We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont let the exterior fool you... inside is a treasure”
Review of Hotel Kaps Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kaps Place
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Kaps on our last night in Costa Rica. Our intended hotel was booked, we arrived very late, and Kaps had a vacancy at a great rate.
I cannot say enough regarding the hospitality. Our flight was early... so the owner packed us a nice little meal to go. Unfortunately... we were unable to eat breakfast there.
The atmosphere of the place is great with plenty of sitting and common area spaces inside the hotel.
This hotel wasnt the highlight hotels of our trip... but fairly close. I just wish we had a chance to spend more time there. It will make a great chill spot between adventures in San Jose.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Arick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolinabv, Director General at Hotel Kaps Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Customer: For us it is a pleasure to know that you felt welcomed and well attended by our staff. We love your words “Dont let the exterior fool you... inside is a treasure” thank you very much for taking the time to make the review. We hope to have you as our guest in the very near future and be part of you new adventure in Costa Rica.
PURA VIDA!!! Muchas gracias!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Kap's Place is a lovely, clean, friendly hostel which is great value for money. We stayed several times during our month in Costa Rica and would highly recommend it. Our 2 year old son became ill during our first stay and staff at Kap's Place went out of their way to help us find the best medical care for him in San Jose. They were also really accommodating when we needed to extend our stay while he was in hospital, as well as being extremely helpful with local advice, recommendations etc. They also let us store some luggage there while we explored the rest of Costa Rica. The hostel itself is great, with lovely garden and communal areas and gorgeous breakfast included in the price! Great choice for your stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachDomLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolinabv, Director General at Hotel Kaps Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear customer: It is so pleasant to know that we meet your lodging expectations.
Thank for enjoying our efforts for providing the best welcoming feeling through our customer service, common areas and our special breakfast buffet.
We look forward to have you and your family as our guests in the near future.
Muchas gracias por escogernos durante su estadía en San José!!! Pura Vida!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a great experience it was to stay at Kap's place! It was very cosy and inviting. There are many meetup places between the rooms and we met many new friends. The place is a short walk from city center. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was great. There is also a well equipped kitchen. We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeBlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina B, Director General at Hotel Kaps Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear guest: For all of us is very satisfactory knowing that all the services provided by Hotel Kaps Place were much appreciated by you. Thank you for “highly” recommending us. We will work with enthusiasm for merit your kind words. Pura Vida! Muchas gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed at Kaps Place on two separate occasions in November of 2013. It is a quaint, clean hospitable hostel that meets almost all of a travelers needs on a budget - especially those looking for a quiet, tranquil setting. There is a kitchen available to make your own food and this helps budget minded travelers save money. The staff is friendly and very helpful in getting info to you about San Jose or other parts of the country.

However, while they advertise hot water, some of the rooms have a suicide shower and the water there is tepid at best. Also, expect to pay $20 US for a load of laundry. I understand that water, soap and machines cost different amounts in different countries, but this seemed down right punitive. Also, if you are a late arrival or plan to leave early getting out of the place at night is difficult. It requires waking a staff member via a bell. Hopefully in the future, they'll devise a way to let folks leave at their discretion and not have to wake anyone up.

All said and done, this is a reasonably priced hostel with helpful, courteous staff that could stand to make a few changed that would take them from a "good" place to a "great" place.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra if you can to get a room that has a dedicated hot water heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dylan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina B, Director General at Hotel Kaps Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Customer: We appreciate your kind words about our services. The feedback from our customers is essential to know if the efforts we make every day to improve are in the right path. I don't know if your experience is really about us, because we offer reception 24/7, an ext # 24/7, and the bell is part of the security of the hotel and for all our guests which means that not everybody can get in without approval. Laundry service is $20 and we give you a big bag where you can put your clothes for a week and we make the complete service. We hope you visit us again very soon. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Although we did not like the fluorescent lighting, the room was cheerful and clean. They served a great breakfast in a beautiful garden. Staff was very warm and helpful. We especially enjoyed playing ping-pong after breakfast at their ping-pong table.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanadshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina B, General Manager at Hotel Kaps Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Guest: Thank you very much for your commentary, we're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Kaps Place. We're always trying to be better for our clients and when we read a positive review, we feel that we're heading the correct way. The lighting has been changed into LED ones to save energy. Once again, thank you very much and we hope to see you again!
Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Looking for an eco hotel in San Jose, I touched down and headed for Hotel Aranjuez - but it was full and the security guard sent me across the road to Kaps Place. I'm soooo glad he did :~) I've stopped through San Jose a few times during my month long journey in Costa Rica, and have always loved the vibe that this amazing little gem offers. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and nicely decorated. The whole place ran efficiently and smoothly. There was always someone ready to help. I saw lots of locals as well as internationals at the place - a sign that this was a very well run local business that had a large fan base internationally as well as nationally.

Karoline and her team are doing something very special at Kaps place. They are looking after people, and doing so at a rate that is excellent value. Want to watch a great DVD while stuck in San Jose - they have an awesome DVD library and a nice living room. Want to cook? Two communal kitchens! Play games? They have a game room! Forgot your laptop - they have three computers you can use for free! Got questions or wanna find the nearest park? Their team will help with a smile.

Can't recommend this spot enough. Easily the best hostel / hotel I have visited!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evo_rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina B, General Manager at Hotel Kaps Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Customer: It is a pleasure to know that you have had a memorable stay at Kaps Place as is our commitment. We all are working strongly for improving our services in order to provide our guests the most welcoming stay. We hope to have you as our guest in the very near future. Thank you very much for your commentary. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in KAP's place in december and found the place very clean and well kept . The staff , including the manager made a lot of effort trying to locate our luggage that did not come with us on our flight . Very nice atmosphere , great breakfast and referring to mr Yobbb who talks about a pool and noisy people at night . There place has no pool and guests have to be quiet from 22.00 on . And I have seen staff enforcing that rule . I think Mr Yobbb stayed somewhere else , Costa Rica Backpackers perhaps ? I would certainly come back next time .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tremendozapato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina B, General Manager at Hotel Kaps Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Kaps Place.
For us it is a pleasure to read that you have greatly appreciated the atmosphere, location and the amenities offered by us. We are very proud to have meet your needs to your satisfaction. We are striving for continuous improvement of our product to receive more positive comments like yours.
We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Costa Rica!
Warm regards from San José, your Kaps family!!!
PURA VIDA!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#57 of 78 in San Jose
523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#46 of 78 in San Jose
114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 78 in San Jose
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#39 of 78 in San Jose
169 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaps Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaps Place

Address: #1142 Street 19 | Between Avenues 11 & 13 Barrio Aranjuez, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £31 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kaps Place 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Costa Rican family will host and meet your needs providing accommodation, travel agency & personalized services (Spanish lessons, Post Surgery Care & meals). A clean, safe, colorful & comfortable setting w/kitchens, 1st class beds, safety boxes, cable TV, hot water. Complimentary: breakfast buffet, tea, coffee, WiFi, internet access, luggage storage & VOIP calls to more than 60 countries. Walk to: downtown, Gold, Jade & National Museums, National Theater, Plaza de la Cultura, Bolivar Zoo & Central Market. No sexual tourism. We also offer: Free Special Breakfast Buffet Free maps and tourist information Free fresh linens Free luggage storage Free Wifi internet and PC's with internet unlimited Free Parking Free table games (pool , pingpong & fussball) Kitchen facilities Free DVD movies/hometheater Book Exchange Hot showers Reception 24/7 And more…. In addition (optional & for extra fee) Laundry Service Airport Shuttle – Private service 24/7 Free International & local phone calls Tours Booking Car rental Bottled water, juice, beer and sodas for sale Discounted tours Spanish, dance, yoga & cooking lessons Massage &beauty in-house service Medical & post surgery recovery assistance Extra info Just 12 minutes walking distance from San Jose downtown Supermarkets, bars, restaurants, hospital, clinics, around the hotel Breakfast & taxes are included in the rate Front desk 24/7 Check in: 2:00 PM (if the room you booked is clean and available when you get here, you can check in) Check-Out: 12:00 MD (you can leave your bags in our luggage Room and pick it up later on) We offer anything you need during your stay. Kaps Place is Your home away from home "Su Casa en San Jose" PURA VIDA!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Kaps Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kap`s Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place San Jose
Kaps Place Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing