We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience - mini-preserve in urban jungle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinco Hormigas Rojas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cinco Hormigas Rojas
Ranked #63 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique experience - mini-preserve in urban jungle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

Mayra is a warm, lovely woman who is passionate about nature and art and has created from scratch a mini rain forest preserve hidden away on the streets of San Jose. She will steer you to terrific restaurants nearby and authentic ecotourist destinations from which to enjoy the country's amazing beauty and ecological diversity. I look forward to returning to Cinco Hormigas Rojas on each trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    24
    8
    6
    13
See reviews for
11
31
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

If you want a "Holiday Inn" experience, then go to a Holiday Inn. But, if you want to stay at an eclectic B&B with a charming host, stay at Cinco Hormigas Rojas (Five Red Ants) in San Jose.
I stayed in this lovely little b&b both at the start and end of my vacation in Costa Rica. It is located in San Jose within easy walking distance of the National Museum, the Jade Museum, a contemporary art museum, an eclectic artisans market and some really wonderul restaurants.
What makes Cinco Hormigas Rojas a lovely place is the proprietor, Mayra, who is warm, friendly and very helpful. She can recommend sites and arrange tours around San Jose or to other parts of the country, and will go out of her way to make you feel at home.
The front entrance looks like a hobbit house and you cannot help but smile when you see it. Inside, the courtyard is overgrown (like a rainforest). Mayra has created her own little eco-system in the midst of San Jose that she is delighted to share with the birds, fruit bats, artists and travelers. Every room is painted with funky colors and features unique designs (mostly Mayra's own creations).
This b&b is one-of-a-kind!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesrussell2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

San Jose is mad. In a very Latino way. Fortunately there's the Cinco Hormigas Rojas, which is an affordable hostel with big personality. Mayra is a brilliant owner, who makes guests feel welcome and has done an incredible job over the past ten years of transforming each room into stylised arty spaces which are great fun to stay in. The 'rainforest' in her courtyard attracts all kinds of birds, and makes for a much-welcomed break from the mad city beyond the walls.

Conveniently located, a 10 min walk into the centre of town, we loved the breakfast bags and found her very amenable to late arrivals (she also has great suggestions for places to visit). A must if you're visiting San Jose!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pantalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

We stayed at Cinco Hormigas Rojas, run by a great lady by the name of Mayra. We feel good about recommending Mayra's lodging to other travelers. The enclosed gardens and rooms are fancifully decorated in colorful and whimsical works of art and sculpture. There are only a handful of rooms, so chances are that you won't be bumping shoulders with too many people. The rooms are clean, and the local birds and bats are fun to watch as they jockey for position at the fruit-filled feeders. There is a constant supply of hot coffee, and everyone gets a personally packed breakfast. We felt like we could easily relax in the quiet porch or garden, but at the same time we were close enough to walk to Avenida Central for sightseeing and shopping.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

Different strokes for different folks.
Some people will love this place, and others will hate it.
If you think nature & natural surroundings are "creepy" then you're not going to like this place.
Even when I was there, one guy was complaining - he was an ex-military ex-Halliburton contractor who was also complaining about most of Costa Rica.
Mayra the owner is a very Frida Khalo-inspired painter, who has poured her soul into building this place for the last 14(?) years. The B&B itself is a work of art.
Mayra is a very interesting person, with a heart, and she puts a sincere effort into making the place hospitable and comfortable for all her guests.
When I got there, she talked with me for a good 20 minutes, then said "I have the perfect tour for you. If you want an adventure, it leaves in two mornings." Between her and the Osa Peninsula resort, they organized a schedule of cab/bus/cab/boat transports to get me to this deep remote location in the rainforest. The experience was perfect for me, and all I had to do was wake up early.
You don't get this personalized treatment from corporate hotels.

Then there is the detail of the inside. The exterior of the refrigerator is painted & looks like part of the wall. Even the plastic table outside is painted & decorated. You could easily spend 30 minutes admiring the detail in the bedrooms, bathrooms, and community room.

If you want an in-room bar, room service, or gym, this is not the place for you. But if you want a natural place that feels like you're not in the city of San Jose...I recommend checking this out.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonwisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

Brilliant hotel. The rooms are comfortable, the decor is quirky and unique, and the whole atmosphere is completely relaxing whilst being in the middle of San Jose. The owner, Mayra Guell, is incredibly welcoming and helpful with lots of ideas and suggestions for places to visit. The rooms are very affordable, i have paid a lot more for less.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oneiricuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

We are traveling for one year witn my partner and we looked fr a place very quiet inside the city of San Jose. We fund this place very differents that the other hostel. If you look for an another experience in San Jose it's THE PLACE !

Maira the owner is so helpfull and give you some nice advices. She can plane some very exiting trip for you. Her open mind is very appreciate. She speak english and is a umbelivable artist.

The rooms a confortables and you can feel like a cocoon inside. You will have the impression to pass one night in an enchanted forest The emplacement of this place of peace, is safe and close of the city center.

So in one sentence, it's a new and exiting experience to come to sleep in this place when you have to pass by San Jose.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goupile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Casino Costa Rica Morazan
0.1 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#41 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#60 of 85 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#17 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos
Hotel Don Carlos
#24 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinco Hormigas Rojas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Hormigas Rojas

Property: Cinco Hormigas Rojas
Address: Calle 15 entre avenidas 9 y 11bis | Barrio Otoya, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cinco Hormigas Rojas San Jose
Cinco Hormigas Rojas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing