We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Boruca Indian Masks and artworks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Galeria Namu

Galeria Namu
Ranked #19 of 117 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Galeria Namu is a fair trade art gallery for local and indigenous artists from Costa Rica and surrounding Central America countries. Established in 1998 at this same location, visitors to Costa Rica's capital city of San Jose can find us easily behind the Holiday Inn (across from Parque Morazan).Knowledge and passion for the artists and their work is what makes a visit to Galeria Namu special; the owner, Aisling, and her son Conall, along with their support staff love to share with visitors the background of the tribe or individual artisans and the remarkable collection of unique and very special pieces available for purchase. For the past 15 years, Galeria Namu has nurtured a relationship with the artists who create folk art, gold and jade replicas, handwoven baskets, originals paintings, tagua carvings and jewelry and much more. Visit the website for hours and a sampling of what you will encounter. Be prepared to catch their enthusiasm for fair trade with these local arts and crafts.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Boruca Indian Masks and artworks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

If you are in San Jose do not pass up this gallery. Native Indian motif artworks in the most vibrant colors. Reasonably priced (for any pocketbook), expertly packed for shipping or carryon. A myriad assortment of works that would be a compliment any collection.

to any collection.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ERK0776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticachica, Owner at Galeria Namu, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you, the authentic art that includes the glorious colours of the tropics is part of the Galería Namu experience. Glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    22
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great gallery for indigenous art and objects d'art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

NOTE: The location of this gallery on the Google map associated with the tripadvisor site is wrong! The gallery is in the block directly behind (north of) the Holiday Inn Aurora and not three blocks in the other direction! It is on Avenue 7, not Callé 7 as the Google map shows.

With that said, this is an outstanding shop filled with beautiful and fascinating things. It is a "fair trade" shop, meaning that it splits the sales price directly with the artist. I found the prices to be very reasonable, and I don't understand the comment about things being overpriced - when you consider the labor intensity of creating these pieces, the prices are very modest indeed.

Highly recommended, very nice and friendly owner, and your purchases help to support the artists. A great find.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MarLay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticachica, Owner at Galeria Namu, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
A warm thanks for your review and for pointing out the value of Fair Trade to the artists. Indeed their reward is important to us while maintaing affordable prices for our visitors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quality, fair trade art!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

One of the first and best places we visited in San Jose for quality art souvenirs! The owner was very friendly and helpful. We ended up purchasing one of the stunning masks and could not be thrilled! Really neat that they include the artist's info! Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LovinMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticachica, Owner at Galeria Namu, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We are much oblige d that you point out the quality and assistance we strive to bring to each person's visit - education is really a big part of our mission!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best for Indigenous and Local Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I visited Galeria Namu on two recent trips to Costa Rica (March-April 2013 and Aug 2013). The first time was a wonderful experience as I had a lovely chat with the owner and spent a long time looking at the various arts and crafts. Despite quite a bit of looking and being in remote portions of Costa Rica (e.g. Talamanca Mountains) much of the trip it was difficult to find art by local and/r indigenous people. Galeria Namu was a wonderful find and I ended up with 2 purchases (a Brunca mask and a tagua nut carving) which the assured me could be shipped safely. They were true to their word as both arrived home before I did and in perfect condition.

The second time was also nice but the store was a bit busier. On this trip I took a friend who had not been to the Galeria before and she too was impressed by the variety and excellence of the various arts and crafts.

Would highly recommend Galeria Namu if you are in downtown San Jose (around the Teatro Nacional).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank csutter4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticachica, Owner at Galeria Namu, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Making your visit to the gallery personalised is an important part of our agenda for explaining the various aspects of the collections., and we strive to focus on pointing out aspects that seem of most interest to the individual. We also love to tailor a visit to the interest of young people! Thanks for your review..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Like a museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

There are articles from Costa Rica and Panama made by indigenous people which are wonderful to admire but very expensive. They have their own website with tours available.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank robertshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticachica, Owner at Galeria Namu, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
That we are like a museum is a comment that has been often made! It is a strange thing, we are small in size but large in content and variety making people happy to have a broad overview of Costa Rica culture. Thanks for reviewing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galeria Namu also viewed

 

Been to Galeria Namu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing