We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
Ranked #34 of 64 San Jose B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Good Stay”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

La Cuesta is an easy-going hotel with a good location. I splurged on a double with a private bathroom - clean, comfortable. There's a good central public area where it's easy to meet other travelers and swap stories. The staff is helpful and accommodating. There are four slow computers to use in addition to wifi. The kitchen is minimal and breakfast was sufficient but forgettable -- cereal, white bread and coffee. Otherwise, the price is right and the staff were welcoming. Recommended.

Room Tip: The double room with bathroom was very private and quiet -- faced away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    35
    21
    16
    7
See reviews for
10
23
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

about the nice:
1.price is nice, I lived 2 nights in dorm and double room. you can find the price on the website.
台灣人有打八折
the house is built by wood,therefore, you can here the sound of walking and everything.
the bed is so so, so prepare earplug is necessary.

2.breakfast is nice. there are fresh toast , fruit, coffee... good enough!!

3.service is nice. they are kind to provide those information you may need.

4.location is nice. not so close to the downtown, but there is fast food and supermarket nearby.

5.no smoking in the house or computer area will be better.

Room Tip: nice price with nice service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirasolLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Good localization, close to the downtown; breakfast is included (coffee, milk, cereal, fruit, juice). I was for 3 night alone at the female dorm - 12US a night. The staff were wonderful - Alvaro knows a lot of things about Costa Rica, and like to help you! For me the biggest problem was that the collective bathroom was not that clean, you know a lot of people using, they should clean at least twice a day.
If you want a quite dorm, do not stay at the 14 - is close to the computer place or close to the lounge.
It is a good place, worth to stay few nights.

Room Tip: The rooms close to the computer place and lounge could be noise, if people talks loud. I was at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The personnel are easy to get along with and accommodating. A good breakfast is included. Cereal, toast,jam and a seasonal fruit with coffee or tea. Three computers and wifi are there to use but the Internet is ,as usual in Central America, slow. No fault of the hostel.
They do have private rooms for those who want it. It is close to several stores.

The only thing that is substandard is the kitchen. One burner works which is a hotplate and the other two burners work sometimes. Inadequate if you plan to cook or if there is more then 1 person cooking at a time. They do have a microwave and I would use that to heat up water instead of the hotplate stove.

Room Tip: Try to get a dorm away from the street windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingleNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Location is perfect, hotel is clean, staff is helpfull and available, wifi works, nice common area with TV and amazing breakfast (coffe, juice, bread butter jam, corn flakes, milk and fresh pineapple !)
I totally recommend that place!

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank lauriiiita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My stay at the guest house was ok. The first few nights I stayed, there was a middle aged male Costa Rican staff member who was running the place. He really goes above and beyond the call of duty. I thought he was the owner because he was so caring and attentive.
It has a nice homely feel and I met some really nice people who were also staying there.
The location is pretty central and close to the action and also local attractions.
Some of the drawbacks were the ants overrunning the place, especially in the kitchen. They advertise a fully equipped kitchen but its a bit of a joke. There is a fridge and microwave.
There is a hot-stove which doesn't work and a toaster which is locked away.
My room was extremely hot all the time and very noisy as it was close to the main road.
Its ok for a short stay but not for much longer.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank mannequinmodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I have been staying here for 20 years, The first time it was 1993, it was 6$ a night. While the price has gone up its still a good value. Centrally located, you have access to everything. The breakfast is ok, but it does the job. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The last time iwas ther I got in late, did not have a reservation, and they had no rooms. They stored my luggage for me thank God, as I just assumed they had room and was left there. I then had to walk and find another hotel that was not full, but ghetto fabulous, yukkk, I will not be reviewing that one. When I came back the next day to get mt luggage and catch my transfer to Puerto Viejo. I was shocked when they said it was free, no problem, and they were apologetic they did not have a room. I really love the staff at this place!! Rooms are clean, stuff is safe.

Room Tip: Try and stay far from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seeralon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#48 of 76 in San Jose
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 76 in San Jose
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Morazan Hotel & Casino
#53 of 76 in San Jose
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#36 of 76 in San Jose
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hemingway Inn
Hemingway Inn
#36 of 64 in San Jose
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Trianon
Posada Trianon
#35 of 64 in San Jose
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension de la Cuesta B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension de la Cuesta B&B

Property: Pension de la Cuesta B&B
Address: Avenida Primera Calle 11 Y 15 | 50 Metros Oeste Parque Nacional, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension de la Cuesta B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1920, first Bed and Breakfast of the capital of Costa Rica, San Jose, it was once home and art gallery to a bevy of local and expatriate artists, including Otto Apuy, Diedre Hyde, and Guillermo Conte, as well as other poets, writers and filmmakers, a place where artists and authors gathered together in its past time. With its handcrafted classic wood frame structure of the entrance and the interior design like colonial style mosaic tile floor of early 19th century, you can see the traces of Costa Rican history and art trough the building. The hotel is located at downtown San Jose,a nice and safe neighborhood, surrounded by great variety of fine restaurants, main bus stations, grocery stores, 3-5 minutes walking distance. We are recommened by mayor travel guides, Lonely Planet,Frommers, Fordor, Moon Book, Let's go. If you are looking for budget and comfort stay, we are your great choice in downtown San Jose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Pension de la Cuesta B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension De La Cuesta Hotel San Jose
Pension De La Cuesta Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing