We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE WITH GREAT SERVICE”
Review of Autentico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Autentico Hotel
Ranked #39 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was our second stay with Hotel Autentico (Hotel Torremolinos) and just as before, we had a very pleasant stay. The complimentary breakfast is very good as is the cafe' con leche. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make us feel welcome and appreciated both in the restaurant and at the front desk. Lilliana was so friendly and helpful with everything from having extra pillows delivered to our room to printing our boarding passes all with a smile on her face. We will stay here again on our next visit to La Sabana, San Jose and highly recommend this hotel to anyone needing a centrally located hotel with all the necessary amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hookedontraveling22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here with G Adventures before and after our trip. Rooms we had were basic and on the dark side. Bathrooms were small with average to poor showers. In room safe will cost you extra. 1st room had over powering smell of bug spray. Working A/C both times, though not required on our way through the 2nd time. Front desk staff was great, offered to print boarding passes and wake up calls at 3 am (not an automated machine). Breakfast in the hotel is average, but there is a grocery store 2-3 blocks away if you want to do some self catering. Electrical outlets were the ungrounded type so any three prong devices won't work. Beds were soft and lumpy, not the best for sleeping. There was a pool in the centre of the hotel, but didn't see anyone use it. Hotel had free wifi and was useable.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 1st floor if you don't want to climb stairs with your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinecure_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I was tired and in need of some quiet and good air conditioning when I reached this place. I was wary, other reviews were not great. But my experience was excellent! My room was perfect for sleeping, which was all I needed, plus a hot shower and luggage storage and transport to the airport. I thought this place was classy, I liked the bar / restaurant, though I was not there long enough to eat. Transport to the airport was about $25, more than in other places, but it is closer to downtown San Jose.
One wee minor point, this place has 2 stories with no elevator, so if you have someone who cannot handle the stairs it might not be for you, but I found the staff more than willing to take your luggage upstairs for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJFromSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have stayed there many times... never having a bad night. Lillina & Jami, the gals at the front desk have always treated me special and made my room very comfortable for me, with extra pillows!!! The restaurant gives great service and it is a very comfortable place to be --- out at pool side.

James cambridge

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed in July twice for one night each time, at the start and conclusion of a week long G Adventures trip around Costa Rica.

The hotel is about 20 minutes drive from the airport. It looks like it's being refurbished, as the bedrooms we had both looked a little tired; the restaurant area looks more modern.

It was clean and not too noisy. It has pool in the garden that seemed clean and ok. The staff were fine at reception and in the bar.

The area seems ok; we found a bar (think it was called Central Bar (out of main door turn left about 3 blocks up the hill - you can't miss it)) and had a couple of drinks and a quick snack there on both nights. That was a decent place with friendly staff.

A further walk straight down a busy road takes you down town. We walked in but I don't think San Jose is a place you would want to spend too many days in. Not much to do of note.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROB T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here as part of our holiday with Gadventures - Five minutes before we were due to leave 03.15 I accidentally dropped my earring down the sink - it was valuable both sentimentally and money wise. The help we received from the staff was fantastic both in retrieving it and sending it on to the UK.
The hotel is basic but clean, the food is good but the staff very helpful and friendly especially Jorges and Jerry.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel was part of our holiday via GAdventures. To cut a long story, we ended up back in SJ for an extended period after our tour. As for the hotel - the Ritz it ain't but it functions perfectly well. The rooms are clean. The pool is clean. The gardens are well kept. The restaurant & bar are fine. And, most importantly, the hotel staff are lovely and couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dpz_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#41 of 78 in San Jose
236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Tournon
Hotel Villa Tournon
#49 of 78 in San Jose
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
#25 of 78 in San Jose
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
916 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
973 reviews
2.4 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#29 of 78 in San Jose
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autentico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autentico Hotel

Address: Ave 5 and 7 calle 40 | Sabana Este, San Jose 10108, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £42 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Autentico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Hotel offers guests the experience of an oriented values and customs of the Costa Rican people personalized service. With a total of 80 rooms, guests have a wide variety of facilities to meet their different needs. Considering the needs of our guests the authentic Hotel, offers pool areas, restaurant and parking. Authentic Hotel is a destination city, with a family atmosphere that highlights the charisma of Costa Rica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Autentico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing