We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner bad, breakfast buffet good”
Review of Kitchen by Rausch

Kitchen by Rausch
Ranked #452 of 648 Restaurants in San Jose
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“dinner bad, breakfast buffet good”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

dinner is expensive and not very good. it took over an hour for our food to come out and we were only 1 of 2 guests there. go elsewhere for dinner. breakfast buffet is good though

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JK113012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Uninspiring”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Ate dinner on a Sunday - restaurant had been focused on Sunday brunch, and it seemed dinner that evening was an afterthought. Service was adequate but not special, surprising as only three tables in the restaurant were occupied. Food was uninspiring - I had a chicken dish and that is all I remember.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank batesczsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, nice ambiance”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Kitchen by Rausch has great food, and a nice ambiance, nonetheless, prepare to wait for your food, specially if you order meat.

If you don´t mind spending a couple hours chatting while you get your dinner served, then you will love Kitchen by Rausch. The food is excellent and the staff is courteous; the day we ate dinner at the restaurant there were four tables including my wife and I, and we spent a little over two hours on a three course dinner. Although it is worth the wait, I could not imagine what may have happened if the restaurant would have been packed.

All in all we had a nice dinner experience,

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adrian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“could be so much better”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

the menu looks great - innovative and exciting -price is reasonable

the room is "OK" - high ceilings tends to make it a bit noisy when crowded

The issue is the service which is a car-wreck.

Everyone is extremely well meaning but.... I know know if the issue is with the system, the management or both but it's a mess- they seem to fall behind very quickly and once they are behind, the can't catch up.

The food that we ordered was delayed and it wasn't great when it came out - not terrible but not what it should have been

i can see that the restaurant is relatively new and they may be going through growing pains - i hope they can get through this as it has potential

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wdchuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top notch restaurant, unmatched in San José!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

I would love to know why this restaurant does not have enough ratings and reviews! Perhaps, like myself, others have died and gone to heaven...(God hooked me up with some wifi).
Don't be afraid because the restaurant is in the Sheraton Hotel. For the quality of food, level of service and decor of this restaurant - the cost is pretty decent if you compare to general food prices and inconsistent service you will receive elsewhere in San José.

There is obvious thought and care that goes into each dish and the results are flavourful and truly elegant. When you taste the tuna tartare you know it's freshly caught from ocean to a table. The meats in the other dishes we had were incredibly tender, which we learned were due to the sous-vide technique used by the restaurant. Our favourite dishes were the tuna tartare and the pork chop. Desserts deserve their own review! Try the key lime cheesecake! Intense lime flavour, but overall a well balanced dish!

Go to Kitchen by Rausch if you want to raise the bar of your San José food and service experience. Thanks to the very efficient Monica who made our dinner even more mmemorable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natsilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitchen by Rausch also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Kitchen by Rausch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing