We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartotel La Sabana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartotel La Sabana
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
160 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Good value for the money, a very quaint and colorful place with its festive tile/mosaic work throughout. Comfortable large room with a small lanai and kitchenette. Nice pool! Extra points for a book exchange a very friendly staff. Quite a few restaurants within walking distance. Above average breakfast with great coffee.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at La Sabana! We are so glad everything went well during your visit!! We do try to pamper and cater to our guests, so everything you find, is what we ourselves would like to have when we travel: space to relax, beutiful artwork to appreciate, great local meals to enjoy and learn about the culture, a friendly smile and an open heart. And of course, we have to live up to Costa Rica´s name: must have the best coffee!! We hope you give us the privilege of serving you again on your next trip to Costa Rica. Thanks again and have a great day. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    258
    34
    14
    7
See reviews for
219
298
89
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My latest trip to Costa Rica included was with my spouse and was for some significant dental treatment. We wanted a hotel where we could relax between dental appointments. We chose LaSabana based on a friend’s recommendation and we could not have made a better choice.

We chose the small apartment which includes a separate small kitchen with a stove, microwave, coffee maker, and refrigerator. This provided more than adequate facilities for preparing small meals. We took our complimentary breakfasts in the restaurant. Excellent juice, fruit, and 4 daily hot dishes which included pancakes, empanadas, plantains, and gallo pinto amongst others. Additionally, the two lovely women who ran the kitchen made incredible omelets for us.
Additionally, when the front desk staff realized we were getting dental work, they arranged dinners of home-made soup, yoghurt, and smoothies, delivered nightly to our room. This was also complimentary and was most appreciated by us both.

The staff was always so friendly, and so eager to address any of our needs. They are incredible. Special thanks to Alberto and the chap who was usually on the desk during the evenings. Front desk staff also speak excellent English.

Our bedroom was nicely furnished with modern furniture, a comfortable bed, and large flat screen TV. The entire apartment was kept spotless by the cleaning staff.

The pool area was kept clean with lots of towels on hand. It was great for lazing on those days when we otherwise felt too uncomfortable to take in the sites.
The room rate, taking complimentary breakfast into consideration, and the discount provided for Prisma Dental clients, was just pennies above what I have paid per person for much less comfortable accommodation in San Jose in the past.
The location is a bit of walk from downtown but very close to the major dental and medical clinics. Sabana Park is just a few yards away if you want a nice stroll.

If you want a moderately priced, extremely secure, clean, and hospitable hotel, you cannot go wrong. They also have a toll-free number from Canada and USA, which makes booking rooms very easy.

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper, take a room in the rear building, Calle 48 has some noisy traffic in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diverdan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for such a great review!! We are so glad everything went well during your stay and that we helped make your dental treatment a little sweeter. We know that these treatments can be very intense, both physically and emotionally; and try our best to help make them as comfortable as they can possibly get!! Thank you for complimenting our facilities, services and staff. We are trully grateful we had the opportunity of serving you and hope to be able to do so again in the near future. Have a great day! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was truly excellent. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in Apr 2014 and it had a really nice home-like feel. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. There was a good sized swimming pool, excellent breakfast, complimentary tea and coffee and in our studio, a well stocked kitchenette. Sofia, the owner, helped to make our stay really memorable. Thank you to everyone at Apartotel La Sabana. We would have no hesitation in booking to stay in this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Ana and Graham, it was such a pleasure to have you with us! We are so glad everything went well during your stay, and that we had the priviledge of serving you. We wish you happy journeys and hope to se you again very very soon. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I had a great relaxing time in this hotel. The staff was really helpful.
They managed to give you the best experience you can have.
I stayed here for 4 nights. Excelent breakfast options.

You don´t need a franchise hotel, This hotel is perfect for you to relax with your family.

Room Tip: Room on the back side are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseluisvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you so much for such a great review!! Your kind words make our faces and hearts smile!! We are so glad we could serve you well, and hope you will give us the priviledge of doing so again in your next trip to San Jose. Thank you and have a great day. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My family and I stayed at the Apartotel La Sabana for 9 days (7 + 2).
I should mention that, because of my job, I have been in many hotels all over Latin America and I can say that the attention we received here was the best! The people are very friendly and serviceable, the breakfast was fabulous.
(Air conditioning needs to be upgraded).
Thank you all!!!!

Edgar Rivera

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your review!! We are so glad you enjoyed our service, the staff at La Sabana are our pride and joy!! They are a truly remarkable group of people, who do everthing with care and love. During the transition between dry and wet season, it does get pretty hot and humid in San José. We will look into improving the insulation and airconditioning in the rooms, thank you so much for the feedback! We hope to have the priviledge of serving you again in the future and hope you have a wonderful day. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This Hotel goes out of there way to treat guests. There staff is friendly. The room is very nice and there bed is comfortable. I am very picky when it comes to this because I have a bad back. I liked the pool area that was very clean. They had a nice breakfast. I will return,thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad everything went well during your stay and that you will be visiting us again!! It will be a pleasure to serve you again. Our staff will be so happy to hear your kind words! Thank you and have a great day. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

pros-great breakfast,helpful staff, cute boutique hotel right next to a park (there was a huge free concert the night we went. It was a great way to spend the evening after a long flight), not a bad deal for the price.
cons-we asked for a queen bed and got 2 twin beds.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegA107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad your trip coincided with the International Arts Festival, held in La Sabana Park this past few weeks. We are very priviledged to be so close to the park, it is a great place to relax, exercise and participate in cultural venues! Sorry about the mix up in your reservation, please accept our appologies. We shall discuss what happened and try to avoid this situation in the future, your comments help us improve! Hope to have the priviledge of serving you again in the future. Have a great day and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
4.2 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel La Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel La Sabana

Property: Apartotel La Sabana
Address: Sabana Norte | From Rostipollos Restaurant 150 Meters North, San Jose 658-1200, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartotel La Sabana 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartotel La Sabana is the perfect mix between an apartment and a hotel.Our fully serviced apartments are the ideal lodging with the comfort of home yet with all the benefits of a hotel, such as room service, front desk services, private parking, laundry, safe deposit box, breakfast and more.We have very competitive rates, specially for long-stay trips either for a single corporate business traveler, for family groups or groups of friends.Enjoy all the privacy that you need with great independence in a friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Apartotel La Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel La Sabana Hotel San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing