We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartotel La Sabana
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed here for one night and were very pleased with our room, the staff, the location and the interior court yard. We recieved a warm welcome when we arrived (well before check-in time) and found the room clean, quiet and comfortable. The small interior court yard was a quiet oasis where our 8-year old son enjoyed swimming and watching the birds. The staff were responsive and very professional .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. Our kitchen staff puts a lot of love into the cookies we prepare for our welcome check-in and afternoon snacks, I am so glad you enjoyed them! It is great you were able to relax at the pool, we know that tour itineraries can me tiresome! Hopefully we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four different segments on our recent trip to Costa Rica. Rooms, though older and basic were very clean. Nice pool and garden area. Our room balcony which was over looking the pool was a warm and relaxing place to lounge around. Very nice breakfast included. Most noteworthy was the staff, from the doorman to the cleaning people and desk personel. All were extreemly friendly, honest and helpful. Hotel is well located with good resturanats within a short walk or five dollar taxi ride. Only possible negative is that the street it is on gets a little noisy early in the morning if you have a street side room. Not a big problem for us tho. beds were so comfortable we just slept right on thru it all. Altho we can afford a more expensive hotel we will return to this one because of the ambience and friendly atmosphere and fantastic staff. CW Houghton

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwhoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Mr. Houghton, I am so glad you liked the beds! We changed all of our matresses this year and had them custom made for us, they have an extra thick layer of pillow top! Thank you for your kind words, they really keep us motivated and on the right track. We are so glad we could be a part of an excellent trip to Costa Rica.

We have been working in updating the rooms. By early next year all rooms will have flat screen TV´s and granite top desks. Thank you for your opinions, they help us be better each day.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My wife and I stayed there nearly ten years ago and just recently this past February. We enjoy the service, the people are very friendly and go out of their ways to make your stay most enjoyable. They are nicely located. Breakfast is excellent. All in all Sofi and her staff do an excellent job and are very people oriented. Looking forward to our next stay. Tus amigos de Nueva Jersey. Ramon y Gemma Pescevich

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyRaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Ramon and Gemma, it was so nice to see you after all these years! It was a lovely surprise for me and for our older staff members. We are so glad we could help make your trip such a success. Please do not let 10 years go by again before coming to say hello! Thank you for your lovely review and hope to see you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Aparthotel La Sabana, Costa Rica. Another find recommended by Trip Advisor's reviewers. Am I glad I took your advice!!! Thank you. Reasonably priced, ideally situated 1/2 block from the huge La Sabana Park, which is a lovely, treed park...jogging trails, picnic tables, lovely flowers and plants.The hotel is a superb choice. Quiet, exceptionally clean...tremendous cooked-to-order breakfasts...cereals , mounds of fresh tropical fruits and juices...even porridge!!!!!!!
The staff is terrific. This is a wise choice to make, travellers,

Room Tip: There is a pool and lounge chairs. La Sabana Park is on a main thoroughfare...for bus/taxis. I staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you so much for you kind words! We are so glad your stay went smoothly. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Ok value for money rooms, in an ok location, and a good breakfast. The night reception staff service attitude was appalling though, and because of that we will never return.

On our planned second stay, the hotel had changed our phone-booking to one day shorter without informing us first, and because of that we would have been forced to change the hotel in midst of our stay in San Jose. We did not want to be jumping between hotels on our short stay and were forced to find a new accommodation in the middle of the night (we had just returned from coastal area, and were very tired from a long drive). The reception staff was most unhelpful in supporting in finding an alternative accommodation, and worst of it all seemed to be amused and making fun of our bad situation (some of us did understand spanish, even though we used english). Apparently they can afford to treat their customers badly.

The most rude service I have ever experienced at a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ville L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Sabana for eleven nights in January while receiving dental work at a nearby clinic. We found the majority of the reviews accurately reflected our experience...
homey atmosphere, immaculate housekeeping excellent service and great breakfast. We stayed in the studio apartment on ground floor. The kitchenette was adequate but could have used some updating. It seemed the potential for noisy neighbours was there due to the thin walls, but we did not experience that during our stay. It helps that the hotel does not attract partying or rowdy guests. We were surprised at their attention to security which we discovered can be a concern in San Jose. Reception monitors everyone that enters and leaves the hotel. Despite this concern we felt safe in the area around the hotel even after dark which occurs at 5:30pm on the dot year round in Costa Rica.
In response to the previous review, I did not once see a staff member usuing the guest computer. Also we paid by credit card and were billed accurately. The Free Wifi reception was excellent and consistent...fast becoming a 'must have' for us on our travels. It was lovely to be able to walk to the park for peace and quiet. I recommend dropping by the art museum by the park..ideal place to watch birds. Downtown is a short bus ride, the bus stop being just a short walk from the hotel. Many day trips leave from San Jose and you can take an organized tour, or venture out on your own by cab or public transport.
Costa rica is a lovely country and we will definitely be going back to La Sabana.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boomer-Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience in Costa Rica and at Apartotel La Sabana. It fills our heart with joy to hear that our team has done a good job and that everything ran smoothly with your stay.

We are in the process of renewing our kitchenettes at the moment. Two units are ready and set to go and we plan that during 2012 many more will be re-done. We are constantley remodeling and improving our facilities. Thank you for your comment and hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

this place is a total rip off. It completely misrepresents itself. The Staff is rude the rooms are very small the food is awful and they have only one computer which the staff is always using while the guests wait. If you are Canadian or American BEWARE of GIVING THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD. They will add nights and rip you off any way they can...........If you bring or try to bring a guest to your room the afternoon shift and the evening shift especially a guy named YONDER will try to get an extra 20 dollars to put in his pocket. My best advise on this hotel and I have been in hotels all over the world is just chose another one.

Room Tip: just stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Our website and written information is very clear on our No Visitor Policy. Even though we are very sorry we could not receive your visitor, it is the only way we can guarantee a safe and tranquil environment for our guests. This is of outmost importance to us. We appreciate your understanding in this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,525 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
975 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.5 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel La Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel La Sabana

Address: Sabana Norte | From Rostipollos Restaurant 150 Meters North, San Jose 658-1200, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £70 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartotel La Sabana 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartotel La Sabana is the perfect mix between an apartment and a hotel.Our fully serviced apartments are the ideal lodging with the comfort of home yet with all the benefits of a hotel, such as room service, front desk services, private parking, laundry, safe deposit box, breakfast and more.We have very competitive rates, specially for long-stay trips either for a single corporate business traveler, for family groups or groups of friends.Enjoy all the privacy that you need with great independence in a friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Apartotel La Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel La Sabana Hotel San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing