We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful art”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Interesting and beautiful art. Located in a quiet area and it takes about 20 minutes by taxi to the city center. Friendly staff and good breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamiltonSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

It was not what I had expected.
We were on the third floor (walk-up) in very interesting room with very interesting artwork.
There were two TV sets with one set up to only play CDs or VHS tapes.
It is pretty close to the US Embassy and that's why we chose it.
By Costa Rican standards it was overpriced.
HOWEVER, the breakfast was EXCELLENT.
Cooked to order.
The staff was another plus... helpfull and friendly.

Room Tip: Take a look at it first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandL830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We had to stay at Casa Roland when our flight to Puerto Jiminez was cancelled due to bad weather. It is located quite close to the Pavas (Tobias Bolanos) Airport, so it was very convenient place to stay in time for an early morning flight. The staff was nice, the inn was nicely decorated, and it's located in a pretty safe area.

However, we got stuck in Room 1, which is right in the front of the hotel. The bed and room were comfortable, but it was extremely loud. We could hear the music in the lobby blasting all evening, then a bunch of drunken revelers were hanging out in the bar until 1:30 am (on a Sunday night) shouting for drinks and food until my husband called the front desk and complained. I'm not sure whether the rest of the hotel was subject to this level of noise, but I would guess not, since no one else seemed to be bothered. So ask for any room except rooms 1 and 2 and you should be safe.

Complimentary breakfast was fantastic and we got a ride to the airport as well.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annak78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My son and I discovered this wonderful hotel quite by chance. We randomly chose it from a list of hotels on our GPS. What a god send. This is a beautiful, classy hotel and was wonderful break from the crazy traffic and rain we experienced in San Jose. It is a beautiful facility with a nice, helpful bilingual staff. The space is gorgeous. There is a plethora of artwork in this wonderful hotel. It has a bar and restaurant. The rooms are incredible with awesome linens, a refrigerator, DVD, phone, WIFI, etc. Our room was on the second floor. In the morning I got up to read in a lovely sitting area outside of our room while I waited for my son to wake up. They serve a full breakfast cooked to order. They also have properties in Manual Antonio, Golfito, and Nosara. We absolutely loved this hotel and it was only $80 a night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfutterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We arrived here late from the International Airport. We had booked this hotel as it was close to the domestic airport, Tobias Bolanos airport, for our early flight the next day. It had good reviews and did not disappoint. The welcome was friendly and the room good. Breakfast was included and was enjoyable. The hotel booked us a taxi to take us the 5 minutes to the airport the next morning. This hotel was perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somersetgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

On my way to the Osa Peninsula I had a stopover at the Casa Roland in San Jose.....WELL....what a wonderful experience.......after a long day of travelling to be greeted by Alicia (the best hotel worker I have ever met)......and then checked into my wonderfully clean & well appointed guestroom......along the way to guestroom the walls of the hotel are well appointed with various pieces of art & wall hangings.....truly amazing........a very nice lounge in the basement as well as a workout area!!!!! Later that night the lounge staff were wonderful..........the only bad thing was.......I HAD TO DEPART VERY EARLY the next day........and did not get to enjoy a second day of hassle free & friendly service". If you are going to be in San Jose......Casa Roland is the place to stay.....

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller1NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We've just returned from our stay at Hotel Casa Roland. It couldn't have been more pleasant. The breakfast was especially fine - food to order, fruit, and of course coffee. And the people! They really do treat you like family. We needed a birthday cake - no problem. A ride somehwere - of course. Help with a phone call - their pleasure. We stayed five nights, and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 39004Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 78 in San Jose
276 reviews
2.4 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#41 of 78 in San Jose
236 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Kaps Place
Hotel Kaps Place
#27 of 78 in San Jose
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#30 of 78 in San Jose
243 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Roland San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Roland San Jose

Address: At the End Of Rormoser Boulevard | 150 mts south, Pavas, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £52 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Roland San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Roland San Jose is conveniently located near downtown San Jose and Tobias Bolanos Airport, making our hotel perfect for business travelers and vacationers alike. The hotel boasts 27 rooms plus an executive room and two luxury suites. All of our rooms are exquisitely decorated and come with queen-size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, cable TV, telephone and hot water. All guests can enjoy high-speed internet access and a state-of-the-art gym. Additionally, we offer an excellent restaurant specializing in international cuisine and a fully equipped business and conference center. Casa Roland San Jose is a great springboard for enjoying day trips to steaming volcanoes, whitewater rafting, majestic waterfalls, coffee plantations and much more. The capital city's vibrant nightlife and wide range of excellent dining and shopping are at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Roland San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Roland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing