We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Expectations Met and Surpassed”

Costa Rica Expeditions
Book In Advance
More Info
US$169.00*
and up
Pacuare River Rafting Expedition Class III-IV from San Jose
More Info
US$169.00*
and up
White Water Rafting at Pacuare River- Class II-III from San Jose
More Info
US$598.00*
and up
3-Day Tour to Monteverde Cloud Forest
Ranked #1 of 94 Tours in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Costa Rica Expeditions, unique travel experiences since 1978.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned from our 3 week trip to Costa Rica. First mysef (mom) and my 6 year old son, and then my husband joined us for the last week.

Since I work full time, I left every detai to Costa Rica expeditions. Our travel agent learned about our family and our interests and then suggested a trip which, in all honesty, barely skimmed the itinerary. Preparation was super easy with their detailed list of packing needs.

I can't even believe how perfect the was - the perfect amount of time in each location, amazing lodging and staff, and super fun and educational activities. We saw all 4 species of monkeys, snakes, toucans, parrots, spiders, sloths, iguanas, bats, porcipines, racoons and more, the guides were amazing! Tortuga lodge was a wonderful way to arrive, decompress and see lots of animas. Then on to the Osa peninsula where we experienced intermitten torrents of rain and even more animas, fun! In Arenal we did zip lines, tubing and climbing, and then finaly finished up on the coast at Tamarindo - where we relaxed, boogie boarded and surfed.

My son pretty much summed it up: "Mom, can we come to costa rica every year?" and "Mom, this is the best trip ever!".

Thank you so much Costa Rica Expeditions - there is absolutely no way we could have experienced this much in Costa Rica without you!!

1  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia J, Guest Satisfaction at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Jill C,

It was great to read how much you, your husband and your son enjoyed our country and the trip we planned for you.

I am glad to see that we were able to help you arrange a trip that was filled with activities that entertained you and your family. As you saw, there is a lot of rainfall in the Osa Peninsula mainly between the months of April and November. It can rain from 160 to 280 inches annually which is why we refer to it as our winter. The plus side is that the rainforest turns bright green and it comes alive with activity so it’s a great time to visit.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us what a great time you had while you were in Costa Rica.
Sincerely,

Natalia Jiron
Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Costa Rica Expeditions
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 362 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having just returned from incredible Costa Rica we couldn’t have imagined a better holiday. Gustavo our planner instantly understood what we wanted from the form we filled out and although we did tweak the itinerary at first (which they encourage you to do and will also look at budget for you) we went back to the original itinerary that Gustavo suggested because it was so well organised especially within our two week time frame. Very responsive from the initial contact all the way through to departure Gustavo was a joy to deal with and very intuitive to our needs even though we only ever corresponded via email. We have no doubt in our minds that we wouldn’t have seen or experienced half of the things we did if it weren’t for the expert knowledge and planning from Gustavo and CRE. They keep in touch and inform you about all you need to know every step of the way and we felt safe and secure at all times. Costa Rica Expedition staff (guides & drivers) really can’t do enough for you and will even make slight adaptions if necessary to try and accommodate you or your needs.
This is probably the first trip (and quite possibly the best trip I’ve ever taken!) that picking a favourite or most standout memory would be difficult as every experience was outstanding for different reasons. If you would like to visit Costa Rica and need a travel planer then we would not hesitate to recommend Gustavo from Costa Rica Expeditions and the team there. They really do make your holiday dreams come true.
Pura Vida – Costa Rica!

2  Thank Carmen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia J, Guest Satisfaction at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Carmen E

It was wonderful to read all the great things you said about our staff at Costa Rica Expeditions and about how well your vacation time went.

I have let Gustavo know how well you felt and I am sure he will be very appreciative. His passion for travel planning stems from the satisfaction that it gives him when a guest tells him of the wonderful memories they have of their trip.

Did you know that Gustavo has a BA in Business & Tourism from the ULACIT University and a Master's in Marketing from the San Marcos University, both private Costa Rican Universities. He speaks fluent English, Spanish and informal French. He is a great asset to our company.

It was great to read that you felt we really understood what you wanted and were able to offer you activities that met your needs. I am glad to see that you feel we succeeded!

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your vacation went

Natalia Jiron
Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I can't say enough about Costa Rica Expeditions! Nadya was the best so patient with us in planning the ultimate vacation experience. We were a group of 16 ranging in ages from 15 to 58. We were Blessed with meeting so many Costa Rican people, they all treated us like we were royalty, the are so proud of their Country. The first half of the trip we were surprised with Edwardo as our Guide, (thank you Nayda!) he was THE BEST, he knows so much he took us to places we had no idea were there, one of our group turned 17 while we were there and he sneaked away and bought her a cake and a stuffed monkey! He even paid for a bathroom break! He found us a Mother Sloth and her baby, poisen dart frog, Queen cutter ant, too many plants to mention. Our trip was seamless pick up times were spot on and ALL of the excursions were great. We, Rafted, Zip Lined, Rappelled, ATV tour, Hot Springs, The Falls, everyone is having a hard time picking their favorite! We were busy! I would HIGHLY recommend this company without any reservations. Padro was our driver and we felt safe at all times. Thank you again Costa Rica Expidetions! We will be back!

Thank Kathi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia J, Guest Satisfaction at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Kathi R

It was wonderful reading how great your Costa Rica vacation went! I am glad that Nadya was able to set up the activities that proved to be everybody’s top pick. Do you know that Nadya has been with us since 1991, and she has been working as a Travel Planner since 2003? She is great at it!

I will let Eduardo know how grateful you are for his help throughout your vacation. He is a really great guide. He says that he loves all of the forest creatures but he has a particular soft spot for birds. I hope you got the chance to see plenty of those too.

It’s good to know that you had fun in your vacation. We hope we really do get to see you again!

Natalia Jiron
Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Once we knew our destination was Costa Rica, the problem was figuring out where to go in Costa Rica, and how to get there. The answer was CRE. On their site one is able to input pertinent information such as lengthy of stay, type of vacation you would like (active, relaxing,etc,), what things you would like to do and see. And of course how much you want to pay. Our advisor was Luis, and he gave us a preliminary itinerary based upon our requests. We were able to tweak it as needed to make our vacation exactly what we wanted. Luis was very happy to do whatever was needed to alter the itinerary until we had the vacation we had imagined.
Upon arrival in Costa Rica every thing had been detailed so that we showed up where we were supposed to be, and CRE was right there to take us where our next destination would be. Walk out of the airport, someone with a sign with our name on it, took us to our hotel. Left the hotel the next morning, a van was waiting for us. Went rafting in the Pacuare River, rafts were ready. Arrived at the Pacuare Lodge, staff was waiting with cold drinks and cold towels. This process repeated itself for our 10 day stay. No questions, no wondering what happens now. When we had a question on our exact pickup time, a quick phone call clarified everything, and confirmed the next item of the agenda.
Because of CRE working with us before the trip, everything was taken care of to make our 10 days going from coast to coast in Costa Rica relaxing and stress free. we showed up, they made it happen.

1  Thank miacircleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia J, Guest Satisfaction at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear miacircleman

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences while traveling to Costa Rica and your great review about how you felt about us.

I was glad to read that Luis was able to create an itinerary that allowed you to relax and you felt well taken care of. Luis has been with Costa Rica Expeditions since Oct. 2006. He specializes in planning upscale, active family vacations and since he has a degree in Geography ,he knows his way around this country.

I hope you enjoyed the trip down the Pacuare River. With rapids ranging all the way up to class V, its easily Costa Rica's premier white water rafting river. National Geographic called it one of the world's top 10 river trips in the world, not just due to its challenging rapids, but also because of the stunning scenery that lines its shores. It’s usually quite an adventure to travel down those rapids at high speed!

We are constantly working on ways to improve our communication with our guest while they are in the country. To have them feel care free and taken care of is one of our major goals. I was glad to read that that’s exactly how you felt about our service.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your trip. We hope to see you again one day!


Natalia Jiron
Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we were overwhelmed when trying to plan for all the different options. There is just so much to do and we didn’t know where to start. Fortunately we found CRE.

From our first e-mail through our last in-country transfer, we were impressed by the level of service and details provided by CRE. Luis Cubano helped to plan the trip that WE wanted to take, not the locations that might fit a generic itinerary. We communicated a great deal by e-mail and talked with him a couple of times by phone. The responsiveness, honest answers to our many questions and thoughtful advice helped us plan a fantastic experience.

CREs website is full of really helpful advice. Pretty much anything we read there turned out to be exactly the best advice for enjoying Costa Rica. Even if you are an experience traveller, you’ll find something on their website to help you plan a better trip.

We stayed for two weeks in four different locations and all of the reservations-transfers-communications-pick ups-drop offs-handoffs. Every detail was executed flawlessly. Every CRE representative we dealt with was well organized, helpful and friendly. We assume that we paid a little extra by booking through them, but are convinced we saved more than we spent by not losing hours in the middle of our vacation trying to resolve some arrangement that had gone wrong because we booked it ourselves.

Finally, we met several other travellers during our stay who had also booked through CRE. Every one of them was as pleased as we are.

2  Thank CK_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia J, Guest Satisfaction at Costa Rica Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear CK_Kate

It was wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your trip to Costa Rica and how much you felt we were a part of making that happen.

Your travel planner Luis has been with us since 2006 and he has extensive knowledge of Costa Rica’s most remote areas, acquired back when he used to be a geographer! Did he tell you that?

I was glad to see that the advice on our website came in handy. We are always looking to see what sort of questions our guests have so that we can make their experience as worry free as possible, and with over thirty years of planning tours in Costa Rica, we’ve become experts in what visitors need to pack, how to maximize the enjoyment of their stay, and pretty much anything else they’ll need to keep in mind. Vacations should be about relaxation and stress free moments – and the more you know going in, the easier that is. If you feel we omitted to inform you about something please let us know so that we can add that for our future guests.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Monteverde Lodge and Gardens and the Tortuga Lodge and Gardens pages as well! We really appreciate this!

We hope to get the opportunity to see you again someday.


Natalia Jiron
Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costa Rica Expeditions also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Costa Rica Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing