We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Artistic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Milvia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Milvia
Ranked #12 of 67 San Jose B&B and Inns
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Artistic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

A cute artistic bed and breakfast! But its located approx 20 min from downtown san jose. The area is good tho - with banks, restaurants and little shops. We found a cute little bakery - we ate lunch an Italian place that was approx a 10 min walk away. GREAT FOOD there. And we also had a good dinner at Inka grill - a peruvian restaurant 5 min away. The rooms were clean and basic. The staff were REALLY friendly and helpful and sweet. The place was unique and the art was interesting.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lv2travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    15
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
10
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dothan, al
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

We were rafting down the Pacuare River with Rios Tropicales and staying at the rainforest lodge the next night. Just needed an overnight (12 hrs total) stay in San Jose. When we travel, even if just an overnighter, I try to choose something special. The reviews I read described the owners as art lovers with paintings by local artists displayed in the rooms. It's true, plus, in the short time we had, we received a very warm welcome and help with a travel problem, perused the art exhibits, enjoyed a great view from the balcony and loved the sound of the fountain outside the room. If you decide to stay here, request a room around the courtyard fountain. This was a good choice for a very reasonable rate - breakfast included.

Stayed September 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank smmtst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Best staff - I was there for an extended stay and the staff was very helpful - and personable. The space is fantastic and I would recommend this hotel without hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Informedtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

I'm a frequent guest of the Milvia.
I love it, it's like an oasis in San José.
The owners (Florencia and Steve) always make me feel SO welcome, that it really does feel like a 'home away from home' (sorry about the cliché, but it's true!)
When I visit Costa Rica for business, its so peaceful, I actually enjoy getting my work done! And when I come for pleasure, it's lovely and cozy to recharge between outings
with a great massage, Reiki or Quantum Breath session.
Also, the art shows in the hotel are always full of lovely surprises.
Thanx Milvia, see you soon!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonRollingStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

I'm of Costa Rican background but decided to stay in hotels this visit. I went to Hotel Milvia and felt right at home. The house is very authentically Tico, down to the floorboards. My boyfriend and I fell in love with the views on the small balcony on the second floor and the tiny courtyard on the first floor. Don Carlos was so incredibly helpful and patient with the 2000 questions that we had. Breakfast could be improved a bit but no real complaints. The hotel is close by the ULatina and walking distance to Plaza del Sol and all public transportation.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xinbermz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Milvia before going to the Selva Banadito Ecolodge in the Parque de la Amistad. Located in the heart of a university neighborhood, Hotel Milvia is a lovely B&B with very friendly, helpful and accomodating owner and staff.

Our 3 kids (6,4,2 years old) who needed to run around and explore loved the room, the aquariums, the gardens, the breakfast room. We had to leave at 5:30am and they had breakfast ready for us! Our luggage did not make it from Atlanta, and they dealt with the airline, they had dinner delivered for us, and they also took care of organizing our aiport transfers. We highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — Open space, access to kitchen and dining room, staff, homey
  • Disliked — location for museums and restaurants but it is near a great grocery store and universities so the neighborhood needs to be discovered
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SylvieLegere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2008

What a pleasant surprise! We had no idea where we were going to stay for 2 nights in San Jose while we booked tours. I had my Frommers book and after calling a few places with no room availability....I called Milvia and reserved. I LOVED Milvia...what an adorable B&B. So clean, artsy, safe, quiet, spacious, organized, well maintained, nice view, tastefully decorated....1 negative COMMENT- the worst pillows ever. I was shocked as to how great EVERYTHING was...the bed, comforters...everything so clean and then you lay your head down and it is so uncomfortable it can ruin your sleep. GET NEW PILLOWS MILVIA PLEASE! Other than that......I would live in this place! The staff is so nice and accommodating. We left so early we missed breakfast.....grabbed some pineapple to go which I was so glad we did. 2 thumbs up Milvia...we will definitely visit again and recommend your place!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Pillows
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank acalero728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22254543, owner at Hotel Milvia, responded to this review, 1 November 2009
Dear Guests: We are happy to inform you that we have new pillows. There are about 5 to choose your favourite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
3.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#14 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
#41 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milvia

Property: Hotel Milvia
Address: San Jose 2050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Milvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing