We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet and comfortable”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It's a nice and quiet hostel, in a nice suburb of San José. The distance from the centre of town was the only (minor) inconvenience - but a cheap bus, around 0.50$US, or 300 colones was the solution to that. The owner is helpful, and the shuttle service he offers, while informal, is quick and reliable and mostly cheap; the hostel is run by him and his family, and it's a great place to relax and escape the craziness of the city proper. He also runs some tours - I'd suggest going on them, as they're personalised and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costaricalove2, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
thaks for the review!!

we really enjoy your time and the tour in arenal with you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    22
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
30
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Love Hostel was very simple and basic. Beautiful upper deck. Location is pretty far out from San Jose. The guy at reception was very accommodating (at a small cost) to take us into San Jose, and helped us find the Tica Bus station. It's a very quiet hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costaricalove2, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
the hostel is just 10 min from the shopping area

thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Managed by a young, friendly costarican owners, it's a great option. The hostel is in Sto Domingo, far from noise of downtown San Josè, in this clean, safe, neighborhood. They provide affordable tours and If you call in advance, they pick you up at airport, cheaper from local taxis.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costaricalove2, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
thaks for the review...thats right all clean..cheap...your best option
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Definitly a good value! I was just arriving when they offered me to join a little trip to the beach. It was very nice. Beautiful beach, warm water. If you're looking for a cheap and friendly place to stay. That's one of them!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadrien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costaricalove2, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
thaks for the review!!

really nice time in the tour just $39 for 6 beach+crocodriles+snorkel ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Hostel is located in a quite and safe place in the outskirts of San Jose. People are very friendly and good human beings.Wifi, TV, computers, Laundry facility, super market nearby, everything available. If you wanna go for site seeing or adventure tour, they arrange them at nominal prices.
Overall, cool and nice and safe place to stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vishwanath2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costaricalove2, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
thank for the review

nice time in the tours better rates than fortuna rates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here the staff were really friendly and the rooms were clean, there is a fullt stacked Kitchen, Flatscreen TV and Computers. We took the day tour with Manny as well and can't reccommend that enough he took us to all the local spots and we saw a sloth at about 5 feet away! We also saw the Arenal area and lots of other Wildlife, he was really friendly and gave us loads of information about the area. On top of this he also got up at 5 to drive us to the Bus station to catch our red eyed bus. The only drawback is that this place is a bit of a ways out of the City Centre but other than that can't fault it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumasole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costaricalove2, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
thank you for the review!!

we really have a nice time with you and the sloth was unique expirience and for the best price $50
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile


The only thing i wanna say is: if something in your hostel didn't suits me is better if you appreciate my comment and try to learn from your mistake because you have all the quality to be a very good hostel, but if something didn't go as I expected you couldn't say to me "it was your fault". I'm not agree with the rules that at 11pm TV, computer and commons area being shut. Is not our fault if the electricity in costa rica is expensive... I pay you more if you need money but let me use the facilities you have. Breakfast is really poor. If the owners are tired because a lot of work, they should take someone else to help them ... So you can have a nice smile on your face.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elmochilero87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costaricalove2, Gerente at Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
hello and thanks for your comment, we really analyze all comments.

we understand some people do not appreciate when some one try to help all our brothers in this planet, we understand that economy facilities are not the same for all, we see people that really have money to pay more for this or payy more for that...thats good, but if you can pay moer for this or that...why you did not book a place that charge normal rates of 16$ dorms or 35$ private share baths?? you can do it ;) , and in this case you can use 24rh tv full volume...24hr kitchen and wake up people that really arrive late from flights or have to wake up really early to take a flight...some people do not take care of anything worse other people, BUT we try to take care of all of you, we thing 6am to 11pm shedule is good for all, we know is not your fault how expensive is lla services in this contry, and is not our foult too!! some are not goind to change our rules for economy and give our contribution to our planet becouse we really love our planet...your planet too!!!
breakfast is 2 panckecks per person, free coffe and tee i thing for just $5!!!! we can not give you a bouffet, 24hr services...free tours...free nights...free beers, if you wnat 5 stars services..pay for that but here is a place with basic services, clean,safe area, cheap beds,cheap shuttles to aairport and bus terminal,cheap tours better that any in costa rica, so pleace there is some pleople that realy wants to safe some money, if you can pay expensive places give the oportunity to others to save the money they really need.
our staff do 100% better than other that get rich from your pockets...they obviously have 10 people try to gat rich from you ;) ... our gool is HELP ALL TRAVELLERS ROUND THE WORLD with love from costa rica love to all!! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 76 in San Jose
283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 76 in San Jose
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 82 in San Jose
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#2 of 82 in San Jose
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#17 of 82 in San Jose
350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Yoses Hostel
Casa Yoses Hostel
#33 of 82 in San Jose
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms

Property: Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms
Address: Santo Domingo Polideportivo 150 Meters East, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 82 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
costa rica love is the best option for backpackers in costa rica, cheap rates, clean rooms, breakfast ,coffe , tee, wi-fi connection free , big tv, terrace and special rates for tours.take your time and visit us...safe money, enjoy the safest area of costa rica, full of nature,rivers, the rain forest just 20min or tucan rescues sloths, coffe tous and many morewe have share dorms, privates rooms with share and privates bathroomsdicouver why people always come back 2,3,4 and many more times ;) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Costa Rica Love Apartments & rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing