We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing Collection

This is an incredible gallery store. The owner has amassed a dazzling collection of indigenous art... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
DrewF1980
,
Vancouver, Canada
Ah the masks!

The painted carved masks are really spectacular. Worth a visit just to view these gallery quality... read more

Reviewed 27 August 2018
paulfervoy
,
San Jose, Costa Rica
Read all 178 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around San Jose
from US$13.50
More Info
from US$137.00
More Info
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
126
24
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
24
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indigenous art fair trade woven baskets costa rica and panama the holiday inn buy authentic great artwork buying something authentic costa rican local crafts central america beautiful pieces for sale souvenir shop pre colombian gold beautiful country jade museum
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I’m surprised this is rated the #1 thing to do in San Jose. I wouldn’t call it a gallery, but definitely the most appealing artwork available for purchase I have seen during my two weeks in Costa Rica.

Thank Sarah_nz31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an incredible gallery store. The owner has amassed a dazzling collection of indigenous art, ceramics, textiles and weaving from all corners of Central America. Prices are reasonable and fair trade. Not to be missed.

Thank DrewF1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

The painted carved masks are really spectacular. Worth a visit just to view these gallery quality masks.

Thank paulfervoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

The range of Brunka/Boruca masks here is incredible. We weren't going to manage driving all the way to the village on our trip (sadly) and this gallery had by far the best range, both on quality, variety and number.
Yes, they are more expensive than some, but all fair trade and so diligently carved.
Well worth a visit.

Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

This small Galeria is chock full of excellent pieces from different regions and time periods. You will be able to purchase some of the pre-Columbian pieces shown in the Jade Museum. Reasonably priced and excellent quality.
It's tucked away by the Holiday Inn.

Thank Dolly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Definitely recommend if looking for arts and handicrafts made in Costa Rica. I plan on heading back at the end of my trip for a painting I spotted!

Thank LindsayV857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We really enjoyed seeing the beautiful local crafts. Staff is helpful and informative. We got a small handcrafted basket to remember our trip!

Thank ccanderso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Lots of local art and the money goes directly to the local people producing the artwork, very good service in the shop.

1  Thank smoesgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticachica, Owner at Galeria Namu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Many thanks, may your kind words be an inspiration to others to check out the beautiful and authentic art we offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

We found this gallery had exactly what we were looking for. The owner is a fountain of information and will patiently and even eagerly answer all your questions because it is obvious he loves indigenous culture and their stories. We ended up buying a mask by an artist he actually knew. Honestly, there were so many beautiful crafts from a wonderful selection of quality Boruca masks, beautiful woven masks and baskets, decorative tiles and so much more. Be sure to phone before you go to check that they are open. We went on a Sunday the first time and even though they were supposed to be open according to the Internet, we and several others discovered they were closed. We are so glad that we made the effort to go a second time.

Thank HayKay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticachica, Owner at Galeria Namu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

We are very grateful to you for your enthusiastic response! Glad that you realise we make it our business to include as much information - both in the moment and written - about the amazing art we offer. We know personally these artists and have encouraged and supported them for 20 years! Please keep in touch and keep an eye on our virtual gallery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped in this fabulous store, while in San Jose, after looking for places to buy authentic native gifts in Costa Rica. Was not disappointed! Great selection, especially of Brunka tribe masks.

Thank deflep22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticachica, Owner at Galeria Namu, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

You are most kind, and we truly appreciate that you felt compelled to post a review. Sharing your thoughts with fellow travellers is sso valuable for the gallery and the artists we serve, please know that we are always touched to see enthusiastic comments such as yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews