We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, NJ, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Stay!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Took a trip back in September and stayed several days. Had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The hotel is located in a nice quiet neighborhood. Front desk, bartenders, waiters and other staff were all friendly and helpful. Rooms are good sized and clean, offering all of the essentials. The hotel entrance opens up to a nice big lobby with a bar, and an adjacent sizable bar/restaurant with a beautiful outdoor patio that wraps around the corner of the hotel. I never felt cramped in this hotel. Services, food and bar were reasonably priced. I would certainly stay at this hotel my next visit to San Jose.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy G, Guest Relations Manager at Taormina Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
We're very happy here at the Hotel Mona Lisa to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for the kind review you wrote. I will pass it on to the staff who I'm sure will be encouraged by it.
Hope to see you again soon. Director of Guest Services - Guy Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    77
    23
    6
    17
See reviews for
19
28
142
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The staff at the Mona Lisa made my first visit to Costa Rica an absolute pleasure. Guy and Helmut are laser focused on the customer, providing each guest with courteous and timely responses to every request. In fact, the entire staff was a pleasure to interface with and aimed to please each guest.

Helmut made travel easy by arranging a taxi driver to pick me up at the airport, followed by daily excursions to the rainforest, zip lining and a rental car to visit Jaco Beach.

Guy made the neighborhood familiar by arranging a personal walking tour of the local restaurants and bars.

I highly recommend a professional massage with Yorleny. She is a true professional with classic training in several types of therapeutic massage. Without question, the best one hour massage value I will probably ever experience and it was only $40 plus tip. (Compare to $160 at a resort/spa).

The Hotel Mona Lisa is the perfect hotel for the solo traveler on vacation or business. The location is a convenient pivoting point to experience the city and surrounding area.

Thank you for exceeding my expectations and I hope to see you in May/June when I return.

Patrick
Washington, DC

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy G, Guest Relations Manager at Taormina Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
I am very pleased to note that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will be happy to share your feedback with our staff as I know they will be very happy and encouraged by your comments. I will also be delighted to tell Yorleny, our wonderful professional massage therapist how much you enjoyed the massage she gave you. She puts her heart and soul into every massage and customer satisfaction is very important to her. She loves her work.
It gives us great joy to read a positive review like yours. It's greatly appreciated. Hope to see you again in the near future. Director of Guest Services - Guy Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Mona Lisa for the first time, in my first visit to San Jose since it opened. I tried this hotel for a number of reasons, not the least of which was my prior dealings with guest manager Guy Grand at his previous position. After my stays - I was in and out of the hotel and San Jose several times on my trip - the list of positives is long: the location, the room rate, the quality of the rooms, the secure onsite parking, the friendliness of all the staff, the pleasant nature of the bar, the large, open layout of the cafe on the street corner in the lobby is very nice and their coffee excellent and available at all times, consistent hot water in the shower (not always a given down there), and of course the superb onsite massage by Yorleny (another reason I switched to Mona Lisa!).

There are apparently a few bugs in the operation that are still being worked out, probably the most irritating ones to me being the problematic wifi connection in my rooms (in the lobby/bar/cafe it was fine) and the inability to place local phone calls from anywhere but the front desk (this was a temporary problem, and I know they're working on the internet thing). And the elevators are a little funky (if you are in the lobby going up and the indicator says an elevator is there but no door is open, hit the down button), the safes that can fairly easily be carried out of the rooms seem a bit silly, etc. But these weren't major issues to me, given the positives, and I am confident that they'll continue to work out the bugs. I wish them all success, and will definitely stay there next time I'm in town.

Room Tip: My rooms were on the north (back) side of the hotel and overlooked a building that was being torn do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkEN56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

i took a trip back in September for one week, all the workers there were very friendly and the bar opened almost all night long, short distance to all the attractions, and remember, there is no extra charge to bring a guest back to your own room, talk to GUY OR HELMUT, they will solve whatever the problem that you have, the bartenders are very friendly to talk to, but do not forget to bring them some American chocolate, they love it, me and my friends are coming back in December and staying at Mona Lisa and we know it it going to be another great trip, thanks ALVIN N.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALVIN5997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is for the Hotel Mona Lisa in San Jose Costa Rica. Of all the years reading Tipadvisor I finally felt the need to write a review. I come to Costa Rica about once a month., and have stayed at most hotels in downtown San Jose. This Hotel is not only the best value but the friendliest I've ever stayed at. The staff are just so nice I didn't think it fair not to praise their hospitality.
A gentleman named Guy seemed to be around all the time, I'm not sure of his position, he just seems to always be there asking " how is everything ? ", " do you need anything ", sorta like the head waiter at a nice restaurant who's always there when you need him. A man named Helmut is the manager and is always there. I mean ALWAYS there... I don't think he sleeps.there is a girl named Helen at the front desk, who couldn't be nicer and a younger kid named Andrew at the front door who was born with a smile on his face, he couldn't wipe it off if he wanted to.
And everyone speaks fluent English which is great because my Spanish is embarrassingly challenged. This place gets 11 stars out of 10.....is that possible ?

Room Tip: Prefer top floor in back, but stayed in front and we're good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clay I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Of all the years reading tripadvisor I finally felt the need to right a review, I've never written one.
I come to Costa Rica about once a month on business and have stayed at most of the hotels
In downtown San Jose. This hotel is not only the best value but the friendlyest hotel I think ive ever stayed at anywhere. I almost didn't write this review because I really don't want everyone to find out about this place, but the staff are just so nice I didn't think it fair not to praise their hospitality.
A gentleman named "Guy" seems to be around all the time, I'm not sure of his position, he just always there asking " how is everything " " do you need anything" , " , sorta like the head waiter at a nice restaurant who's always there when you need him. A man named Helmut is the manager and is always there...I mean AWAYS there ..I don't think he sleeps !!!. There's a girl named "Helen " at the front desk who couldn't be nicer and A younger kid named Andrew at the front door who was born with a smile on his face..he couldn't wipe it off if he wanted to.
And everyone speaks fluent English...which is great because my Spanish is embarrassing challenged. This place gets 11 stars out of 10....is that possible ?

Room Tip: Prefer top floor in back, but stayed in front and were good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clay I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy G, Guest Relations Manager at Taormina Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Eric, Thank you so much for the very kind review you wrote. We are always happy to have you visit us and you are just like family here at the Hotel Mona Lisa. Hope to see you again soon amigo. Pura Vida
From the staff at the hotel. Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed at the Mona Lisa for one week. Conveniently located to all the major activities in downtown San Jose.

The staff is friendly and courteous and the rooms are big and nicely appointed. Guy Grand is one of the best customer service managers I have met.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 76 in San Jose
1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taormina Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taormina Hotel and Casino

Property: Taormina Hotel and Casino
Address: Avenida 11 Calle 3 Bis | Barrio Amon, San Jose 10103, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Mona Lisa)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taormina Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taormina Hotel and Casino is strategically located in the historic neighborhood of Barrio Amon in San Jose, Costa Rica near the Financial Center of the Capital. It is close to cultural attractions, entertainment, and only 25 minutes away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. The property features 90 magnificent rooms, distributed in a four story building. We're a very inviting hotel with a distinguished Costa Rican style and a friendly bi-lingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Taormina Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing