We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Serivce and Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Calle 20
Ranked #45 of 68 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Having arrived in San Jose with no where to stay, I was driven by to Boutique Calle 20 by a taxi driver. I was immediately put at ease by the manager Diego, who spoke perfect English.

The service was exactly what you'd expect from staff and very much felt as if your needs were their number one priority.

The rooms' are in superb condition and offer everything you need in a hotel - comfotable and well sized bed, decent sized and well ventilated room and excellent working bathroom facilities. The walls weren't as solid as I was expecting as was able to hear other guests in the hotel on occasions.

However, was more than happy to book another room for my return to San Jose, after some time exploring the rest of Costa Rica.

I'd recommend Boutique Hotel Calle 20 as the hotel of choice when in San Jose, whether that be transitting through on a short visit, or looking for a more permanent stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

If your in San Jose and need a hotel I would stay here. If your using transnica, ticabus, or tracopa, stay here. I would stay here over and over again just for the attention to detail and friendly staff. I was really happy with the hotel and enjoyed the friendly staff, and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luiselarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHC20, General Manager at Boutique Hotel Calle 20, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees.
We are also happy that you appreciate the cleanliness of our rooms.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in San José and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I've stayed two nights in this beautiful hotel!! Looks just like brand-new, great service, rooms are comfortable, great location in the downtown and still very quiet. I will definitely recommend it to a friend

Room Tip: More you get inside the hotel, rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHC20, General Manager at Boutique Hotel Calle 20, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees.
We are also happy that you appreciate the comfort of the rooms and the design of the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in San José and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

There are really only 2 good things I can say about my stay at Hotel Calle 20: It is close to the bus terminal, and the staff tried.

That being said, me and my father after having a reservation were left at the door in the middle of not the greatest neighborhood in San Jose, because the reception person didn't know anything about our reservation( i had a confirmation page with me). I understand locking a door in a dangerous city, but if you are leaving guests outside with their luggage for 15 minutes, that doesn't really make us feel secure or welcome...after finally letting us in, she then proceeded to have a 5 minute conversation with someone on the phone, then had me talk to them (she only spoke spanish, and I speak a bit, but not that much).

We were then finally given our room, which was not very clean, but at that point all we wanted to do was have our room so we kept it.

I won't bore you with further details, but enough to say that this beginning was indicative of the rest of our stay there.

Clearly if the hotel wants to be a "boutique" hotel and charge appropriately(which they do), they have a lot of work to do. I am a relatively easy customer and was very satisfied with the 4 other places I stayed in Costa Rica which cost the same or less than this one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orennnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHC20, Manager at Boutique Hotel Calle 20, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Dear guest, we deeply apologize for the mishaps during your stay and appreciate taking the time to write your comment so we can try to correct it. We had a lot of unexpected trouble with the country's public transportation on that Easter Holiday weekend, unfortunately the full proper qualified reception staff wasn't available. It was unexpected, but we will work on it so it doesn't happen again. We guarantee if you are ever back, we will make it back to you, again thank you for your comment. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

When you are leaving on the Transnica bus, this hotel has an excellent location. If not, choose something else! Even though I complain about the place, I could stay there again, but probaby not! However, the staff is very nice and tries its best!

Most of the rooms are very small and stuffy with nowhere to put your baggage. Not stylish as they claim! They said our room should overlook the garden. Our window faced a lightshaft. ( We tried two different rooms) Do they really have a garden? We could not find any! The room should come with a dvd player. It did not! They don´t have any. The room should come with a Coffe maker. It did not! Thy don´t have any. The bathroom should come with a hairdryer. It did not! Thy don´t have any. They could not get us any of the promised items, in spite of us, beeing the only guests! So don´t belive what they write in the booking sites! It´s pure lies to attract guests. But now I know why they don´t have more guests. They claim they have 24h reception. Well somone comes when you ring the bell, but they know nothing. Except during breakfast hours and a couple of hours in the early evening, when more skilled people are there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EOEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHC20, Manager at Boutique Hotel Calle 20, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear guest, we deeply apologize for the mishaps during your stay and appreciate taking the time to write your comment so we can try to correct it. I would like to take the chance and let you know that not all rooms are the same in size and shape, probably the rooms available during your stay were the smaller ones. If you happen to visit us again, we will upgrade your room for free to make up for your last discomfort. Regarding the items such as: coffee maker, hair dryer, iron & board, DVD; we keep them in inventory and deliver them inmediately to room upon guest request, we will work on the awareness of this. Thank you again for your comments, only with this kind of feedback can we grow to correct and offer our best service. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have stayed in the hotel for 2 days, and where very pleased with the friendly manager , who helpt us to find a car to rent and gave us also good tips for restaurants. It is also very good situated just outsite city center. Rooms clean and big enough.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHC20, Manager at Boutique Hotel Calle 20, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees.
We are also happy that you appreciate the cleanliness and dimensions of our rooms.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in San José and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Our flight came in late, we needed a hotel close to the bus stations to the beach, so we checked out several places first that the cab driver recommended us, but we didn't like until we stumbled upon here. Everyone was very kind during the couple of nights. I loved all the pictures in the halls. We had to check out at 5 am to catch the bus and they still prepared us some coffee and a snack to take with us. We definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmontealegre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHC20, Manager at Boutique Hotel Calle 20, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay.

We are really proud of our flora and fauna, those pictures remind us everyday of how rich and beautiful our country is, we're glad you enjoyed them as well!

It’s pleasing that you remarked the great location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff at ALL TIME. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in San José and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,485 reviews
0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 78 in San Jose
300 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#55 of 78 in San Jose
510 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,523 reviews
0 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Calle 20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Calle 20

Address: 20th Street, 3.5 Blocks North From the National Children's Hospital On Paseo Colon, San Jose 10103, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: £40 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boutique Hotel Calle 20 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Really enjoy your stay! Brand new rooms! Excellent finishes with warm unique designs from our hand made furniture and interior cenízaro wood. Big high definition pictures with native photographs of worldwide characteristic flora and fauna of Costa Rica. Camera surveillance 24/7. 100% smoke free. Strict environmental conservation policies. STANDARD DOUBLE, STANDARD TRIPLE, SUPERIOR rooms (some with balcony). Private bathroom. COMPLIMENTARY continental breakfast. LCD flat screen televisions with HIGH DEFINITION. Cable digital TV. Lamps with brightness control. Safe box. Hot water. FREE Internet/WiFi (wireless) for all rooms and social areas. Laundry services. Iron and table, hair dryer, DVD player, coffee and tea service, upon request at front desk. Computer access on lobby. Recreation for children and adults, Nintendo Wii with huge screen. Local and international calls. Snack bar. Fan. We can't wait for you to meet our business philosophy, which is based on the quality of care and our services, our greatest guarantee for customer satisfaction! Free parking from 5 pm to 7 am, out of that schedule there is a charge of approximately between $1-$2 an hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Boutique Hotel Calle 20 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing