my room booked through the front desk. It was professional and fantasric! Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank My6thsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    100
    45
    16
    5
See reviews for
20
84
142
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

This is my second trip to San Jose and both times I stayed at the Dunn Inn for a few nights. My rooms were superb, especially this past year, where I upgraded to the suite. I had 2 TVs! Rooms were very clean and my bed was super comfortable. I liked the food. Front desk was great. We told them we wanted to go on an excursion and they worked on getting us a van and a driver while we ate and had a few choices for us by the time we finished. I def. would say they went above and beyond. Bill was very fair too. I'd recommend. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tucker941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

This place is on a rocket to the moon, the new changes in the rooms, the new planned sports-bar and specially the food. -- This has always been a safe, quaint & quiet, as well inexpensive place for our people to stay over in San Jose on business. But lately the new staff is on a mission to take this place to the next level, and maybe the one beyond that.

The chef is phenomenal making every dish exciting, with flavor that jumps of your plate and palette. There is something on the menu for everyone, and although this place has a fun adult feel to it, I see many families dining in as well.

The rooms are clean, the bilingual staff is friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a cookie-cutter American style chain hotel this is not it, nor is it faulty towers. This place has a pulse that you can feel as the ex-pats and locals all intermingle that I enjoy.

This is not say that the Dunn Inn is without it faults, they are they there like anywhere, but we will say that is part of the color. But if you are looking for a new base of operation in San Jose and enjoy mixing sanity with a little fun make the Dunn Inn your place.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jorgedlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

I traveled to San Jose for business for 3 days in November. The hotel Dunn Inn is a great place. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very clean and spacious. I have travelled a lot in Central/South America and this is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The hotel has free wi-fi and the shuttle service to and from the airport is great. Also, the food and the Tropix bar is fantastic and they have a 2 for 1 happy hour drink special everyday! I would highly recommend staying at the Dunn Inn.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJTravelguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

Recently we stayed at the Hotel Dunn Inn for two separate nights. I would not stay her again. The people who worked there were nice enough but they seemed to have some attitude that they worked at some high class place, and believe me, this place is not that. Also, I think our room was overpriced.

The worst part about it was the noise. We were kept up very late by noise from the bar downstairs. It sounded like some man was having an argument/fight with himself that went on for an hour. No one seemed to try to get him to stop or quiet down. I must have finally fallen asleep, because just before midnight I was woken up by loud noises from the neighbors having sex. It sounded like it was right in our bathroom - the noise carries SOO much in this hotel. Then they stopped abruptly and the woman went out in the hall and had a really loud conversation with another woman and there was lots of loud laughing. Then another door opened down on the other end of the hall and some man's voice joined the loud conversation. This all kept me up for at least 40 minutes or so, because again, no one working there came to stop the noise. Then around 1am I was awoken again because of the loud voices and people slamming doors. I was kept awake again for some time, and was awoken again at 2am due to loud noises and clomping around on the hallway floors and stairs. Then I heard more loud voices, almost yelling, loud laughing and more slamming doors. Even though people are apparently working at the hotel all night, no one seemed to think they should ask these 'guests' (probably really prostitutes) to quiet down.

I overheard a man in the bar talking about how he switched from staying at the hotel Brittania to the Dunn Inn because at the Britannia they wouldn't let him bring his 'girls' back to the hotel, where as at the Dunn Inn that doesn't seem to be an issue. Well, apparently it isn't, as it kept me up almost all night. I guess the guy bringing his 'girls' back to the Dunn Inn must pay a pretty penny to have his partying ways take precedence over the comfort of all the other hotel guests.

The prices at this hotel are high for everything they offer. We also used the shuttle service between the hotel and the airport, and that charge was way too high - just the same as in the states.

Plus, we felt we were getting bites of some kind when in the bed, but we couldn't find any bugs.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveVacations66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Behind paper thin walls with indian names on the doors, In my case the prize behind door #4 also know as uren I was unwittingly entertained by the couple enjoying themselves while engaged in the sex act.

I Papi I Papi, I do beleive she may have won an oscar.

The corn chips and guacamole did excell in the restaurant and the two for one drinks during happy hour, were greedly consumed.

The Wi fi and well stodked mini bar in the room were like a dream about a home away from home, coming true.

The 24 hr. coffee pot, very nice and the coffee is the best, Meow! there is.
It may be hard navigating to the 5th star , however the Dunn Inn is well on its way.

Hark the hearld, I do beleive they are at it again in the room next door Kamuk.

It is not so bad really, perhaps an audial voyers dream hotel. The Sirens song attentive.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Americanworkmule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

The girlfriend and I stayed here in September for 3 nights in San Jose. Nothing but positive things to say…
The airport shuttle picked us up and then took us back at the end of our stay. This hotel was going through some major additions with the construction of a casino and other renovations, but despite the staff’s apologies about the changes we never even noticed. The hotel is unique to other hotel’s as you might’ve read, in that it was a large mansion that had been redecorated as a modern hotel. We stayed in a room that had a balcony the first 2 nights. Then we drove to other parts of the country, and we were happy enough to return for our last night a week later.
Coffee was available all day long. The staff was exceptionally helpful, especially compared to other places in San Jose we had visited. The receptionists helped us mail some postcards when we waited too long to buy stamps. There are 2 PCs with internet that were available all day and night. Other hotels in Costa Rica all made us pay so much per minute for internet use, but not this hotel. We were ,of course, eager to go out at night to eat and dine, but we ended up drinking and eating at the hotel for half or most of the meals because of the better food, price and happy hour specials.
The neighborhood was just fine. It was just a few minutes walk up the hill to the main square and the market streets. The hotel is really close to the zoo also There was a doorman and someone at the reception desk every time we walked by.
The hotel attracted a good mix of Spanish and English speakers. The staff was helpful with the fact that our Spanish was not up to par. They showed us where the sites were and where to go for the holiday (independence day) parade.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jephpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#30 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunn Inn

Property: Hotel Dunn Inn
Address: Calle 5, Avenida 11, San Jose 11681-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to help you while in San Jose, Costa Rica, if you don't speak Spanish or in case you want to feel more at home. This charming 1929 mansion is known for providing exceptionally friendly service and is a favorite among many locals. From the moment you arrive you will experience firsthand the warmth of Costa Rican hospitality and enjoy the benefits of a full service hotel with excellent value. The New Standard for San Jose Costa Rica Hotels...The 28 guests rooms are attractively decorated with warm, rich woods, original brick, hand-painted native artwork, colorful quilts, and have indigenous BriBri Indian names. All are equipped with quality linens, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, mini bar, direct telephone service, ceiling fan, private bath, clock radio, hairdryer, fresh flowers, local information and a free map of Costa Rica. The hotel has wireless internet in all rooms, two Internet stations, parking, 24-hour security, car rental and tourist information, laundry service, business services, safe deposit boxes, room service, and an onsite barbershop. The hotel offers complementary services of tea and coffee 24 hours a day and a late 1pm check out. You will also enjoy breakfast, lunch and / or dinner in the beautiful tropical restaurant and Tropix bar that is truly an oasis in the city; brimming with bromeliads, ferns, orchids and other tropical plants. The daily happy hour from 4pm - 6pm is sure to provide fun and interesting conversation. New to our long list of services is free in-house medical emergency assistance and reasonable medical insurance. Every effort is made to ensure an enjoyable visit and every one of our long term bilingual staff will gladly assist you in any way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dunn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunn San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing