We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matsuri

Matsuri
Ranked #151 of 589 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: US$2 - US$32
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
1 review
“Excelent Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Excelent place to go have dinner with your friends or a date. Great food and great ambience. You should try the 49er its the best roll there, just exquisit.

Helpful?
Thank Tiara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good sushi, average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our dinner. Service was a little slow but the good food compensated the fact that we waited a very long time for our drinks. Very reasonable prices and good portions. Recommended…

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ferdyeguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great late night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

My wife and I stayed in San Jose the first night of our honeymoon before hitting the coast. We got to the Indigo quite late and pretty much had the choice of Matsuri and Applebees. As we can eat both at home and me being a huge sushi lover......we decided on here and what a decision it was! Most places at home, the later it is, the lower quality the sushi. At Matsuri, this was not the case! We ate at probably 10:30pm and it was some of the best sushi I've ever had. Gigantic pieces of sushi and spicy tuna and so very fresh. If you are in the neighbourhood and have a craving for sushi, Matsuri is the place to go. Very helpful staff as well!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST SUSHI!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The sushi was delicious and the price wasn't so bad. I def recommend to stop by for sushi or any rice.... Great use of the spices and flavors. The environment was nice also, calm and relaxing with a pinch of romanticism. LOVED THE SUSHI

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danielasuarez208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

The food is quite original and very good. There is also quite a variety of dishes to choose from.
For the quality and quantity of food, the prices are reasonable.
Service is poor, but that is norm in San Jose.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vilar30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matsuri also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Matsuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing