We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 8ctavo Rooftop Restaurant & Lounge

8ctavo Rooftop Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #105 of 589 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, Contemporary, Pub, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, View
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: 8ctavo Rooftop offers a combination of premium cuisine using only fresh and local ingredients, amazing views of the Central Valley and great music nightly.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

One of the best meals I've had in San Jose. We are in Costa Rica quite frequently and were quite pleasantly surprised by this restaurant. Excellent service and a food lovers delight. Many amazing items on the menu that you would not expect. The Owner was always moving around talking to the diners and was quite involved with ensuring that his customers were happy.

Some of the best views in the city. Especially nice in the evening once the sun goes down and the lights of the city come on.

In the late evening, the restaurant turns into a lounge. Good DJ the night that we were there. Great vibe.

Would definitely come back again next time in San Jose.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8voRooftopSJ493, Public Relations Manager at 8ctavo Rooftop Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hello Mark!

Thank You so much for your amazing review! We are delighted to hear you had an amazing time at 8ctavo.

Hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    24
    14
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I am so happy that I got to dine and experience the wonderful and flavorful food 8ctavo has to offer. I am so lucky that I was able to taste majority of the menu, every bite was so fresh and bright. The staff and service was great. To top it off your on a rooftop with an amazing 360 view of the mountains.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8voRooftopSJ493, Public Relations Manager at 8ctavo Rooftop Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much Rebecca!

It was our pleasure having you here and expect to see you soon.

Have a lovely day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fabulous view to compliment the wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Wonderful layout and concept for a bar/restaurant. Staff add a relaxed feeling to go with some of the most wonderful food I have every tasted. Really challenged my taste buds. Will go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8voRooftopSJ493, Public Relations Manager at 8ctavo Rooftop Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello Trish!

We are really happy to hear you had an amazing experience with us. That's what we are all about.

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing luxury rooftop experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I went to 8ctavo for the first time to celebrate a friends birthday party. We had a larger table and service was amazing from beginning to end. The food was delicious! I was lucky enough to sample most of the menu as we ordered a variety of different dishes and shared them. I have to admit I am a ceviche snob and this ceviche was amazing!! I'm not much of a drinker but I am a bartender and the cocktail list is extensive. The owner even made an effort to come and introduce himself to our table and make sure that everything was to our liking. I have been a few times since my first experience and everything has been consistently amazing!! The hibiscus ice tea is delicious and made fresh in-house! The roof top view is one of a kind!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MsVizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Lucky for me I was able to enjoy a lot of things off of the menu when I dined there. And everything was incredible! I had a ceviche I couldn't stop eating and everything was fresh and flavorful. My entree of red snapper was one of my favorite meals of my vacation and definitely worth going back for next time I find myself in Costa Rica. The views of the city and surrounding areas added to the dining experience as well. So beautiful and enjoyable overall!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank aharmonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 8ctavo Rooftop Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Escazu, San Jose Metro
San Jose Metro, Province of San Jose
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to 8ctavo Rooftop Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing