We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kaps Place
Nearby Hotels
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure Inn(San Jose)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
183
89
22
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
89
22
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet hourscosta ricacommon areasa great stayfresh fruithot showerpura vidathree nightspolloenjoyed my stayfew blockskarolinaannexmosaicshammocksneighborhoodoasis
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Our family has been staying at Kaps Place for a couple weeks. It is in an excellent location...super close to downtown San Jose (we walked there last week) and very close to UCR, lots of US fast food chains, the San Pedro Mall (great shopping) and the language school where my husband is enrolled.

The staff is very friendly and ready to help with any requests. Our children are safe exploring the property with CCTV monitoring common areas and very secure double entry. There's plenty to keep them occupied: free WiFi, ping pong tables, games, a climbing wall and enclosed garden area.

We were initially hesitant about staying in a "hostel" as a family, but this is NOT a place where young partiers come to crash after a night on the town. It IS a clean, safe and generally quiet (some traffic noise can be heard, but this is a city) place to spend a comfortable night (or more) near San Jose without exorbitant rates. It's also just a couple blocks away from an organic farmer's market (Saturday mornings only), for those who like organic products. But also a short taxi drive ($3 or less) to Walmart or the Saturday farmer's market in Guadalupe that isn't organic, but is much cheaper. :o)

Room Tip: The apartment is nice because it has it's own kitchen and washer & dryer.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I have stayed at Kaps four (4) times in the past. The atmosphere has always been great with a friendly helpful staff. Kaps was originally recommended to me by a local San Jose dentist. Kaps is in a safe San Jose location near a local University & Hospital. I have walked all over San Jose from Kaps & other than an occasional panhandler, (you can expect this in any large city, US or other), I personally, have never experienced any crime type problems. I'm a bit older that the average Kaps guest; I enjoy talking with the guest who are from locations from all over the world. If you're looking for a luxurious $300 / night hotel room Kaps probably wouldn't be for you; But if you're looking for a clean room at a reasonable rate you probably would be happy with Kaps. (Check their website)

Room Tip: There is less traffic in the Annex but all are OK
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryHondoK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Clean rooms, friendly staff, nice atmosphere in a quiet and secure surrounding. The airport pick up worked very well. Cold beer and other beverages are available and have to be paid directly to the staff. Free internet service and international phone calls. Shops and restaurants are in walking distance, the center of the city is about 15 minutes by foot.

We appreciated Kaps Place 1 night after arrival and 2 nights before departure in Costa Rica.

The booking policy is a little complicated. We booked 2 months in advance, communicated our credit card details, but had to confirm again 2 days before arrival and to pay in cash directly on arrival. Unfortunately we had no internet in the pacific rainforest, so we could not confirm again the 2 nights before departure. We had told this to them and they said, don´t worry, you get the same rooms when you come back. But when we arrived they had no reservation for us. Fortunately they were not fully booked and found still 5 beds for us.

We found some confusion about breakfast. When we booked we got a lot of information how to behave etc. In regard of the breakfast the following: "Breakfast is free/complimentary and served only from 7 a.m. to
9 a.m. – rates do not vary should you choose to leave early or not eat breakfast.!" When we asked for breakfast they were a little embarrassed and told us we should prepare it in the shared kitchen. Friendly as they are they gave us some coffee powder and indicated that there are shops close by. We found a good bakery and fresh fruit shop. When we arrived the second time we behaved the same way and when we returned from shopping we found a very good breakfast prepared for the guest.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I have been there for 2 months and it's been a wonderful experience, it's like being home. The owners and the staff in Kaps are kind and friendly, the place is very clean and is located in a very quiet and secure neighborhood. As one of the reviewers said, Kaps it´s a unique place to stay...!

I will definetly recommend it, hope you enjoy as much as i did!

Thanks to all the staff members for all your kindness

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Nice staff, clean room, nice neighborhood 15 minutes from downtown, with good restaurants at walking distances. Rooms tend to be a little noisy, because of the thin walls and inside windows, but quiet hours (8 pm to 8 am) are respected.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews