We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Deal That Can't Be Beat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartotel La Sabana
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 March 2014

La Sabana is quite a value for the pricetag. We stayed at the hotel for our first and last nights in Costa Rica and couldn't have been more pleased. We wanted to stay in San Jose to check out the city rather than staying near the airport - be sure that you utilize the complimentary airport shuttle! The excellent service starts before you're even inside and the staff are very helpful. The rooms are cozy, clean and overall very well-appointed for the price and standards of Costa Rica. Both nights were very quiet - the hotel is located far enough away from the main street to ensure tranquility. The pool area is another added bonus - full of colorful mosaic tile and a fountain. Breakfast was the best we had in Costa Rica with fresh food and a good variety. I would highly recommend using La Sabana as your 'gateway hotel' to Costa Rica!

David & Kelsey

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KRaffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

David and Kelsey, thank you so much for your review! We are so glad everything went smoothly during your visit. We are so proud of our staff, they are kind and loving people, and this shows in their work. We are also so lucky to have a great location: both accessible and private. We hope to see you again, and have the priviledge of serving you. Thank you and have a great day! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

As far as I'm concerned this is the only place to stay in San Jose. I've just returned from another lovely time there. The staff is fantastic and incredibly helpful. Yes, San Jose is not the world's most beautiful city but Apartotel la Sabana is an oasis. Gracias por todo!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank notfromhereEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you so much, that is such a great review! We do like to think of ourselves as an oasis of tranquility and relaxation in the middle of your trip, wether you are working or visiting. We hope that the next time we have the pleasure of serving you, our city will be lovelier. The Sabana Park area has recently been really blooming into a residential, commertial and dinning center of San José. Also, the city has been increasing it´s cultural and artistic offer, which makes it very interesting! Our weekly schedule posted by our front desk lets our guests know what is happening in the cultural scene in San José during their stay, so that we can all enjoy what the city has to offer. Thank you for your kind words, we hope you have a great day! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Comfortable, clean, very tidy. The breakfast was very good and the staff was friendly. The complimentary shuttle service ran as expected. We didn't get a chance to take a dip in the pool but it looked very inviting.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraC-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your review! We are so glad everything worked well during your stay! Hopefully, the next time we have the pleasure of serving you, you will get a chance to have a dip in our pool! It will be waiting for you! Thank you so much and have a great day. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a very pleasant stay here. The rooms are clean and neat. The staff is very friendly! We really enjoyed their buffet style breakfast. They will make you eggs whichever way you prefer them. Omelettes, sunny side up, etc. The front desk staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vero A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are so glad everything went well during your stay. We have the greatest team ever assembled for a hotel! Everyone, from the lovely ladies that serve you breakfast to our front desk personnel, are 100% committed to making your stay a memorable one. We remind ourselves every day how lucky we are! Hope to serve you again very soon. Thank you so much and have a great day. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is the forth time we have stayed at this hotel over the last two years. We can afford more expensive hotels but find this modestly priced hotel to be friendly, safe, clean, and well staffed with people who never move on to other jobs. We especially like sitting on the balcony overlooking the pool in the afternoons and early evening to enjoy a glass of wine and eat a few snacks that we buy at the very nearby grocery store. There is a really good Italian restuarant about five minutes walk from here and a probable five star restuarant well hidden in an antique shop across the street that has no sign and is booked by word of mouth only. See Tripadvisor restaurants for the name and reservation number. There are other good restaurants a short cab drive from here as well. A large park and soccer stadium is a short five minute walk as well.
This is a great little place to stay if you are not looking for Ritz Carlton type amenities.

Room Tip: We like the small apartments on the second floor facing the street. a little traffic noise early in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwhoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your great review! We are so glad you have decided to come back time and time again. It makes us feel very proud and excited about the work we do. We are definitely the luckiest hotel in Costa Rica, we have a wonderful group of people, who do everything with care and love. Although we respect large hotel chains, we are completely focused on personalized service, spotless clean rooms and a very unique decor. We hope that the experience we provide is not only comfortable but a memorable and remarkable one! Hope to be able to serve you again very soon. Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Recent 3 night stay very well satisfied from beginning to end. Front desk personnel extremely helpful even to point of helping us exchange some out of date colones we had from previous Costa Rica trips. The hotel is clean, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast with eggs cooked to order was excellent, and the 24 hour FRESH HOT coffee was very much appreciated. The transfer van arrived exactly @ 5:10am as scheduled. We have traveled to Costa Rica @ least 12 times in the past 8 years, we obviously recommend La Sabana. For the money this is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for such a great review! We are so glad we were able to make your trip pleasant and comfortable. We are so lucky to have a great team of people dedicated to service; from the ladies that serve breakfast and make sure the coffee is always fresh and steamy, to our front desk personnel trying their best to make your stay a memorable experience! Our motto is: do everything with love and care. We hope to be able to serve you again very soon in the future. Thank you so much and have a great day. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Overall, the service and price more than make up for the simple decor. Highly recommend.

The hotel staff is very friendly and attentive. The concierge exchanged currency, called taxis, gave recommendations, coordinated our airport shuttle, spoke English-the works.

As far as location, it is within walking distance of several fast food places, an ATM, as well as a park. A cab ride across town was $4,000 colones (approx $8 USD).

The room itself is very clean and has a minimalist "modern" look. The WiFi is fast, and the tv is equipped with satellite service. The bed is comfortable. There are water coolers available in the hall. The hotel has a beautiful, centrally located pool that was enjoyed by other guests throughout the day.

As far as breakfast I'm unable to comment as the airport shuttle was at 5am, but the room in which it is served was very clean and looked really nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackHeart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you very much for your great review!! We are so glad everything went well during your stay and that we were able to fulfill your expectations! Our definition of luxurious is: simple and cozy with a pinch of artistic!! We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and service, and hope to be able to serve you again in the future!! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,506 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
973 reviews
4.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.5 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel La Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel La Sabana

Address: Sabana Norte | From Rostipollos Restaurant 150 Meters North, San Jose 658-1200, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £68 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartotel La Sabana 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartotel La Sabana is the perfect mix between an apartment and a hotel.Our fully serviced apartments are the ideal lodging with the comfort of home yet with all the benefits of a hotel, such as room service, front desk services, private parking, laundry, safe deposit box, breakfast and more.We have very competitive rates, specially for long-stay trips either for a single corporate business traveler, for family groups or groups of friends.Enjoy all the privacy that you need with great independence in a friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Apartotel La Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel La Sabana Hotel San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing