We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice”

Spirogyra Butterfly Garden
Ranked #39 of 119 things to do in San Jose
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 30 species of butterflies flutter around this magical garden.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

If you like nature, if you like butterflies, different colors and sizes, you will like this place. And the fee to go in is okay.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank andre r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“boring but very nice ladies working”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

unless you are studying the process of the butterfly this was a very boring tour. Saw the same thing for each species. I was expecting to be able to enjoy the butterfly but instead stopped at every plant to see the eggs and talked about host plants even recieved a story that sounded like a story to be told to a class of 1st graders my husband and I are 53 actually looking that part was so bad it was funny we still laugh and retell the story bottom line very expensive tour going through gecko tours. If you must see take a cab

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank dlhdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing location”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

If you're into butterflies this is the place to go. Lots of species to enjoy even for a neophyte like myself. I saw an European couple with some kids and it seemed like a good place to come if you have kids - the kids were competing to find out the different species. $7 seems a bit much though, but the tiny enclosed area for butterflies allows for some peace of mind and quietness away from the rumble of San Jose.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexVN81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Butterflies”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The garden was very nice, small. I went early in the morning, and the butterflies were calm and easy to spot. Very informative about the life cycle of a butterfly.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank tara42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“serenity in the city”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

2 of my favorite hours of my entire trip...highly recommended

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Conrad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spirogyra Butterfly Garden also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Spirogyra Butterfly Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing