We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Option Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Ranked #19 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
“Best Option Downtown”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel has been renovated and reopened. I stayed here with my wife and baby last week and we were very pleased. The staff was eager to help, went out of their way to meet our needs and make us feel at home. Knowing the fact that we have a child with us, the marketing manager upgraded as to a junior suite. We stayed on the fourth floor and even though the floor is very popular with the visitors, we felt very private.

We were able to park our rental car in the secure area, take the elevator straight to the 4th floor and be in our room safe and secure in a matter of seconds. We used to stay at the Presidente but the street noise was unbearable. Needless to say that we will be returning to the hotel Mona Lisa.

Room Tip: The 4th floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IbnBatouta540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    77
    23
    7
    18
See reviews for
19
29
142
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This was my first trip to Costa Rica and I must say,the hotel is great,beautifully decorated,very clean and modern.The rooms are spacious and I was able to watch my sports channels in high definition in my room.Thanks hotel Mona Lisa for a unforgettable time

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanius L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I have stayed at several Hotels in the City of San Jose. However, I always found it to be too noisy, beds too uncomfortable or too far to walk for a variety of shopping and dining.
Now I have discovered the Mona Lisa with comfortable beds, and a quiet night when I am ready to call it a day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armagall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A small group of us stayed at the Mona Lisa to spend the night, before leaving the next morning, after a week of fishing in Jaco. This place has a lot of potential but still needs some work. The AC in 3 of our 4 rooms did not work and they have free standing fans. I will say that the AC was not a problem since it's very cool at night and didn't have any problems. The rooms are good, but a little worn down, and they were clean. The staff was very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. The casino was small and fine for Costa Rica with a couple tables of Rummy, Roulette and a few slot machines.

Our only issue that bothered us was the in-room safes. They were more like cash and carries. Only one of the safes was secured to something and that was only one small bolt secured to the baseboard in a closet. The rest of the safes sat next to the TV and could be moved around the room.

There was a special rate of $49.99/night so really couldn't complain. Overall nice place for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianphoto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

One of the best hotel I been too I loved it I enjoyed myself I can vacate there for a whole year.....I also enjoy the food too.y soon to be wife says she wants to have our weeding there and since we like the hotel so much I think it's a plan.........

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROADKODE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Mona Lisa is a wonderful value, I was very pleased with the size of the rooms and the service. I was in San Jose on a budget and I have to say that the room rate is really unmatched in Downtown San Jose. My room was the price of a motel but was comparable to that of a Top brand hotel. Guy took care of my every need and really listened to our comments.
The wait staff was also extremely pleasant and friendly and seemed to truly care about my needs. The casino offers full action and is as nice as any in San Jose. The food is wonderful too. I am sure to be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed at Mona Lisa for 4 nights in early September this year. And I was very pleased I decided to stay there. While there are are other choices of hotels in the area, Mona Lisa is clean, secure, and most of all, the staff I encountered were exceptional.
First, Guy the hotel manager goes extra mile to take care of me when I had a request or had questions about Costa Rica in general. All the bartenders knew me by my name by the second day.
As for my room, King size bed, safe, mini fridge, flat screen, and a couch set. Awesome room.
They also have a restaurant and casino (looked like the poker room was very busy). One of the best treat I got was the professional massage by Yorleny. She did wonders to my aching back after my day trips, zip line, etc. It was only $40 for 60 min massage. I would highly recommend using her service if you are in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
951 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
892 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#15 of 78 in San Jose
402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taormina Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taormina Hotel and Casino

Property: Taormina Hotel and Casino
Address: Avenida 11 Calle 3 Bis | Barrio Amon, San Jose 10103, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Mona Lisa)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taormina Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taormina Hotel and Casino is strategically located in the historic neighborhood of Barrio Amon in San Jose, Costa Rica near the Financial Center of the Capital. It is close to cultural attractions, entertainment, and only 25 minutes away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. The property features 90 magnificent rooms, distributed in a four story building. We're a very inviting hotel with a distinguished Costa Rican style and a friendly bi-lingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Taormina Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing