We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartotel La Sabana
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My family spent our first night here during our trip to Costa Rica. We LOVED it! The staff was so welcoming and friendly. The grounds are beautiful. The breakfast is delicious! We had rented a car and they had a gated parking area on the side of the building. The value was very good. This place is so charming! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCgirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We try to put a lot of thought and heart into every detail in the hotel and it makes us so very happy to know you noticed! We hope to have the priviledge of serving you again in the future, and hope you have a great day! Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

A charming little hotel nestled just outside the center of San Jose. Clean and friendly with a great breakfast which is included. Free Wi-fi is a huge plus. The pool is refreshing and beautifully maintained. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your review!! We are so glad you will choose to stay with us again next time you visit! We feel very proud and privileged every time our guests choose us to be their home in San José. We will work continuously to earn this honor and hope to see you again very soon! Thank you and have a great day! Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at this wonderful little hotel for one night as I was traveling back to Canada. Room was very clean and convenient to get to. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is a free transfer from and to the airport that you can schedule before arrival, the driver was really nice and the vehicle was clean and spacious. The pool is one of the coldest I've ever been in, which was so refreshing after being out and about in the heat.

Room Tip: Rooms poolside can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your review!! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Your words are as refreshing to our hearts as the dip you had in our pool after a hot day!! Hope we have the opportunity of refreshing your senses again very soon! Thank you and have a great day. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Good value for the money, a very quaint and colorful place with its festive tile/mosaic work throughout. Comfortable large room with a small lanai and kitchenette. Nice pool! Extra points for a book exchange a very friendly staff. Quite a few restaurants within walking distance. Above average breakfast with great coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at La Sabana! We are so glad everything went well during your visit!! We do try to pamper and cater to our guests, so everything you find, is what we ourselves would like to have when we travel: space to relax, beutiful artwork to appreciate, great local meals to enjoy and learn about the culture, a friendly smile and an open heart. And of course, we have to live up to Costa Rica´s name: must have the best coffee!! We hope you give us the privilege of serving you again on your next trip to Costa Rica. Thanks again and have a great day. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My latest trip to Costa Rica included was with my spouse and was for some significant dental treatment. We wanted a hotel where we could relax between dental appointments. We chose LaSabana based on a friend’s recommendation and we could not have made a better choice.

We chose the small apartment which includes a separate small kitchen with a stove, microwave, coffee maker, and refrigerator. This provided more than adequate facilities for preparing small meals. We took our complimentary breakfasts in the restaurant. Excellent juice, fruit, and 4 daily hot dishes which included pancakes, empanadas, plantains, and gallo pinto amongst others. Additionally, the two lovely women who ran the kitchen made incredible omelets for us.
Additionally, when the front desk staff realized we were getting dental work, they arranged dinners of home-made soup, yoghurt, and smoothies, delivered nightly to our room. This was also complimentary and was most appreciated by us both.

The staff was always so friendly, and so eager to address any of our needs. They are incredible. Special thanks to Alberto and the chap who was usually on the desk during the evenings. Front desk staff also speak excellent English.

Our bedroom was nicely furnished with modern furniture, a comfortable bed, and large flat screen TV. The entire apartment was kept spotless by the cleaning staff.

The pool area was kept clean with lots of towels on hand. It was great for lazing on those days when we otherwise felt too uncomfortable to take in the sites.
The room rate, taking complimentary breakfast into consideration, and the discount provided for Prisma Dental clients, was just pennies above what I have paid per person for much less comfortable accommodation in San Jose in the past.
The location is a bit of walk from downtown but very close to the major dental and medical clinics. Sabana Park is just a few yards away if you want a nice stroll.

If you want a moderately priced, extremely secure, clean, and hospitable hotel, you cannot go wrong. They also have a toll-free number from Canada and USA, which makes booking rooms very easy.

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper, take a room in the rear building, Calle 48 has some noisy traffic in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diverdan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for such a great review!! We are so glad everything went well during your stay and that we helped make your dental treatment a little sweeter. We know that these treatments can be very intense, both physically and emotionally; and try our best to help make them as comfortable as they can possibly get!! Thank you for complimenting our facilities, services and staff. We are trully grateful we had the opportunity of serving you and hope to be able to do so again in the near future. Have a great day! Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel was truly excellent. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in Apr 2014 and it had a really nice home-like feel. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. There was a good sized swimming pool, excellent breakfast, complimentary tea and coffee and in our studio, a well stocked kitchenette. Sofia, the owner, helped to make our stay really memorable. Thank you to everyone at Apartotel La Sabana. We would have no hesitation in booking to stay in this hotel again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Ana and Graham, it was such a pleasure to have you with us! We are so glad everything went well during your stay, and that we had the priviledge of serving you. We wish you happy journeys and hope to se you again very very soon. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I had a great relaxing time in this hotel. The staff was really helpful.
They managed to give you the best experience you can have.
I stayed here for 4 nights. Excelent breakfast options.

You don´t need a franchise hotel, This hotel is perfect for you to relax with your family.

Room Tip: Room on the back side are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joseluisvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you so much for such a great review!! Your kind words make our faces and hearts smile!! We are so glad we could serve you well, and hope you will give us the priviledge of doing so again in your next trip to San Jose. Thank you and have a great day. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,486 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.5 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel La Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel La Sabana

Address: Sabana Norte | From Rostipollos Restaurant 150 Meters North, San Jose 658-1200, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £68 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartotel La Sabana 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartotel La Sabana is the perfect mix between an apartment and a hotel.Our fully serviced apartments are the ideal lodging with the comfort of home yet with all the benefits of a hotel, such as room service, front desk services, private parking, laundry, safe deposit box, breakfast and more.We have very competitive rates, specially for long-stay trips either for a single corporate business traveler, for family groups or groups of friends.Enjoy all the privacy that you need with great independence in a friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apartotel La Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel La Sabana Hotel San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing