We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kaps Place
Nearby Hotels
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure Inn(San Jose)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
183
89
22
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
89
22
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet hourscosta ricacommon areasa great stayfresh fruithot showerpura vidathree nightspolloenjoyed my stayfew blockskarolinaannexmosaicshammocksneighborhoodoasis
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Clean rooms, friendly staff, nice atmosphere in a quiet and secure surrounding. The airport pick up worked very well. Cold beer and other beverages are available and have to be paid directly to the staff. Free internet service and international phone calls. Shops and restaurants are in walking distance, the center of the city is about 15 minutes by foot.

We appreciated Kaps Place 1 night after arrival and 2 nights before departure in Costa Rica.

The booking policy is a little complicated. We booked 2 months in advance, communicated our credit card details, but had to confirm again 2 days before arrival and to pay in cash directly on arrival. Unfortunately we had no internet in the pacific rainforest, so we could not confirm again the 2 nights before departure. We had told this to them and they said, don´t worry, you get the same rooms when you come back. But when we arrived they had no reservation for us. Fortunately they were not fully booked and found still 5 beds for us.

We found some confusion about breakfast. When we booked we got a lot of information how to behave etc. In regard of the breakfast the following: "Breakfast is free/complimentary and served only from 7 a.m. to
9 a.m. – rates do not vary should you choose to leave early or not eat breakfast.!" When we asked for breakfast they were a little embarrassed and told us we should prepare it in the shared kitchen. Friendly as they are they gave us some coffee powder and indicated that there are shops close by. We found a good bakery and fresh fruit shop. When we arrived the second time we behaved the same way and when we returned from shopping we found a very good breakfast prepared for the guest.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I have been there for 2 months and it's been a wonderful experience, it's like being home. The owners and the staff in Kaps are kind and friendly, the place is very clean and is located in a very quiet and secure neighborhood. As one of the reviewers said, Kaps it´s a unique place to stay...!

I will definetly recommend it, hope you enjoy as much as i did!

Thanks to all the staff members for all your kindness

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Nice staff, clean room, nice neighborhood 15 minutes from downtown, with good restaurants at walking distances. Rooms tend to be a little noisy, because of the thin walls and inside windows, but quiet hours (8 pm to 8 am) are respected.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Located on a quiet street in Barrio Aranjuez, about a 12 minute walk to the central business district. Hot water and clean rooms with TV. Safe to walk around at night. Karla and Luis are very helpful with maps directions, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We booked a night in Kaps Place for our last night in Costa Rica based on the great reviews it had in the Lonely Planet guide (their 'pick'). Clearly 'guesthouse' means something different to them than it means to us. This place is a hostel, not a hotel or B&B. As a hostel I'd say it was ok but not great, as a hotel it's dreadful and completely failed to meet our expectations. Noisy, dreadful beads and bedding, not so clean towels. If this place is 'homey' I feel sorry for whoever lives in a home like that. It was so bad in fact that we had to move to another hotel even though the owners refused to give us our money back because we had booked online before we left the UK. The friendly receptionist didn't seem surprised by our reaction either, apparently a similar thing had happened quite recently. We were unable to argue that the place was mis-advertising itself (it says it's a B&B) and that as such we really deserved a refund. It's also down as mid-range in the guide book but the only thing that is mid-range is the price and that just means it's very expensive for what it is. We had the most amazing holiday in Costa Rica but this place did put a downer on our final night and left us $50 out of pocket. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bolly-Gnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KapsOwner, Owner at Hotel Kaps Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Guests: We apologize our property did not meet your expectations. We, however, are extremely surprised by your comment as you can see most 2s or 3s are due to infrastructure concerning high security and tedious paperwork not to the quality of rooms, bathrooms, service, cleanliness.

If in Costa Rica we invite you to stay here free of charge so I could meet you personally and get a report regarding what is unsatisfactory to you.

We have had guests coming from Marriott, Intercontinental, etc. who have said things such as "this place is so clean I could eat off the floor".

We do our best effort with cleanliness and service and the bed in the room you were in was purchased less than 2 months ago - I can show you receipts.

I am also concerned at what you mention of the attending receptionist who is still in training but with the head receptionist just a call or steps away. The policy he referred to when saying our guidelines state clearly when booking and in the registration form all fees are non refundable-- it is not because you booked online from UK you did not received your money. It is because we have a 48 hour cancellation policy. Cancellation policies are common at all hotels. You were offered several rooms and chose MH2 -- one many guests reviewing here chose too. It is away from reception and noise. You did not have neighbors. I would like to know what made you unconfortable and unable to sleep: karlapuravida@gmail.com

Also, this is not something that happens regularly -- as I said -- posts with low rating on here are basically from people who find us so strict with regards to what we demand of paperwork so we make sure we keep a clean and pleasant pool of guests.

We offer free: tea and coffe all day, free WiFi through the entire compound, 3 PC's with internet, 24 hour reception assistance, 24 hour travel agency services, luggage storage, calls to more than 60 countries and courtesy breakfast.

Our prices have remained the same for 14 plus years of operation. I am not sure if you know the price market in SJO but we are very competitve and have guests who stay 6 months - 1 year at our hotel who own amazing houses.

We are sorry we could not satisfy you and hope you were happy where you went.

Warm regards,
Karla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews