We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place in San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaps Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaps Place
Ranked #2 of 67 San Jose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hatley, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly place in San Jose”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Nice staff, clean room, nice neighborhood 15 minutes from downtown, with good restaurants at walking distances. Rooms tend to be a little noisy, because of the thin walls and inside windows, but quiet hours (8 pm to 8 am) are respected.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    86
    19
    14
    9
See reviews for
37
84
74
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Located on a quiet street in Barrio Aranjuez, about a 12 minute walk to the central business district. Hot water and clean rooms with TV. Safe to walk around at night. Karla and Luis are very helpful with maps directions, etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We booked a night in Kaps Place for our last night in Costa Rica based on the great reviews it had in the Lonely Planet guide (their 'pick'). Clearly 'guesthouse' means something different to them than it means to us. This place is a hostel, not a hotel or B&B. As a hostel I'd say it was ok but not great, as a hotel it's dreadful and completely failed to meet our expectations. Noisy, dreadful beads and bedding, not so clean towels. If this place is 'homey' I feel sorry for whoever lives in a home like that. It was so bad in fact that we had to move to another hotel even though the owners refused to give us our money back because we had booked online before we left the UK. The friendly receptionist didn't seem surprised by our reaction either, apparently a similar thing had happened quite recently. We were unable to argue that the place was mis-advertising itself (it says it's a B&B) and that as such we really deserved a refund. It's also down as mid-range in the guide book but the only thing that is mid-range is the price and that just means it's very expensive for what it is. We had the most amazing holiday in Costa Rica but this place did put a downer on our final night and left us $50 out of pocket. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bolly-Gnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KapsOwner, Owner at Kaps Place, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guests: We apologize our property did not meet your expectations. We, however, are extremely surprised by your comment as you can see most 2s or 3s are due to infrastructure concerning high security and tedious paperwork not to the quality of rooms, bathrooms, service, cleanliness.

If in Costa Rica we invite you to stay here free of charge so I could meet you personally and get a report regarding what is unsatisfactory to you.

We have had guests coming from Marriott, Intercontinental, etc. who have said things such as "this place is so clean I could eat off the floor".

We do our best effort with cleanliness and service and the bed in the room you were in was purchased less than 2 months ago - I can show you receipts.

I am also concerned at what you mention of the attending receptionist who is still in training but with the head receptionist just a call or steps away. The policy he referred to when saying our guidelines state clearly when booking and in the registration form all fees are non refundable-- it is not because you booked online from UK you did not received your money. It is because we have a 48 hour cancellation policy. Cancellation policies are common at all hotels. You were offered several rooms and chose MH2 -- one many guests reviewing here chose too. It is away from reception and noise. You did not have neighbors. I would like to know what made you unconfortable and unable to sleep: karlapuravida@gmail.com

Also, this is not something that happens regularly -- as I said -- posts with low rating on here are basically from people who find us so strict with regards to what we demand of paperwork so we make sure we keep a clean and pleasant pool of guests.

We offer free: tea and coffe all day, free WiFi through the entire compound, 3 PC's with internet, 24 hour reception assistance, 24 hour travel agency services, luggage storage, calls to more than 60 countries and courtesy breakfast.

Our prices have remained the same for 14 plus years of operation. I am not sure if you know the price market in SJO but we are very competitve and have guests who stay 6 months - 1 year at our hotel who own amazing houses.

We are sorry we could not satisfy you and hope you were happy where you went.

Warm regards,
Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

If you are like me and enjoy staying in a place that is unique... that definitely does not exist elsewhere in the world, well.. this is the place in San Jose! The staff is friendly, the rooms are comfortable and the decor adorable! We were three girlfriends travelling together, so it was wonderful to have a room with three beds. The breakfast was simple but alright. We used the kitchen a few times to make meals, and I have to say it was very clean and organized compared to other hostels! The staff were so very helpful in giving us travel advice. We managed to visit many local restaurants, shopping areas, and entertainment thanks to them.

While this is not the hotel's fault, taxi's can sometimes be a bit of a headache in San Jose. Make sure they put the meter on!!! Also, we had arranged a shuttle through the hostel from the airport... at the airport there were two drivers with my name on signs!!!! So make sure to ask them questions before getting into their vehicle! I asked the first one where he was taking us and he could not answer...

Anyhow, I highly recommend Kap's place if you are spending a few days in San Jose and would like to visit this very interesting city :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street... Sometimes it can get noisy from the hotel in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pourlamourduvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2011

My girlfriend and I, against my uncle's advise, had planned on staying at a place across the street, that was more well known, and had a good reputation, but we hadn't made a reservation (I know, I should have listened). Of course they were full, it was evening, and we didn't know what to do. They mentioned Kap's Place, across the street, and we decided to give it a try. Wow! It was so friendly, clean, homey, not noisy, beautiful tilework they did themselves, and so many nice personal touches. I would highly recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whaty0usee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I want to recommend Kaps Place as an ideal location for adventurous travelers seeking a genuine feel for the real and enticing Costa Rica.

Its industrial-appearing frontage belies a warm and inviting interior and a friendly, welcoming, and helpful English-speaking staff. It seems exceedingly receptive to the educated -- students, teachers, researchers, and those seeking quiet surroundings. A fine self-serve breakfast is included. And to-and-from airport service is available.

In short, its ideal central location, its warm, comfortable atmosphere, its sound security, and its variety of economical rooms make it attractive to both adventurous and experienced travelers. I recommend a visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_in_VirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Kap's Place three different times while traveling through Central America- since San Jose is the travel hub for the country, we relied on Kap's Place every time. It's a perfect combination between a B & B and a hostel. The shared kitchen is exceptionally clean, and the free breakfast is actually a real breakfast (instead of the gross "make-your-own-pancakes" that passes as free breakfast in most hostels)! The rooms were super comfy, and the shared bathrooms were spotless.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful, and all the amenities - free internet and free international calls- really added value to our stay. It was not the cheapest place we stayed during our travels, but for Costa Rican prices it really felt like a great deal. I would recommend Kap's Place to anyone staying in San Jose!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlntr09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
922 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
845 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 85 in San Jose
960 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaps Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaps Place

Property: Kaps Place
Address: 1142, Street 19 | Between Avenues 11 & 13 Barrio Aranjuez, San Jose 2000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kaps Place 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Costa Rican family will host and meet your needs providing accommodation, travel agency & personalized services (Spanish lessons, Post Surgery Care & meals). A clean, safe, colorful & comfortable setting w/kitchens, 1st class beds, safety boxes, cable TV, hot water. Complimentary: breakfast buffet, tea, coffee, WiFi, internet access, luggage storage & VOIP calls to more than 60 countries. Walk to: downtown, Gold, Jade & National Museums, National Theater, Plaza de la Cultura, Bolivar Zoo & Central Market. No sexual tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Kaps Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kap`s Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place San Jose
Kaps Place Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing