We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern high rise hotel close to the center of San José”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Modern high rise hotel close to the center of San José”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

After several days out in the Costa Rican countryside, the Park Inn makes for quite a contrast. But it's an excellent hotel, towering over the neighborhood about a mile from the central plaza of San José. It has almost everything that one would want by way of accommodation, though I would have liked to have a minifridge. The restaurant/bar has a limited menu, but the food was good and well prepared. The breakfast buffet was excellent and included made-to-order eggs. Other than that, there's an AM/PM mini-market on the next block for those sudden urges.

It's easy to get downtown. Walking takes 15-20 minutes, but I walked three blocks to the main drag and caught a bus (40 cents US) to downtown, and then walked back, stopping at some of the historic buildings and squares along the way. I went early in the morning (before 6:30 AM) and it was already quite busy. I know that there are some unsafe neighborhoods, but the hotel seems to be in a very safe neighborhood, and I felt comfortable everywhere on my walk.

If I were to be back in San José and needed access to the center of the city, then I would definitely stay again at the Park Inn. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher is better. The north side has a view toward the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluevoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Google Translation
En nombre del equipo de Park Inn by Radisson San José, agradecemos sus amables comentarios acerca de nuestras instalaciones.

Esperamos que se vuelva a hospedar nuevamente con nosotros.

Saludos cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    482
    117
    30
    27
See reviews for
223
470
108
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We visited the Park Inn San Jose Costa Rica in April 2014. It is a very modern hotel at walking distance from the city centre main road and if you are lucky you 'll get a room with a view of the city. We were welcomed by a very friendly and well speaking English staff. The rooms were spacious and clean with a fridge as a nice extra since temperature can get a bit high so it is handy to keep water fresh.

We enjoyed our first dinner in the hotel, they serve very nice local food at a reasonable price, their breakfast which was complimentary was at the same high standard.

It is a hotel with a lot of rooms and unfortunately it looked a bit empty. Shame because the bar at the pool could be a nice relaxing place for a drink but it was not open probably because there were not enough guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adnila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback which is very important to us.

We're happy to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are always working very hard to be the best hotel in San José.

Our Staff is always striving for perfection, creating a memorable, authentic and different experience every time.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Although the hotel may seem like it is in the middle of nowhere it actually isn't! It is a 20 minute walk to the center of San Jose. The hotel is extremely nice and modern and the basic room is a great size! There is lots of room to lay out your bags without feeling like you don't have any space to move around. The free breakfast in the morning was a plus as well. Definitely would stay here again if I came back to San Jose!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaNicole3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por preferir nuestros servicios, nos complace mucho saber que disfrutó su estadía con nosotros. Lo esperamos pronto nuevamente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The staff was so friendly. The rooms were nice and beds were comfortable! Rates were reasonable. Breakfast was included! Great value for the money! We used as our base for sightseeing.We used the tour guide was very helpful even walking us to an atm!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerrySmith1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We appreciate your visit and we look forward to welcome you again at the Park Inn by Radisson San José.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excelent hotel. Outstanding Staff. Whatelse can you want when you travel on business ?
Small Details should be reviewd like water bottles in the bedroom.
One detail that I must mention... today at lunch time, I had a person with Down Sindrome "driving" me to the table. Excelent example that could be adopted by so many. This was a Superb detail.
Thank you to all the staff.... 6 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRosaLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If your in Costa Rica for vacation, let's face it, San Jose is not your destination. But if you come for business or medical procedures and find you must stay in San Jose this hotel is a diamond in the rough. This is a sleek modern hotel with a top notch staff, that will accommodate you in any way possible. The views of the city and mountains are excellent, and the mattresses are comfortable. If you do find yourself staying here and want to get a cocktail, take a minute to have a conversation with Ronald Vega (the bartender from the main lobby). He is an intelligent and entertaining young man that will have you smiling the whole time!

Room Tip: The rooms are modern, simple, but sleek. Pick a room that is above the 10th floor so that you can en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C707ZIPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario, estamos muy contentos que disfrutó su estadía en el mejor hotel de San José. Lo esperamos pronto nuevamente.

Saludos cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were here for an overnight stay before travelling through Costa Rica. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the car rental place we used on Paseo Colon. The accommodations were wonderful and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Dinner at the RBG restaurant was great and the complimentary breakfast was also very nice. Since we only stayed here for one night, I cannot comment on its location relative to other places in San Jose, but for the purpose of using it as a transition hotel, it's perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia G, Gerente at Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed.
We appreciate your visit and we look forward to welcome you again at the Park Inn by Radisson San José.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
881 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#13 of 77 in San Jose
1,320 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson San Jose

Property: Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Address: Ave 6, Street 28, San Jose 494-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Inn by Radisson San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just steps from Paseo Colon, SJ's main avenue and walking distance from downtown. Just minutes from the major business and shopping centers of our capital. We are a new, fresh, fun, and environmental friendly hotel of 125 rooms beautifully designed, including 10 suites (60mts2) ideal for long stays. In addition to our RBG Restaurant Bar & Grill, we offer 2 Bars, one located next to the pool, Gym, Business Center & Outdoor Pool located on the 3rd floor. Also we offer underground free Parking and 10 Meeting Rooms to accommodate up to 250 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing