We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kap's Place (hotel) in San Jose, Costa Rica”
Review of Hotel Kaps Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kaps Place
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2011

My girlfriend and I, against my uncle's advise, had planned on staying at a place across the street, that was more well known, and had a good reputation, but we hadn't made a reservation (I know, I should have listened). Of course they were full, it was evening, and we didn't know what to do. They mentioned Kap's Place, across the street, and we decided to give it a try. Wow! It was so friendly, clean, homey, not noisy, beautiful tilework they did themselves, and so many nice personal touches. I would highly recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whaty0usee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

I want to recommend Kaps Place as an ideal location for adventurous travelers seeking a genuine feel for the real and enticing Costa Rica.

Its industrial-appearing frontage belies a warm and inviting interior and a friendly, welcoming, and helpful English-speaking staff. It seems exceedingly receptive to the educated -- students, teachers, researchers, and those seeking quiet surroundings. A fine self-serve breakfast is included. And to-and-from airport service is available.

In short, its ideal central location, its warm, comfortable atmosphere, its sound security, and its variety of economical rooms make it attractive to both adventurous and experienced travelers. I recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack_in_VirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Kap's Place three different times while traveling through Central America- since San Jose is the travel hub for the country, we relied on Kap's Place every time. It's a perfect combination between a B & B and a hostel. The shared kitchen is exceptionally clean, and the free breakfast is actually a real breakfast (instead of the gross "make-your-own-pancakes" that passes as free breakfast in most hostels)! The rooms were super comfy, and the shared bathrooms were spotless.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful, and all the amenities - free internet and free international calls- really added value to our stay. It was not the cheapest place we stayed during our travels, but for Costa Rican prices it really felt like a great deal. I would recommend Kap's Place to anyone staying in San Jose!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlntr09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Difficult place to review. Does some things well, for example it's clean, has free wifi and they reliably arranged an airport pickup. But, it's all a bit earnest. Everywhere you look there are rules posted on wall, lying on tables, left on bedspreads. When you check in you are actually given a full page of rules to read. Also breakfast was poor, just along the road was a wonderful baker and yet the breakfast bread was awful sliced bread, some sort of industrial jam and orange margarine. So, for a reasonably cheap and clean place for one night this did the job. For anything longer I would recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanAndrewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

An excellent place to stay. Shared kitchen, and sitting space a help yourself style breakfast is included. Nice colorful decor and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidCharabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

I stay here every time I pass through San Jose. Great location with good restaurants in easy walking distance. Safe area. The staff is excellent and alway friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeHann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We had such a wonderful experience at Kaps place. Not only was the owner Karla and her husband Jorge incredibly helpful so was the staff. They helped us figure out where to go. We have little kids 3 and 5 and they loved it there! They were free to run around the place with out us worrying. The accommodations are comfortable and clean and we would definitely go back again. They helped us get too and from the airport and when we were lost in San Jose, Jorge got us back to the hotel!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carafeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.7 mi away
Apartotel  La Perla
Apartotel La Perla
#46 of 78 in San Jose
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#18 of 78 in San Jose
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 78 in San Jose
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 78 in San Jose
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 78 in San Jose
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#56 of 78 in San Jose
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaps Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaps Place

Address: #1142 Street 19 | Between Avenues 11 & 13 Barrio Aranjuez, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £31 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kaps Place 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Costa Rican family will host and meet your needs providing accommodation, travel agency & personalized services (Spanish lessons, Post Surgery Care & meals). A clean, safe, colorful & comfortable setting w/kitchens, 1st class beds, safety boxes, cable TV, hot water. Complimentary: breakfast buffet, tea, coffee, WiFi, internet access, luggage storage & VOIP calls to more than 60 countries. Walk to: downtown, Gold, Jade & National Museums, National Theater, Plaza de la Cultura, Bolivar Zoo & Central Market. No sexual tourism. We also offer: Free Special Breakfast Buffet Free maps and tourist information Free fresh linens Free luggage storage Free Wifi internet and PC's with internet unlimited Free Parking Free table games (pool , pingpong & fussball) Kitchen facilities Free DVD movies/hometheater Book Exchange Hot showers Reception 24/7 And more…. In addition (optional & for extra fee) Laundry Service Airport Shuttle – Private service 24/7 Free International & local phone calls Tours Booking Car rental Bottled water, juice, beer and sodas for sale Discounted tours Spanish, dance, yoga & cooking lessons Massage &beauty in-house service Medical & post surgery recovery assistance Extra info Just 12 minutes walking distance from San Jose downtown Supermarkets, bars, restaurants, hospital, clinics, around the hotel Breakfast & taxes are included in the rate Front desk 24/7 Check in: 2:00 PM (if the room you booked is clean and available when you get here, you can check in) Check-Out: 12:00 MD (you can leave your bags in our luggage Room and pick it up later on) We offer anything you need during your stay. Kaps Place is Your home away from home "Su Casa en San Jose" PURA VIDA!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kaps Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kap`s Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place San Jose
Kaps Place Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing