We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, quaint hotel close by shops”
Review of Hotel Milvia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Milvia
Ranked #12 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2009

I'm of Costa Rican background but decided to stay in hotels this visit. I went to Hotel Milvia and felt right at home. The house is very authentically Tico, down to the floorboards. My boyfriend and I fell in love with the views on the small balcony on the second floor and the tiny courtyard on the first floor. Don Carlos was so incredibly helpful and patient with the 2000 questions that we had. Breakfast could be improved a bit but no real complaints. The hotel is close by the ULatina and walking distance to Plaza del Sol and all public transportation.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xinbermz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Milvia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Milvia before going to the Selva Banadito Ecolodge in the Parque de la Amistad. Located in the heart of a university neighborhood, Hotel Milvia is a lovely B&B with very friendly, helpful and accomodating owner and staff.

Our 3 kids (6,4,2 years old) who needed to run around and explore loved the room, the aquariums, the gardens, the breakfast room. We had to leave at 5:30am and they had breakfast ready for us! Our luggage did not make it from Atlanta, and they dealt with the airline, they had dinner delivered for us, and they also took care of organizing our aiport transfers. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SylvieLegere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

What a pleasant surprise! We had no idea where we were going to stay for 2 nights in San Jose while we booked tours. I had my Frommers book and after calling a few places with no room availability....I called Milvia and reserved. I LOVED Milvia...what an adorable B&B. So clean, artsy, safe, quiet, spacious, organized, well maintained, nice view, tastefully decorated....1 negative COMMENT- the worst pillows ever. I was shocked as to how great EVERYTHING was...the bed, comforters...everything so clean and then you lay your head down and it is so uncomfortable it can ruin your sleep. GET NEW PILLOWS MILVIA PLEASE! Other than that......I would live in this place! The staff is so nice and accommodating. We left so early we missed breakfast.....grabbed some pineapple to go which I was so glad we did. 2 thumbs up Milvia...we will definitely visit again and recommend your place!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank acalero728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22254543, owner at Hotel Milvia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2009

Dear Guests: We are happy to inform you that we have new pillows. There are about 5 to choose your favourite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

I stayed for 1 nite, the day before my flight at 6AM the next morning. I drove in from La Fortuna. When I called to book, they said they were 20 mins from the airport. Not exactly. It took me 1 hr to get there from the airport and 30 mins to get back to the airport w/o traffic. The hotel is very charming and has gated parking. The staff is extremely nice!! Carlos, the manager, recommended Inka Grill (Peruvian food). The place is overpriced and at best mediocre food. There's really not much around there except for 2 restaurants (unless you count McDonalds, Pizza Hut, and KFC restaurants) and a shopping plaza that closes by 8PM. If you want more, you will have to drive to downtown, 10 KM away. As for amenities, it has a TV, free internet, breakfast, comfortable bed and decent showers!! Eveyrything is great about the hotel, except that it's quite far from the airport and downtown San Jose. If you want proximity to the airport or to go out in downtown San Jose, I would not recommend this place. If you want to a nice hotel with great value, amenities and an awesome staff, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ndtpunk71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

The previous review described the Hotel Milvia correctly. It is a very pleasant, unusual hotel. I enjoyed the artwork, garden, and second floor terrace. The breakfast was very good. The owner was exceptionally helpful. I also enjoyed this quiet San Jose neighborhood, near the university. A San Jose friend booked this hotel for us.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tautog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Texas
16
Reviewed 8 June 2006

My husband and I loved the Hotel Milvia. It is small and has an intimate atmosphere. The owners are very friendly and helpful in every way. (The husband is from England, and the wife is a Tica.) They gave us great information on restaurants in the area and how to get to our next destination. He even gave us a hand-drawn map with landmarks to get out of town. This is very important because we almost never saw any street signs in San Jose. You must know that it is an old home converted to a hotel, so if someone is expecting a modern Hilton, well, it's not for you. But, our room was spacious and comfortable, had a private, very clean bathroom, and was more than adequate for our needs. The hotel features original art throughout. We thought the old home was charming, nicely decorated, and the garden was lovely--fresh flowers everywhere. It is in a quiet area, and we had minimal street noise and no loud music or disturbances during the night. We were thrilled with our choice and had absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si no les importa bañarse con agua fría y perder el tiempo esperando que salga el agua caliente, est...
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Antonieta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
#47 of 77 in San Jose
420 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#14 of 77 in San Jose
137 reviews
4.3 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milvia

Address: San Jose 2050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: £44 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Milvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing