We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good mid range hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Sospel, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very good mid range hotel”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a relatively new building and is stylishly if simply decorated. Staff were unfailingly kind and helpful. My room was a standard double, and was beautifully designed, with the amenities of a more expensive hotel. It was also quite spacious.

The neighborhood is a bit dull, but only 10 minutes walk takes you to the park, and downtown is a short taxi ride away.

Eat elsewhere.

The pool is miniscule and close to a conference room breakout area, making it a rather inconvenient location. Bathers find themselves circulating with conference-goers.

All in all a safe and very comfortable option for San Jose.

Room Tip: Take a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyCondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our Hotel.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    473
    116
    30
    26
See reviews for
217
467
107
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there the first night we got in Costa Rica & our last night in the country.
Its new and modern looking, including the rooms. Amazing beds! Very comfy.
Staff was very helpful.
The food at the restaurant was pretty good. We had the chicken with rice and the beef with rice.
Located walking distance from downtown though my wife and I didn't do much exploring around since we stayed in San Jose our first night before driving off to LA Fortuna & our last night as we had to be at the airport early.
There's really nothing bad to say about the place

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed.
We look foward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights, one after flying in late evening. The hotel is pleasant, with good size bedrooms and bathrooms. Unfortunately (for me) the bedroom windows don't open; that isn't a problem for lots of people but I do like fresh air when I sleep. The air conditioning was efficient and the bed very comfortable so it didn't really disturb me, just a preference. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and the breakfast good. We walked into the centre very easily and also to the main bus station, which is just minutes away, to continue our journey in Tortuguero National Park. There were a number of girls U-17 football teams staying for the World Cup, but we wouldn't have known; we didn't hear them at all and when you think of girls that age away in groups ......

Room Tip: I didn't use the Spa and don't actually know if they have one! There were 8 of us and all 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NH2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed.
We appreciate your visit and we look forward to welcome you again at the Park Inn by Radisson San José.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Great new hotel with excellent multilingual costumer service. Spacious confortable and very clean rooms. Great breakfasts with cook to order omelets. In a country where almost everything is overpriced ( for example your money goes a lot further in Mexico for the same quality ), this is an exception.

The only thing that I missed was fresh air; like many newer buildings, the windows are sealed shut. We can unfortunately smell the chemicals from the carpets throughout the hotels ( halls and rooms ). There is an underpower extractor fan in the bathroom, but not enough to change the air. A couple hours after a couple showers, and you can still smell the humidity.

Which brings me to the second bémol; you're forced to use the air conditioner which sounds like an airplane! Can't use it all night, too noisy. And the room gradually gets hotter and hotter during the night. Had to wake up, turn the air on for about 30 minutes and then turn it off.

I stayed twice during my stay in Costa Rica, 2 different rooms, both had thesame problems.

BUT, I would go back the without hesitation. Unless you want to pay double, this is the best option in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We appreciate your visit and we look forward to welcome you again at the Park Inn by Radisson San José.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
221 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The location isn't really near anything of interest but it is downtown. The bus station to the airport was a bit too far to walk. The hotel itself is clean and the staff are very nice so it was a worthwhile use of Club Carlson points. The buffet breakfast was good. Otherwise, we would have been better off staying closer to the airport for the last night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tikibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your comment. The Park Inn is located just 3 blocks from Paseo Colon the main avenue in San José, and just 15-20 minutes drive from the airport
We appreciate your visit and we look forward to welcome you again at the Park Inn by Radisson San José.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night before flying out of San Jose. We found the room to be very clean, modern, quiet, and with typical amenities of US or European Hotel. The over sized shower with rain head faucet was luxurious after a few other places we stayed while in Costa Rica. The breakfast in the morning was pretty good for a buffet. We mostly enjoyed the fresh fruit and cereal. The hot items didn't look terribly appealing to us. The location was definitely close enough to walk to the Central Market (10-15 minutes). The streets surrounding the hotel felt safe even after dark but everyone's perception of that is different. We would definitely stay here again if we return to San Jose.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor in a king room--1106-- very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to letting us know how was your stay
We are glad to know you enjoy our facilities and convenient location.
We look forward to welcome you again at the Park Inn by Radisson San José
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Helpful staff, decently priced and nice room. Spent one night between flights, but it is well located and everyone was so nice. Decent restaurant. Walking distance to the market area of downtown San Jose and nearby restaurants that were better than the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DocMacNab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our Hotel.
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and more than pleased to know how much you appreciate our team efforts and custumer service.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
872 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
1.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson San Jose

Property: Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Address: Ave 6, Street 28, San Jose 494-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Inn by Radisson San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just steps from Paseo Colon, SJ's main avenue and walking distance from downtown. Just minutes from the major business and shopping centers of our capital. We are a new, fresh, fun, and environmental friendly hotel of 125 rooms beautifully designed, including 10 suites (60mts2) ideal for long stays. In addition to our RBG Restaurant Bar & Grill, we offer 2 Bars, one located next to the pool, Gym, Business Center & Outdoor Pool located on the 3rd floor. Also we offer underground free Parking and 10 Meeting Rooms to accommodate up to 250 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing