We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private room for 70... more like 30.”
Review of Kaps Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaps Place
Ranked #1 of 64 San Jose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Private room for 70... more like 30.”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Not impressed. With so many options in San Jose, stay somewhere else.

Pet peeves...
Internet curfew @ 10 for public computers, who does that.
Horrible beds
Not the best neighborhood
Looks like my 16 year old sister painted the hostel
Bedding is from 1970s

Positives
Very quite.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taken the time to write us your review. It is very sad to read and also that you are the only customer that is not satisfied with our services, high speed internet and Wifi connections. Also, our rates are very right if you compares with the other guesthouse we offer a lot of facilities that they wont, so $70 for a room for 3 persons with 2 double beds and private bathroom with breakfast buffet and taxes included is GOOD ENOUGH, but cheap-people like you wants everything for free.
However, upon check out informed us that you enjoyed your stay. It is always highly recommended to inform reception at whichever place you are staying what your inconveniences are, so it could be resolved promptly instead of receiving critics like yours. Also, while during your check in process you did not agree with some of our policies, it would have been better that you had chosen a hotel instead of a guesthouse with hotel amenities.

PURA VIDA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    86
    19
    14
    9
See reviews for
38
86
74
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed our first night in Costa Rica there. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Place was very clean, decorated nicely and a nice place to relax. Free breakfast was also very good. Only thing we did not like was being in San Jose. Couldn't wait to get out of the city and head to the Caribbean coast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for taken the time to write us your commentary.
We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Kaps Place offers an home away from yours with a safe, secure and family oriented ambiance with personalized customer service, which is our main goal. We are located in a very safe, quiet and peaceful neighborhood, just 10 minutes walking from San José downtown, the next time you visit us, we will show you some nice and interesting places that are located near of us. We are just in the way of many nice spots.
We hope that we may serve you again soon on your next visit to San José.
PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It was definitely the place to stay in San Jose: clean, relaxing, friendly atmosphere and very (VERY) helpful staff.
I didn’t have much time to plan my weekend in Costa Rica (following very busy 10 days- business trip, which ended in Costa Rica). Karolina (owner) was very helpful with booking the two 1-day tours I went on over that weekend. In particular, there was one tour where the booking agency was trying to charge a higher price and Karolina stepped in and managed to get the price that was originally agreed on (lower price). I did experience the personalized customer service they mention in the website.
Another thing I really liked was that they have details that make you feel very well taken care of, as an example: The breakfast is included in the price. I stayed 3 nights, but unfortunately I could only have breakfast one day (the second day the tour started at 6.20am and the thirds day I was leaving Costa Rica, taxi picking me up at 4.45am). Karolina provided me with a “packed breakfast” for the journey (included fruit, biscuits and juice). Not many hotels that have the breakfast included in their price (if any!) allow for this small but memorable gesture.
Also, the mattress was very comfortable,... Great sleep for 3 nights :-)
Overall, it was a great stay. I am definitely visiting them again next time I am in Costa Rica.
Thanks team!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuria_02013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Nuria,

Thank you for taken the time to write us your commentary.
We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Kaps Place offers an home away from yours with a safe, secure and family oriented ambiance with personalized customer service, which is our main goal.
We offer an wide variety of tours to the most popular places at reasonable prices specially for our guests that would make it an enjoyable and relaxed vacation.

We hope that we may serve you again soon on your next visit to San José.

PURA VIDA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed at Kaps Place for the month of August, paying the monthly rate, and was very happy with my decision. The ambiance is lovely…bright colors, mosaics, a fountain, zen garden, tranquil music, etc. There is occasionally incense in the lobby. Kap’s Place has a very relaxed, calm atmosphere. If you’re looking for somewhere quiet to relax from your Costa Rican adventures or the craziness of San Jose, this is the perfect place. If you’re looking for a lively place to party and meet lots of other travelers, this hotel is probably too quiet for you. There are many families staying with young children. Personally, I felt very comfortable here as a young woman living alone abroad. Every staff member was friendly and welcoming, greeting me by name every time I came through the lobby. All very knowledgeable about nearby restaurants, stores, ATMs, etc. Karolina, the owner, is a sweet, outgoing person who is always willing to give recommendations or just chat. She is very genuine in her interest in you and your comfort. I really enjoyed the daily buffet breakfast and ate there almost every morning. (It’s an additional fee and served 7-9 am.) For typical Costa Rican food, they have gallo pinto, plantains, and fresh papaya and pineapple, along with other breakfast staples- toast, cereal, coffee, tea, etc. Guests usually take their food out to eat in their outdoor courtyard, a pretty space with butterflies and hummingbirds.

All of the rooms (I’ve stayed in 3) have a hand soap dispenser, bar soap, blow dryer, safe deposit box, fan, phone, and TV…lots of amenities for the daily price. There is also coffee and tea all day in the lobby. If you stay by the month, housekeeping will change your sheets, comforter, and towel once a week. I stayed in the Annex building, which is around the corner from the main hotel and has its own locked entrance. It’s a private “house” with six rooms and its own kitchen and living area, giving you more privacy and independence. These are the rooms usually given to the monthly/long-term guests. I stayed in Annex room 6, a small 1-person room, with a BEAUTIFUL and unique tile mosaic bathroom.

The hotel’s location is a bit removed from the center of the city, but most notable sites (the Teatro Nacional, Mercado Central, etc) are still within walking distance. In the opposite direction, you can walk to the Mall San Pedro. There’s an organic farmer’s market right around the corner from the hotel every Saturday morning. It has kind of a hippy feel with live music plus food and coffee. On the way to or from the city center, the artisan market on Avenida Central between Calles 11 and 15 is a good place to stop for souvenirs.

When my original plans in Costa Rica fell through, Karolina was very supportive and helped me arrange day trips and other activities to fill my time. I took three tours booked through the hotel, all of which were hassle-free and well-run by the tour company (http://www.costaricaguides.com/). All tours pick you up right at the hotel’s front door. I took some fantastic Spanish classes at the Costa Rican Language Academy and was easily able to walk to the school from Kap’s Place. I had no problems with Kap’s Place’s airport taxi service. I had to take a taxi at 3:45 am for my flight out at the end of my stay, and Karolina personally called my room that morning to let me know when it arrived. I had a wonderful month in Costa Rica would gladly return to Kap’s Place next time I visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberleyJn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Kimberley,

Thank you for taken the time to write us your commentary.

We are extremely pleased to read that you had a great long-term stay with us. Our safe, secure and family ambiance so well described what the Kaps Place logo stands for ¨Your home in San José¨. Our personalized customer service always as our main priority.
Kaps Place offers an home to short and long-term guests with a location within walking distance from the most popular places to make your stay that much more comfortable and enjoyable. Our rooms equipped for your basic needs with hotel amenities that are hard to find in an ¨guesthouse¨ environment.
We look forward to serving you again during your stay in Costa Rica and thank you once again for your positive feedback.

PURA VIDA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

It looks like a nice place but some people that work there are so rude, I think if you work with people you should make sure your staff has good people skills, Costa Rica is well known for there pura vida people, apparently this place has a lack of Pura vida... If your are looking for a place where you can hang out with friends I would remomend you a different one. There are other great places around San Jose! Places where you can meet great people and have a great time!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny19900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

Kaps Place stands for a safe, secure and family guesthouse. Our main goal is our guest satisfaction and that's why we offer a quality personalized guest service to all our guests.

I am disappointed to hear about your perception about our staff, but we have policies and rules to follow to protect us and our guests. This means that we are not allowing drugs and prostitution, if you like to be in that kind of environment then definitely Kaps Place is not the place for you.

Thanks again and greetings from your FRIENDLY PURA VIDA KAPS PLACE STAFF!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Kaps Place is a peaceful, warm, and welcoming hostel. I stayed one night on my way from San Francisco to Corcovado Natl Park, and it was exactly the restorative pit stop that I needed. I explored loud and bustling San Jose during the day (20 min walk to downtown), to return to a quiet, clean, yet vibrantly decorated room. The staff helped me find a specialty computer store in San Jose (!), arranged a shuttle to/from the airport, and pointed me in the direction of the restaurant a block away with killer fried chicken (that quintessential Costa Rican dish).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Matthew,

Thank you for taken the time to write us your commentary. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Kaps Place offers an home away from yours with a safe, secure and family oriented ambiance with personalized customer service, which is our main goal. We hope that we may serve you again soon on your next visit to San José.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hello everybody, well I want you to know that I'm a local and i'd been staying in KAPS because
my work is away from home and near Kaps, now I have one month and a half staying here and I had experience something really outstanding, the people who work here are like a family trying to embrace you, meeting you, knowing what you like, how you like it, treating you as you like, bringing a really familiar ambient in the hotel, in a way that i can say is my new home, i feel really comfortable and for now I dont want to leave, great price for the services, excellent breakfast buffet, really but really beautifull people, Karolina, J, Dotty, Ms. Reina.
I highly recomend it, I'm telling you this is your house in San Jose. They even celebrated my Birth day as a surprise, hahaha, was the best.

Regards. Esteban Izurieta C.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esteban I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Esteban,

Thank you for taken the time to write us your commentary. We are very happy to read that you are enjoying our services and that Kaps Place makes your long-term stay comfortable. Kaps Place offers an home to short and long-term stays with personalized customer service in a safe, secure and family ambiance. We hope that we may continue to be your home for many more months to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 76 in San Jose
987 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
873 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 76 in San Jose
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaps Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaps Place

Property: Kaps Place
Address: #1142 Street 19 | Between Avenues 11 & 13 Barrio Aranjuez, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kaps Place 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Costa Rican family will host and meet your needs providing accommodation, travel agency & personalized services (Spanish lessons, Post Surgery Care & meals). A clean, safe, colorful & comfortable setting w/kitchens, 1st class beds, safety boxes, cable TV, hot water. Complimentary: breakfast buffet, tea, coffee, WiFi, internet access, luggage storage & VOIP calls to more than 60 countries. Walk to: downtown, Gold, Jade & National Museums, National Theater, Plaza de la Cultura, Bolivar Zoo & Central Market. No sexual tourism. We also offer: Free Special Breakfast Buffet Free maps and tourist information Free fresh linens Free luggage storage Free Wifi internet and PC's with internet unlimited Free Parking Free table games (pool , pingpong & fussball) Kitchen facilities Free DVD movies/hometheater Book Exchange Hot showers Reception 24/7 And more…. In addition (optional & for extra fee) Laundry Service Airport Shuttle – Private service 24/7 Free International & local phone calls Tours Booking Car rental Bottled water, juice, beer and sodas for sale Discounted tours Spanish, dance, yoga & cooking lessons Massage &beauty in-house service Medical & post surgery recovery assistance Extra info Just 12 minutes walking distance from San Jose downtown Supermarkets, bars, restaurants, hospital, clinics, around the hotel Breakfast & taxes are included in the rate Front desk 24/7 Check in: 2:00 PM (if the room you booked is clean and available when you get here, you can check in) Check-Out: 12:00 MD (you can leave your bags in our luggage Room and pick it up later on) We offer anything you need during your stay. Kaps Place is Your home away from home "Su Casa en San Jose" PURA VIDA!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Kaps Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kap`s Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place San Jose
Kaps Place Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing