We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasent surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cocoon Hotel
Ranked #59 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A pleasent surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great value....good service from the front door to check out. If you have a car not as convenient
As a 5 star hotel with valet....get over it!,, there is parking very close to the door.
For the price you pay here for a clean and friendly stay you can add several great meals or extra days in Costa Rica! Price value is excellent. We will stay here again before we leave Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Neighborhood not the best for walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    113
    91
    38
    28
See reviews for
64
157
88
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night. I wasnt expecting too much from this hotel as I has read the reviews online. The rooms aren't are nice as they look in the pictures, but ours was fine for a one night stay. My only complaints are that the water in the shower takes a long time to warm up and never gets hot; and the comforter on our bed had stains on it.

The lobby is nice and the staff is very friendly. Victor speaks the best English and helped us to find a nice authentic restaurant for dinner. A young man helped us at the bar in the evening and we bought the lasagna from the bar which was very good! The girls at the front desk arranged for us to check out early and even offered our breakfast to be packed to go since we would miss the 7am breakfast start time.

We walked to the central market during the day, but I don't think I would make the walk a night. There are lots of cool stores and a lively atmosphere at the central market, and lots of policies, so we felt very safe there.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administrador C, Gerente at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Google Translation
Nos complace saber que hayan tenido una buena experiencia en Cocoon Hotel y apreciamos todo comentario positivo como negativo en pro del compromiso en mejorar a fin de satisfacer nuestra clientela, en este caso tomamos muy en consideración lo sucedido con el agua caliente. Con respecto al personal de recepción agradecemos su apreciación, efectivamente los miembros del equipo laboran una manera atenta, cortés y alegre con buen uso de la información que fuesen a necesitar. Nos alegra bastante que hayan apreciado nuestro servicio y en nombre de todo el personal les envío los más cordiales saludos. Esperamos hayan tenido un excelente viaje de regreso y puedan contar con nosotros para un eventual regreso.

Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Good service. Hotel accommodated us providing extra room free of charge. The front desk clerk girl is really pretty ,good breakfast with waitoring service staff is knowledgable and helpful in assisting and arranging your trips.......

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanBe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administrador C, Gerente at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Google Translation
Saludos y muchas gracias por sus comentarios, el personal del hotel está más que atento a servirle en cualquier eventual visita a futuro. Sobre el desayuno nos complace saber que haya quedado satisfecho. Esperamos haya tenido un excelente viaje de salida, y a la vez le dejamos saber que estamos para servirle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We spent one night at the hotel. I was impressed. It was an excellent value.Though the room was simple, it was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good - lots of fresh fruit and some choice. The wi fi worked fine. The staff we dealt with were pleasant and helpful. I liked the atmosphere of the lobby area.

As for the location, to me it was convenient. Within 5 minutes you can walk to the centre of San Jose. Reading some of the more negative reviews, I would say that those who wrote them may not have done their homework as to what to expect from San Jose. As they say, it is what it is...So some of the area surrounding the hotel,is not that attractive. I didn't feel unsafe and did a lot of walking in the area but did take a cab when coming home at night.

All in all, it is a good hotel - especially when you consider the price. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raquel_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

My First Trip To Costa Rica.....Staff Was Great, Clean Rooms Great Breakfast.....Definitely Will Stay again...I Waa Visiting In Rainy Season, But Location Was Great For Short Trips Out Between Rain Storms...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

From the look of some of the pictures, you might think this is a classy hotel. It is not. It is rather a very good budget option, trying to look a little up-scale. Having said that, it is nothing wrong with the place. I booked on the net, thinking I got a good middle class hotel for a bargain, intending to move on to a budget option the next night. I ended up staying as this - at least in low season - is a good low budget hotel.

I paid 25$ a night w breakfast. And for that I got a clean hotel close to the city center. The staff are reasonably nice and helpful and like someone wrote: The lobby is very nice.

If you are not comfortable in Central American cities, do notice that the hotel is 2-3 blocks from the proper city center. I had no issues with security what so ever, and to me it felt like a safe enough area. But if it's your first trip, you might feel different.

All in all it was a good hotel for the price I got. But they claim the ordinary price to be twice that. At that rate I am not sure. It is not as good as in some of the pics, but was not a bad deal for what I paid.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Himself69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Wonderful room for a great price. Excellent service from the very helpful bilingual girl at the front desk. Convenient to the main bus stations. Never felt unsafe, but it's in a more industrial part of town. Best for a short stay while doing tours to the surrounding area. Breakfasts in the restaurant upstairs were 'tipico' but groups can easily overwhelm the staff. Avoid the groups for the best time.

Room Tip: Go for a room on an upper floor facing the front for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#43 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa las Orquideas
1.8 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#42 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoon Hotel

Property: Cocoon Hotel
Address: Calle Central, Avenida 9, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocoon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Jose, Cocoon Hotel comprises a unique experience of relaxation and comfort in a pleasant atmosphere. Our guests enjoy a combination of exceptional service, good price and quality facilities. It is a great place for business trips, or a quick stay to see everything the city has to offer before exploring the country. Cocoon Hotel is located walking distance from the most important sites in San Jose, such as The National Museum (6 min.), The National Theater (3 min.) And The Pre-Columbian Gold Museum (4 min.); Also very close to the major bus stations of San Jose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cocoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing